We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a luxurious hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Felt like a luxurious hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The pros: great location in the centre of town and 5 minutes walk to the train station. Clean rooms, good beds, good bedside lighting, dinner, breakfast and a pisco sour all included in the price. I had read about the noise but I had a room next to the stairs and did not hear anything. Beautiful common areas and some juice available at reception.
The cons: hotel has a slight Eco feel to it. This means a deliberate policy to provide just enough toilet paper for one night, one towel per person (no hand towels), shower only no bath and the skimpiest of amenities (bath gel/ shampoo and lotion). Shower curtain is a loud admonition in five languages to re-use your towel. The other big con is the design, as it is on a slope there are stairs everywhere, which is fine, however they are open to the elements so if traveling during the wet season get very slippery. Staff don't seem to be too bothered to mop up, instead relying on warning signs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

A very well located hotel in Machu Picchu Pueblo. 5 minute walk to the train station.
Busses to and from Machu Picchu are 10 minutes away.
Comfortable and very clean rooms,
Decoration all arround is beautiful and special.
Free wifi, excellent food and the staff is very warm and helpful.
Value for money-very good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dadepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was an excellent hotel with great service. There was someone at the train station to pick up your luggage and also to return it to the train when you leave. The rooms were comfortable, well decorated and quiet. They provide welcome pisco sours in the bar and the included dinner was very good with several choices. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. My only complaint was that there was only two seating's for dinner, one at 6:00 and one at 9:00. Your choice, too early or too late.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budnpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Modern style hotel in a great location right in the centre of town near the train station and buses running to Machu Picchu.
Rooms were very spacious with a separate little sitting room and tv.
Hotel and bedrooms very v clean.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Food in restaurant was also very good. A little bit noisy due to location but had no problem sleeping.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CorkGal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night during our visit to Machu Picchu. The hotel was really comfortable with excellent beds and bedding, however standard rooms are a little small. Dinner was included so got to enjoy a pleasant meal in the restaurant. Take advantage of the free Pisco Sour, but I found the full size (and full strength) ones to be much better. Breakfast is excellent with loads of choice, fantastic juices and eggs cooked to order - needed when you've had one too many of those Pisco sours!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We liked this modern and stylish hotel. Our room was at the back and we managed to sleep through all the local celebrations and fireworks in the town (which apparently went on until arond 5 a.m.). The location is excellent and the dinner was very good - we had a front row view of the local celebrations down the main street. The breakfast was probably the best one we ate while we were in Peru.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolvesDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel was in a great location and very convenient to get around. Upon arrival, the reception was very modern and I had high hopes that the room would match. Unfortunately it was not so. The room was average, at best. It was clean but just not up to what I expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JYee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#5 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#7 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing