We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at the foot of Machu Picchu !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Save Saved
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
Brownsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Right at the foot of Machu Picchu !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First of all, it is in a great location. You can see all the mountains surrounding the town of Aguas Calientes. It is also surrounded by lush tropical greenery. Some of the red tile roofs are actually green due to the green moss. Bed and rooms are very comfortable too. Although, I really didn't like the tacky environmental sloguns all over the lobby wall, stairs, and inside the room. They all seemed silly and phoney. On the bathroom mirror there is one announcing happy hour at 5:30pm. The transparent shower curtain even has one. ( I hate see through shower curtains. They make me feel more naked that I already am!!). But, inspite of those tacky phrases I found so ingenuine, this place was close to everything. You can even walk a staight line from the train station, and the market place all the way to the hotel. It's on a slope and you walk down to the right and you can get to the main plaza and Catholic church, which unlike Lima and Cusco is actually open to the public most of the time. Bar and restautrant are nice too, and with good service and food. Room phones are available but you must pay a fee to open a line. I was charged about 12 Soles to use an international calling card, "HolaPeru" to call the USA. One one night we heard a band playing outside and I bought their CD. We had a good time !!

Room Tip: There are no elevators so this will get you used to climbing Machu Picchu.!!! You might also want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    314
    100
    39
    22
See reviews for
140
346
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A lovely hotel in a great location. We enjoyed our complementary Pisco Sours. The room was nice with a couch and the bed was very big and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, modern and the towels and robes were plush and big. Our meal for dinner and breakfast was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed one night at the El Mapi Hotel. It is located right down town in Aguas Calientes. The rooms are small but clean and modern. The folks at the concierge even arranged for a private massage in my room. They gave us coupons for a free pisco sour at the bar, and to our surprise, a 3-course dinner was also complimentary. The only issue was the noise of doors closing from other guests who were leaving at the crack of dawn to get up to Machu Picchu to catch the sunrise; nothing ear plugs cannot solve though. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We all liked this modern hotel in old Peru. The nature quotes in the room were a nice touch. We loved the free pisca sours at happy hour. The bar and restaurant were nice and the service friendly and spoke English. It is on a small street full of shops and restaurants. One problem was they ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night after spicey Peruvian food and no one available to bring more. It is funny now but not then.

Room Tip: As in many small hotels in Peru, there is no elevator. So unless you are a mountain climbing backpac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is great in Aguas Calientes. It was modern, nicely decorated, clean, great staff and service, our rate included lunch and dinner which were nice.
The room was very nice and comfortable. They have wifi. Location is perfect. Close to the Bus station to go to MP.

Bar staff was friendly and drinks were awesome!. Service was good overall, as the hotel was very busy.
Our bed was huge and very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and well appointed.
Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you want a modern hotel with all facilities at reasonable price, this is the place.
Room and bathroom were smart and had everything required. An electric heater was provided as it gets cold in June. The inclusive dinner and breakfast were fine. The hotel will collect / / store /deliver luggage to and from the train station to allow you to maximise your time at Machu Pichu. The buses to and from MP work very well so it is no problem being based in Aguas Calientes. Overall a good choice for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were here to visit Machu Picchu of course. Location was decent, hotel looked quite nice once inside. Restaurant was quite nice, and the included food was actually quite good. Especially for us North Americans with kids in tow. Room was small and simple, but ok. Room was more like a 2* room. Very basic. The rest of the hotel much bring the rating on this hotel up. Bathroom small and basic, beds small and basic. Used computers and internet, worked well. Has small, nice gift shop as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.