We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel Close to Train Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel
Av. Imperio de los Incas N0 608 | Machupicchu Pueblo, Aguas Calientes, Peru (Formerly Casa del Sol Machupicchu)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Pine Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel Close to Train Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This wonderful hotel was just across from the train station. The location could not have been better, The helpful staff,clean and adequate room makes this hotel a perfect location for visiting Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDelSol M, Director Comercial at Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review and for your kind comments for our staff, the location and your experience in Casa del Sol Machupicchu. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the seamless service we provided you with.

We hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity and thank you one more time for your visit.

Have a marvelous day,

Alcides De La Cruz
CASA DEL SOL MACHUPICCHU
BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    39
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
75
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It's a very nice boutique hotel (small) not many facilities like some of the big cities hotels. However, staffs are friendly and helpful. We had a suites on the 5th floor, there is a Jacuzzi in the room with the river view. It's a bit pricy in comparison to some nice big hotel chains in some big cities. However, all hotels here are pricy.we stayed for 3 nights, rooms are comfy n cozy with good tv channels. Overall I recommend this hotel. Train station is right a the door, bus station to machu picchu only 2 mins walk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDelSol M, Director Comercial at Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Casa del Sol Machupicchu Boutique Hotel. I was delighted to read that you recommend us.

My kindest regards,

Alcides De La Cruz
CASA DEL SOL MACHUPICCHU
BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, Brazil
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It's definatelly a hostel, not a hotel.
The building seems to had an expansion done quickly and without a project, so it was not a masterpiece.
But assistance is good, room's clean and location is very good: close to train station.
Breakfast is quite simple,served individuallly.
Considering cost-benefit, is an fair choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDelSol M, Director Comercial at Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your comment, these remarks help us to get better in many ways although we would like to point something out, Our location is privilege as yourself mentioned it and we work a lot on our new infrastructure, we just finished two years ago.

Regarding breakfast, we made some changes in order to improve this service.

Best regards,

Alcides De La Cruz
Casa del sol Machupicchu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Missed our train to Augas Calientes and so ended up reaching the hotel early morning. I was expecting the hotel to say that they could not help since the delay was our mistake but they more than made up for it by allowing us to use the room for the entire day. This turned out to be really useful as we were able to come back from Machu Pichu and shower and rest before taking the train back to Cusco. The staff was very accommodating and I really appreciate their hospitality during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDelSol M, Director Comercial at Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Casa del Sol Machupicchu Boutique Hotel. It was a shame you lost your train, but we were delighted to read that anyway you mentioned the services and the effort of our staff.

Please do come and stay with us once again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Alcides De La Cruz
CASA DEL SOL MACHUPICCHU
BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We decided to spend a little more money for a hotel in Aquas Calientes and couldn't have been more pleased with the Casa del Sol. We have a river side room which was wonderful. The included dinner was a plus and it was very good. They even packed us a lunch for our day at Machu Picchu. The front desk personnel and dining room workers were all very pleasant. I would definitely recommend staying at Casa del Sol.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDelSol M, Director Comercial at Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Casa del Sol Machupicchu Boutique Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the seamless service we provided you with and we are glad that you will recommend us.


My kindest regards,

Alcides De La Cruz
CASA DEL SOL MACHUPICCHU
BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a very well appointed hotel with decent service. The bellman will meet you at the train station and bring your bags and guide you to the hotel. The room price includes a 4 course dinner and breakfast. It is situated close to all the important sites of Aquas Calientes. We found the room and amenities to be well finished and up to date. It looked like the hotel would fit perfectly into a place like Whistler B.C. We thought both meals were good. There are not a lot of hotels in Aquas Calientes so the prices tend to be a little high. I think this hotel goes for approximately $300USD per night. I would only book it if I was getting a discounted rate, which seems to happen often, so hang in there for a better rate.

Room Tip: Get a room on the creek side, otherwise you are going to hear Peru Rail and Inca Rail shunting cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDelSol M, Director Comercial at Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Casa del Sol Machupicchu Boutique Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the seamless service we provided you with.

Please do come and stay with us once again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Alcides De La Cruz
CASA DEL SOL MACHUPICCHU
BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were disappointed with our recent stay. We had several issues with the bathroom (which to start with was dark and very dated looking). The mirror had strange stains all over it and we had to call down twice (during our single night stay) to fix the drain in the tub and the toilet. In addition, the design of the shower feeds a stream of water onto the floor. Our room looked onto a railroad track (about 3 feet away from our window and our whole room shook when trains went by) and also looked into a very unsightly shanty house ( complete with barking dogs all night). There was not heat or aircon in the room so the room got stuffy, but since there were no screens on the windows to prevent bugs and the train noise, we did not open them. The staff did seem nice, but we would not come back here or recommend this place. They need to update the rooms significantly to justify what they claim to be.

Room Tip: only stay in a river facing room. Do not accept one on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDelSol M, Director Comercial at Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are really sorry about your experience. We are sad to read you were left unsatisfied with your recent stay at the property. these remarks help us to get better in many ways, although we would like to point something out. Our property is a new building with just 2 years, and we are taking care of your comments to improve. We hope you can visit us on the future to see our changes.

Have a marvelous day.


Best regards,

Alcides De La Cruz
Casa del sol Machupicchu
BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel

Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas N0 608 | Machupicchu Pueblo, Aguas Calientes, Peru (Formerly Casa del Sol Machupicchu)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance to the Sanctuary of Machu Picchu, alongside the sacred Vilcanota River, at the base of the mighty mountains, among trees and orchids that shelter the most beautiful birds. The sound of the river, the singing of the birds and the wind moving through the trees.This is Casa del Sol, where you will be received and attended to with all of the warmth and heart of Peru making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.