We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced…average service…but nice place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Save Saved
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced…average service…but nice place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are very limited hotel options if you plan to stay in Aguas Calientes after visiting Machu Picchu, so be prepared to pay a lot for marginal service. Getting off the morning train from Cusco, we were told a hotel representative from El MaPi would meet us at the train station. We looked around to see every other hotel representative with a big identifying sign, but not El MaPi. After taking 5 minutes of frantic searching, we finally found their representative, who lacked a sign. We asked for directions to the hotel so we could quickly dop off our bags before taking a bus to Machu Picchu. He was busy and didn’t help, but after 10 minutes we insisted and finally got directions from him. We were not impressed. We then checked into the facility later that day after visiting Machu Picchu to find that although they charged high prices, the hotel delivered Motel 6 (or less) service. Rooms lacked iron & ironing boards, desk clock, safe was very small, hair dryer lacked power, no coffee maker, very little closet space and wi-fi service that was non-existent in the room. The only wi-fi signal one could obtain was near the front desk, and that had a very very very weak signal. I brought this up with the front desk, but they couldn't fix the problem. This amazed us because people at Machu Picchu had great cell coverage…everywhere…. What’s nice about this hotel is its location, which is just a handful of minutes from the train station and buses to Machu Picchu. There are many reasonably priced restaurants located around the hotel and the town market is just a few minutes walk. Although the town’s power was out from 4 am until 2 pm the only day we stayed there, hotel operations continued but at a lower level which was impressive. Overall we were not impressed, but realized there were very few options in this small town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    247
    76
    30
    12
See reviews for
109
276
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in a very quaint town. The town is closest to Machu Picchu. The hotel had clean rooms which were well appointed. The restaurant food was good, but it was slow getting to the table. Because this hotel is close to the bus station to go to Machu Picchu, many guests get up beginning at 4:00 AM so that they can catch the sunrise on the mountain. The rooms are very noisy. I could not get wifi in my room as promised, but it worked well in the lobby, hotel and bar. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very centric hotel and Picturesque. Nice staff and helpful too. At the restaurant the food was good but the service wasn't that good, took to long for a waiter to take your order, and longer to be serve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On checking in we were most pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel at the base of Machu Picchu, newly redecorated and the lovely dinner and breakfast were part of the room rate! A most surprising find tucked in this delightful town! Wish we had another day or two to enjoy their plant and wildlife tours, they sounded great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This very central hotel has charming staff; the bedrooms and bathrooms were spotless for our stay in mid September. Breakfast starts at 4am so rooms overlooking the central walkway and especially the restaurant/kitchen are noisy. Wooden louvres in the bathroom effectively distribute noise from other bathrooms. At US $500 for two nights, better value can be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for our trip to Machu Picchu. We were given free pisco sour upon arrival which was refreshing. The rooms were adequate with contemporary decor. We had dinner in the restaurant which was good quality. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is within walking distance from the train station and located in the shopping district with plenty of restaurants around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

An attractive modern hotel (very unusual tree trunk window frontage) just a block away from the Machu Picchu bus departure point (don't forget to get your Machu Picchu entry ticket before hand or they wont let you ride). The staff were very friendly and cooperative and we received our free drink coupon on arrival which was a pleasant surprise. I can recommend the Pisco Sours. There is a restuarant with a good choice menu but there are many, many eating places around so there is lots of choice in this regard. The rooms are small but stylish and we had a very restful nights sleep on the second floor. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.