We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Machu Picchu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Save Saved
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location for Machu Picchu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay @ the Inkaterra El Mapi Hotel. The 3 star hotel is located about 3 blocks from the bus station for Machu Picchu on the main street of town. In other words, an excellent location! The hotel itself is very generic and sterile. I would equate the room style and size to that of a college dorm room. The bathroom was a decent size with a walk in shower with good water pressure. We did come across some dead bugs in the bathroom, which was somewhat of a disappointment. Its very efficient and gets it done for sleeping quarters that are close to Machu Picchu. Our rate included dinner and breakfast. You had to pick from 3 times as to when to dine (6pm-7:30-9). We found that to be a little odd. The food quality was subpar and the service was rushed (felt like being on an inexpensive Caribbean cruise). Our desert was an uneatable piece of day old chocolate cake. I am happy to say that the breakfast was considerately better. They provided an eggs/omelet station as well as normal buffet options. Most importantly, they start serving breakfast at 4am, which is great because you stay in this hotel so that you get on an early bus to Machu Picchu before all the train guest arrives. Unfortunately Wi-Fi was only offered in the hotel lobby & bar (free of charge) and not in your room.
I would recommend this hotel for its location to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We appreciate your kind comments as well as your feedback that will help us to improve our service.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    297
    94
    33
    21
See reviews for
130
330
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Obviously a good base from which to visit Machu Picchu. The hotel is set in a viilage location and just a short distance away is the departure point for the bus transfer climb to Machu Picchu itself. Also the train terminal is equally very close by. Indeed everything is close at hand including local restaurants and shopping.
The hotel seems to be undergoing renovations or extension in another wing, so construction noise is evident during the day. The wing I was located in was somewhat curious in that all rooms are situated either side of a marble floored corridor, hence noisy until residents settle down at night. Furthermore at 7.30 am the next morning there was a lengthy conversation being carried out noisily by a hotel employee (on a telephone) for approx half an hour in the room directly opposite mine. Further rest was therefore impossible.
Notwithstanding my room was bright, clean and comfortable with a small bathroom attached. TV reception was available on a good quality unit.
All staff encountered either at the front desk or in the restaurant were friendly and helpful (except for the room attendant aberration).
The dining room had a reasonable buffet menu for breakfast and the evening dinner menu was also acceptable.
In total a reasonable place to stay, subject to being aware of the construction and noises as mentioned

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

In order to improve our facilities, at the moment we are doing some improvements to our property that should be over soon; we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We appreciate your feedback that will allow us to take corrective measures and improve our service; we have transferred your concerns to our Management team.

We would also like thank you for your kind comments for our rooms and service. We hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at the El MaPi hotel for one night during a recent trip to Peru. The hotel is located conveniently close to the main plaza and to the buses which take people to Machu Picchu, and there are several good and interesting restaurants nearby. Our room, however, was very small and had no furniture except for the beds. Using a computer during my stay, therefore, was awkward. The "complimentary" dinner at the hotel was not particularly noteworthy, although the wait staff provided good service. The wi-fi connection in the room was weak and spotty, but good in the bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Check in at 3:30 PM was great and there it ended. We were on the fifth floor and could not get WiFi as advertised. The hotel is under construction and the noise and dust are awful and we felt like we had dust in our mouth way past the time the work crew left., Try and be away for the whole day from 7:30 to 5:30 PM. Be aware that due to a lot of hikers leaving early ( 5:00 to 6:00AM) and the fact that they send a cleaning crew at 7:00 AM to start cleaning the rooms sleeping in is impossible. The noise seem to be louder then any hotel we have been in at that expensive rate and I don't think that this will change even after they are finished with construction.The staff is wonderful and bears complaints with a smile. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the left side of the restaurant going up. The hike up to the fifth floor is te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Britain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arrived after our first tour of Machu Picchu and were greated at the front desk by a very friendly staff who had already taken our bags to our room. A short check in and we were escorted to our accommodation for the night. Our staff member showed us the features of the hotel along the way and made sure our room was satisfactory before handing us our two free "Pisco Sour" coupons and left us to settle in. The room was very good, they even had a dehumidifier going as it was rainy season and everything outside was damp. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. This will be our choice to stay on our next trip to Aguas Calients!

Room Tip: all where good as none faced the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel was undergoing renovations, which limited the availability of a bar but in no way diminished our enjoyment. The room was adequate, clean and provided all mod-cons we've come to expect. Food provided was ok and staff were both friendly and helpful. The close proximity of Machu Picchu is, of course, the 'draw' for hotels of this type. We were not disappointed and if ever we were to return we'd have no hesitation in staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went there for one night after visiting Machu Picchu. We were obviously tired and anxious for a hot shower and a comfy bed. Well, the surprise is: El MaPi is way better that we had thought it would be! Nice staff, amazing reception and facade, our room size was ok, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean and bright, the windows had screen against insects, there was a TV with cable so overall the room was more than ok. But the best part was yet to come! Our stay allowed us a complimentary dinner at the hotel restaurant, which turned out to be fantastic! We could pick the appetizers, the main course and the desert from a 3 option menu and all of the dishes I picked was fantastic! oh, we also got from the staff a coupon that allowed us to order a Pisco Sour (traditional peruvian drink) from their bar, so we did and it was awesome. The restaurant and the bar had really good atmosphere and looked newly done. The breakfast (also free due to our stay, don't know if it's free for everyone cause we booked though an agency in Brazil) was nice, had pancakes, different beverages, cereals and fruits, which for us was more than enough! The hotel location was a little bit away from the others but it turned out to serve us just fine (near the station to get the train, near some stores and bars). Overall it was amazing! Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.