We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel
Av. Imperio de los Incas N0 608 | Machupicchu Pueblo, Aguas Calientes 0800, Peru (Formerly Casa del Sol Machupicchu)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was a great hotel. Views from our room were amazing. You could hear the river rushing, which for me was very relaxing. It sounds like rain. Rooms were very large. Service was friendly. One morning before our outing, we wanted to eat breakfast at our hotel (which I believe was included), and it was taking too long for our waiter to get back to us, so we got up and left. The next day on our way out of the hotel, the manager apologized for it, and he had packed us two lunches to go. The location is also very conveniently located near the train and bus stops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    51
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
89
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in a room that faced the river. The river can be loud but wife and I found it a complimenting background noise for sleep. The rooms are nice size with a big bath tub with shower. The room was clean and elegantly decorated. The coolest part of our stay at Casa del Sol is that they allowed us to use the Spa shower after we returned from Machu Picchu in the afternoon. Our dinner and breakfast was included in the stay price. The dinner was outstanding. Good flavorful food , very gourmet with clean and fresh flavor and playful presentation. I had the pesto pasta and they serve it as a deconstructed dish which you put all the ingredients together. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I suggest you pay attention at your hotel booking in Agua Calientes, because is a very strange location: just the starting point for your magic stunning experience in Muchu Picchu. And Casa del Sol is one of the few serious hotel there. It’s placed between the village and the river, with both the possibilities of earing the power of nature (the Vilcanota river side) and taking a look of the way local people live in this little village. Rail station is at 2 minutes. Personnel very kind, good clean great room. Great restaurant inside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A very nice hotel, close to the railway station and next to the river. We had a room facing the river, which might be too noisy for some. We loved it! It is clean, good beds, complimentary water in the room (no other hotel we stayed in Peru had that), breakfast was good, but nothing extraordinary, the dinner included in the hotel price was 5 stars. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had just enough time to sneak down to Machupicchu from Cusco with my wife while traveling for work. It was a struggle to find something that was affordable and not a hostel. We both travel a lot for work, so we can get a little snobby when we're on the road for fun. Casa del Sol did not disappoint!

It's about a 4-minute walk from the train station (unless your wife gets derailed by the sea of trinkets at the market) and about a 2-minute walk to the bus station to get up to Machupicchu. Some reviews comment that it's close to the train and can be noisy. Guess what? A) every place in Aguas is close to the train, the town is about the size of a thumbtack and the trains are frequent. B) get a room on the river and you shouldn't hear anything but rushing water.

The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, locally woven throws and tapestries, and nice bath tub and 3-sided bay window that puts you a couple feet out over the river. We opened the windows and listened to the roar of the rapids all night. To say it was romantic would be a gross understatement.

We were introduced to Chicha Sours at the bar. They were delicious, if a bit pricey. The bartender was entertaining and genuine. The excellent dinner was included in our rate (as was breakfast), which made the limited menu options and slight splurge on cocktails acceptable. The tartar de trucha (trout) was mind blowing, we've been talking about it for days.

By my appraisal there are two spots in Aguas Callientes that are nicer, but at more than twice the price. Everything else looks pretty back-packer oriented (hostels, etc), which is cool, but not our speed anymore.

An aside: Many reviews say you can do MP in 1 day and 1 night. We disagreed. If we had another shot, we'd come in one evening, see MP in the morning (with a guide), before it's too crowded, chill in the hot springs in the afternoon with a few Cusquena's (local beer), stay a second night, and hike Huayna Picchu (reservation req'd!!!) on day two, THEN head back to Cusco. My $0.02...

Room Tip: The top floor had some suites with hot-tubs overlooking the river which we checked out for fun, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Agua Calientes- close to the bus to Machu Pichuu and the train to Cusco. Breakfast buffet and gourmet dinner- with good choice of wine included in the room rate. Bilingual staff, Internet access, free wifi, very clean, and sturdy appearing structure. Definetly recommend and would stay here again. Would have liked some variety for the music in Lobby/dining room- but overall- A GREAT PLACE to stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Staff was very helpful, friendly and welcoming.Stored our things for free while visiting Machu Picchu. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast and dinner were included in the price and both were EXCELLENT! 3 people, 3 twin beds - $300.00. Rooms are large. HIghly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel

Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas N0 608 | Machupicchu Pueblo, Aguas Calientes 0800, Peru (Formerly Casa del Sol Machupicchu)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance to the Sanctuary of Machu Picchu, alongside the sacred Vilcanota River, at the base of the mighty mountains, among trees and orchids that shelter the most beautiful birds. The sound of the river, the singing of the birds and the wind moving through the trees.This is Casa del Sol, where you will be received and attended to with all of the warmth and heart of Peru making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.