We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Mapi, Aguas Calientes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“El Mapi, Aguas Calientes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This very central hotel has charming staff; the bedrooms and bathrooms were spotless for our stay in mid September. Breakfast starts at 4am so rooms overlooking the central walkway and especially the restaurant/kitchen are noisy. Wooden louvres in the bathroom effectively distribute noise from other bathrooms. At US $500 for two nights, better value can be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    506
    174
    55
    28
See reviews for
225
549
78
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for our trip to Machu Picchu. We were given free pisco sour upon arrival which was refreshing. The rooms were adequate with contemporary decor. We had dinner in the restaurant which was good quality. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is within walking distance from the train station and located in the shopping district with plenty of restaurants around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

An attractive modern hotel (very unusual tree trunk window frontage) just a block away from the Machu Picchu bus departure point (don't forget to get your Machu Picchu entry ticket before hand or they wont let you ride). The staff were very friendly and cooperative and we received our free drink coupon on arrival which was a pleasant surprise. I can recommend the Pisco Sours. There is a restuarant with a good choice menu but there are many, many eating places around so there is lots of choice in this regard. The rooms are small but stylish and we had a very restful nights sleep on the second floor. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Нью-Йорк, Нью-Йорк
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We felt very comfortable in this hotel. It is spotless and has modern design. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. On arrival we got cards for free cocktails in their bar - a nice gesture and good start for the evening. It is centrally located with lots of nice restaurants with local food around, though they also organized a free dinner for our group. Wifi is free there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice new property,comfortable,with "urban edge".Staff was quite accommodating,and meeting us at train...and taking luggage back to train for us...was an appreciated touch.Dinner and breakfast both good,room (400 floor) was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stylish hotel, just a bit different from the 'corporate' style of so many. We liked the styling including the tree-trunk windowed frontage, the quotations on the walls, the 'distressed' metal registration desk, the wine bottle chandelier and the clean comfortable rooms but what impressed us most was the professionalism and attentiveness of the staff in the dining room. The evening meal was included in our trip price and was well presented and very tasty. The buffet breakfast included a wide variety of fruits, cereals meats and chesses as well as omelette and waffles cooked fresh to order. I definitely highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Traveled with a Gate 1 tour. This is an excellent hotel in a wonderful little town. Breakfasts are good. Dinner was also very good. Good staff, good location. Highly recommend it. Everything in town in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#5 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel
Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Bouti...
#4 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.