We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at this delightful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at this delightful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed one night at the El Mapi Hotel. It is located right down town in Aguas Calientes. The rooms are small but clean and modern. The folks at the concierge even arranged for a private massage in my room. They gave us coupons for a free pisco sour at the bar, and to our surprise, a 3-course dinner was also complimentary. The only issue was the noise of doors closing from other guests who were leaving at the crack of dawn to get up to Machu Picchu to catch the sunrise; nothing ear plugs cannot solve though. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    364
    130
    50
    25
See reviews for
160
404
53
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We all liked this modern hotel in old Peru. The nature quotes in the room were a nice touch. We loved the free pisca sours at happy hour. The bar and restaurant were nice and the service friendly and spoke English. It is on a small street full of shops and restaurants. One problem was they ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night after spicey Peruvian food and no one available to bring more. It is funny now but not then.

Room Tip: As in many small hotels in Peru, there is no elevator. So unless you are a mountain climbing backpac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is great in Aguas Calientes. It was modern, nicely decorated, clean, great staff and service, our rate included lunch and dinner which were nice.
The room was very nice and comfortable. They have wifi. Location is perfect. Close to the Bus station to go to MP.

Bar staff was friendly and drinks were awesome!. Service was good overall, as the hotel was very busy.
Our bed was huge and very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and well appointed.
Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you want a modern hotel with all facilities at reasonable price, this is the place.
Room and bathroom were smart and had everything required. An electric heater was provided as it gets cold in June. The inclusive dinner and breakfast were fine. The hotel will collect / / store /deliver luggage to and from the train station to allow you to maximise your time at Machu Pichu. The buses to and from MP work very well so it is no problem being based in Aguas Calientes. Overall a good choice for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were here to visit Machu Picchu of course. Location was decent, hotel looked quite nice once inside. Restaurant was quite nice, and the included food was actually quite good. Especially for us North Americans with kids in tow. Room was small and simple, but ok. Room was more like a 2* room. Very basic. The rest of the hotel much bring the rating on this hotel up. Bathroom small and basic, beds small and basic. Used computers and internet, worked well. Has small, nice gift shop as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was difficult for us to find a right hotel in Aguas Calientes. Some of them are too expensive over $1,000 per night, while others are cheap but look outdated and crappy. El MaPi falls in between those categories. It is three star hotel but it is obviously more that that. It is very clean and modern looking. The room was very spacious; we had one bed room and one living room.
We wanted to stay Inkaterra but it was not available on that day, so, we decided to go to El Mapi operated by Inkaterra. We really enjoyed there.

Due to the terrible delay of Peru Rail, we arrived in El Mapi very late at night. The kitchen normally closes at 9pm, however, they waited for us and served dinner although it was after 9pm. Great service. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent just one night at this hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. It has a very contemporary vibe. The rooms are quite nice, and the breakfast that was included was the best we had in Peru (and begins very early for those who want to catch the sunrise at Machu Picchu). To our surprise (and delight ) the price also included dinner and free Pisco Sours at happy hour. The location is terrific---on the main street about 5 minutes from the train station and market in one direction, and 5 minutes to the busses to Machu Picchu in the other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.