We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beautiful rooms and nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
TORONTO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel, beautiful rooms and nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were quite impressed as the room included breakfast and dinner at the very nice restaurant. We skipped the dinner to try a smaller local resto but the breakfast was very good including all the usual hot items and pastries. Our room was large, spacious and clean and included beautiful robes. We slept like babies, maybe due to the comfortable bed but possibly due to the days spent hiking. Good location just a 2 minute walk to the square and buses to machu picchu. Overall a very upscale, recently renovated hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    366
    130
    50
    25
See reviews for
160
405
53
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

As part of a tour of South America, the group stayed here while seeing Machu Picchu. We all wished we had had a longer stay at this beautiful hotel! Hard to put into words how much we enjoyed the rain forest type garden setting. We found the buffet breakfast excellent while enjoying the views of the rushing river below. We also had a dinner which was excellent--great choice of local foods, beautifully presented. And a few of us also had good lunches. There are a few optional tours available within the property. We were sorry we only had time for two--the early morning bird watching and then the tour to see the sun bears. The guides, who are based at the hotel, were very knowledgeable in their fields and obviously enjoyed their work. On a personal note, I was quite sick on one of the days--excellent medical care was provided in my room, the staff were caring, and the restaurant then served food that the doctor ordered! My only caution is that as the property is built within a hill, there are a lot of steps to first get to the property and then to walk around it getting to rooms, etc. With the additional effects of the altitude, it would be a difficult location for those with mobility problems. But then a person with mobility problems would find touring around Machu Picchu difficult so may not choose to be in this location to start with!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

El Mappi was centrally located and convenient for all amenities locally, however after an exhausting day at Machu Picchu we needed a restful nights sleep. Our room was on the first floor with the bedroom window looking out at a brick wall with foliage to the side. The brick wall was lit all night long and even with our curtains closed the room was still quite brightly lit which was not relaxing. We were also disturbed all night by people coming and going and doors slamming. The walls seemed very thin and the corridors were tiled so we could hear people getting up very early (presumably to go to Machu Picchu), their bedroom doors slamming and wheeling their cases along the corridor. We could even hear a cleaner sweeping the corridor at 5am thats how thin the walls were! The evening meal menu was not very varied and the quality of the food when it was served was poor. Breakfast was equally unimpressive. The restaurant opposite served much better food and had a great menu. I think it was called the Inka Terra but I'm not sure. Some other people we met had rooms on higher floors to the back and said they were not disturbed during the night so it may be just our floor that was bad. Anyhow I wouldn't risk it and stay there again there were lots of better places to stay.

Room Tip: If you are insistant you want to go try to get a higher room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The town of Aguas Calientes, it has to be said is a disappointment - all over priced tourist tat, which made the El Mapi hotel a very a welcome respite and it exceeded our expectations. We liked the clean modernist feel which admittedly is a bit of a gamble in a place like this, but it had a cool atmosphere, especially in the bar whilst enjoying your complimentary Pisco Sour. We had an excellent night's sleep in a large comfortable bed with good pillows which made a refreshing change. As for the dinner, given we hadn't expected it, it was probably as good as you would get anywhere else in the town. Breakfast was good, plenty of hot and cold choices to suit pretty much everyone. Staff were very friendly, the system for conveying and storing luggage worked well and apart from the inevitable noise you get from thoughtless early starters talking loudly and clattering about at 5am, we had an enjoyable stay. All in all I think it was a good choice in an otherwise unispiring place and definitely worth staying over, if only to get the full enjoyment out of machu Pichu. Those who came for the day were (apparently) rushed round the MP site and too shattered to enjoy the vistadome train experience back to Cusco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I really enjoyed the night we stayed at the El Mapi in Aguas Calientes. The bed was exceptional, huge and comfortable. The room, while starkly furnished (kind of an attempt at modern, which isn´t my cup of tea) was large and had plenty of space for our things. The lunch buffet was quite good in my opinion, though the dinner menu was not my favorite. The location was good, staff good enough and I generally thought they did a good job. I recommend the hotel to anyone for their time in Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm not sure if there are better options if you must stay over in Aguas Calientes. If you have the choice, see Machu Picchu for the day and then leave for Cuzco or Urubamba. There is nothing but cheap tourist-trap shopping in this tiny town and the hotel was incredibly disappointing. We walked away from our "free dinner" because it wasn't worth ordering. The room was dated and not terribly clean feeling.

Room Tip: Don't choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El MaPi Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear JeanC1,

We are sorry that your impression about the Machu Picchu village influenced on your perception about our hotel. As you can read in other reviews on this page, guest qualify in good way our rooms and restaurant service.

To overnight in the village is the ideal plan for those guests who have as the highlight of their trip visiting Machu Picchu, so they can be privileged on being at the citadel when it is not crowded by the travelers going just for the day, specially at sunrise.

We hope you can get a try and visit Machu Picchu once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at El MaPi. The contemporary, stylish nature-centric atmosphere is very inviting and comfortable (unlike the almost icky feel of the town of Aguas Calientes itself). The room was rather basic, but the simplicity fits in with the hotel's eco-tourism theme. The room was clean and in good condition (aside from some unattractive water damage under the sink) and the beds were comfortable. The front desk employees were friendly and accommodating. The bar had a great vibe and was a fun place to relax and enjoy a Pisco Sour. Dinner and breakfast (included) were nice, dinner especially. The hotel is well located, just a few minutes by foot to the train station and the bus pickup spot for Machu Picchu. Overall, El MaPi isn't spectacular, but it's clean, cozy and has a cool atmosphere. I would totally recommend it as a 3+ star hotel. If you are considering other 3-star hotels in Aguas Calientes, I definitely suggest spending a little more to stay at El MaPi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.