We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service but average room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Save Saved
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location and good service but average room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel is centrally located and the service was very good. We were picked up at the train location which is only a few minutes away by foot.
The price of the room included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was average, but they did a good job with the eggs. Dinner was also ok.
The room was small and dated. There was also an entry area with a couch and table.
The biggest concern was the fact that the windows were single pane and did not block any noise coming from the common area. Luckily guests did not have a party "attitude".
Given the limited choice of hotels, this is not a bad alternative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    293
    93
    32
    21
See reviews for
127
329
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the night before heading up to Machu Picchu. Didn't spend much time time there, but thought it was nice. The hotel and rooms are very clean and far enough from the train tracks so you don't hear the noise from the train like many of the other hotels in the area. The restaurant had really good food but you do need to make a reservation for dinner. We didn't have time for breakfast as we got up really early to get in line for the bus up to Machu Picchu (apparently the line gets insanely long in the morning so give yourself plenty of time if you want to make it there in time for sunrise). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent two nights at this great hotel in May, 2013, and felt that it was the best one in the town. I don't know the price of it as it was included in our "tour package", but we had two breakfast, and a wonderful dinner included. Did I mention the comp. Pisco Sour. Not only did they bring our luggage up from the train station, but seeing as we were getting a late train out of there they let us keep out luggage there during the day, and then brought in back to the train station for us. It's a modern, sleek looking hotel, with a very friendly staff !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a visit to Machu Picchu. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was fabulous. The free pisco sour was mostly foam and not really worth the effort of getting it from the bar. Just pay for a drink and they'll probably make it better when it's not free. The breakfast in the morning was also fabulous with a lot of different choices. The staff were very courteous and professional. My only gripe was our room faced a courtyard and there were some loud people in the other rooms, so it wasn't exactly quiet - luckily, I was tired. I can't speak much for the value because it was part of a package, but I would stay here again even if it wasn't and I had to pay directly (I'd just ask for a room not on the courtyard.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takeitallin14
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked this as part of a package, so I'm not sure the actual cost of the hotel. That being said, I would stay here again for sure! I could hear the river at night, and it sounded like the ocean. I didn't find the room to be noisy, and I was on the street facing side of the hotel. The room was very modern, and really comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. They offered a free drink upon check-in. The bar was great and modern. Excellent location, friendly staff. Book it!

Room Tip: If you want to risk the noise of people out late, ask for a room facing the street, its great to hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. The place is elegant, and ecologically sensitive. The rates are expensive but then again all the nice hotels here are as well. The bar has specials on drinks which are really good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A calm place away from the storm of Aguas Calientes! Really lovely property with a tranquil, zen environment and clean top to bottom. For anyone having experience the town of Aguas Calientes, you know that while it has it charms it does tend to be a pretty frenzied atmosphere with tons of travellers and backpackers running around excited about Machu Picchu. El MaPi is the perfect retreat from all this and is one of the most solid and comfortable hotels in Aguas Calientes which still manages to reach the standard many western travelers tend to expect. Since visiting Machu Picchu in 2010 I've actually become a Travel Specialist with Class Adventure Travel and having seen El MaPi first hand, have no hesitation to send my travelers there for night within a Peru trip. Plus, you have got to have the breakfast buffet (served as early as 4am for early risers) complete with fresh juices, home made breads, mixed seeds nuts and honey for cereal, a huge variety of meats and cheeses and an excellent cup of coffee to really wake you up before hitting Machu Picchu at sunrise!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.