We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a decent property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel appears to be one of the better properties in Aqua Calientes. The breakfast was outstanding with omelets made to order. The dinner is included in hotel cost, but the cooking is hit and miss. Between two of us and 4 meals served, only one was any good. In general the trout was a very small portion and was overcooked. The last meal we ate was at indio feliz and was outstanding. The staff was fine and it had a nice giftshop. As other have stated, the walls are extremely thin. It did have a nice bar. If this hotel had been in Cuzco, I would not have rated it this high.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    368
    131
    50
    25
See reviews for
163
407
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our room was clean, quiet and warm. Dinner was included and not bad. Breakfast buffet was average. Service was good. The hotel has porters to bring your luggage from the train station to the hotel and vice versa. Centrally located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at El Mapi after doing the short Inca trail.

It is well located as regards the bus station, the railway station and the many restaurants.

The evening meal was good as was the following day's breakfast. No complaints as regards the room, it was comfortable and we slept well (maybe due to the day's exertions!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location on your way to Machu Picchu. The rooms were clean, but cold. They only had a small heating unit that could not warm the entire room. The power went out through out the night so there was no hot water for a shower warm shower. A freezing shower that you have paid over $250 for is very irritating. Food included in price was good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel is centrally located and the service was very good. We were picked up at the train location which is only a few minutes away by foot.
The price of the room included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was average, but they did a good job with the eggs. Dinner was also ok.
The room was small and dated. There was also an entry area with a couch and table.
The biggest concern was the fact that the windows were single pane and did not block any noise coming from the common area. Luckily guests did not have a party "attitude".
Given the limited choice of hotels, this is not a bad alternative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the night before heading up to Machu Picchu. Didn't spend much time time there, but thought it was nice. The hotel and rooms are very clean and far enough from the train tracks so you don't hear the noise from the train like many of the other hotels in the area. The restaurant had really good food but you do need to make a reservation for dinner. We didn't have time for breakfast as we got up really early to get in line for the bus up to Machu Picchu (apparently the line gets insanely long in the morning so give yourself plenty of time if you want to make it there in time for sunrise). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent two nights at this great hotel in May, 2013, and felt that it was the best one in the town. I don't know the price of it as it was included in our "tour package", but we had two breakfast, and a wonderful dinner included. Did I mention the comp. Pisco Sour. Not only did they bring our luggage up from the train station, but seeing as we were getting a late train out of there they let us keep out luggage there during the day, and then brought in back to the train station for us. It's a modern, sleek looking hotel, with a very friendly staff !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.