We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairs, stairs and more stairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Stairs, stairs and more stairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The town of Aquas Calientes is built on 2 (steep) hills, separated by a babbling, rushing brook. So, one is always walking up or down severe inclines or staircases in the town. El Mapi Hotel location is great, however, there is no elevator, and one must use MORE stairs at the hotel to get to the rooms, the bar, or the restaurant!

Quick walk from the train station, on the other side of the stream. Room was adequate (small) with twin beds or a king. No desk in the room, and a severe lack of electrical outlets. Wifi included in lobby and the rooms. At 4am, we could hear the staff setting up the tables and chairs for breakfast...I would suggest a room not facing the outdoor dining area.

Dinner and breakfast (included in room rate for me) were quite good. Staff is very helpful, pleasant, and accomodative and rather good English speakers. They stored our luggage while we visited MP.

There are many restaurants in the town, and each has a person outside to lure you to eat at his/her establishment. They become somewhat insistant, and won't take a "no with a smile". At one restaurant the outdoor "agent" promised a 20% discount, and when the bill arrived...guess what! No discount. I got it adjusted, but not without a multi-lingual fight. So, beware, and watch our for their hidden "service charges".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    465
    163
    53
    28
See reviews for
196
503
71
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, really well located, just stepping outside and you are in one of thos calles full of little stores and good restaurants. Spacious rooms, very good food and service. Don't forget to pack a swimsuit to enjoy the relaxing hot spring after a full day of walking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a luxury room which was beautifully designed - all white and natural wood. Great little outdoor space where you could have a drink and see the stars and the amazing surrounding mountains. Take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This modern hotel is an ideal resting place for visiting Machu Pichu. Friendly and very helpful staff together with good facilities make this a good 3/4 star hotel.
Restuarant was very busy as most guests are on a room and meal package but the food was good and the staff worked hard to serve everyone.
The rooms had all the necessary facilities with well equiped bathrooms and comfortable beds.
Nice ambience although very modern and not at all Peruvian - but did not detract from our one night stay.
Very close to coach drop off and pick up from Machu Pichu and the train station for travel down the Sacred Valley.

Room Tip: No rooms have real views as the hotel is in a deep valley - but not an issue as the scenery outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here the night after we completed the Inca trail. We booked it as part of a trip arranged by Imagine Latin America.

The hotel is probably the nicest we saw in Aguas Calientes it is very modern and clean. The rooms are a good size with a huge bed and lots of storage.

Breakfast was delicious, was the usually fruit, cold meat and cheeses but then there was a chef making omelettes to order.

We had a 3 course evening meal included in our rate plus a free pisco sour.

The hotel was quiet in the day and evening but very noisy in the morning, I think this is usual for the area as people leave for trips.

The hotel is well located in Aguas Calientes but the town does not have much to offer and we struggled to fill a morning. There are mainly restaurants and tacky shops, there are thermal baths but we did not go due to bad trip advisor reviews however some friends of ours went and thought they were ok.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
718 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

El MaPi Hotel was our oasis for our two days exploration of Machu Picchu. Located in Aguas Calientes, the town below the santuary made it quite convenient in hiking the World Heritage Site in the day time and rest comfortably in the evening. The bar and restaurant offer good services and decent drinks and food. We were quite fortunate to acquire a room overlooking the mountain face Machu Picchu. Hence the atmosphere of our room and scenery from our window was enchanting. Even though the WiFi in the hotel had limited strength but it was available. The place was surrounded by local shops so stroll through the night market is recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a nice hotel and well suited for travel with a child and older grandparents. The location was perfect. It was nice to walk up and down the main part of the town and nice being close to the train station.

The rooms were very nice, clean, and the beds were comfortable. Our breakfast included meal was a continental breakfast that was fair and at the time we went down to breakfast the omelet station had no one there to cook.

The staff was kind enough to make arrangements and have someone walk my mother-in-law and myself up to their sister hotel so we could do a nature walk, and tea plantation tour while the others hiked up another mountain in the Sacred Valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.