We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, simple accomadations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge
Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, simple accomadations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in their larger room, actually room downstairs with loft for bedroom. Everything was clean and worked. Staff very friendly and helpful. Accommodations are simple. Based on prices in Machu in general, this was reasonable but much more expensive than you would expect for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    141
    60
    39
    30
See reviews for
69
187
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed in room #5. It was very relaxing. The beds were very comfortable. There was some noise outside the hotel, but it stopped by 6 pm. The front desk was helpful. And they take credit cards (a rarity in Peru).

The biggest issue -- particularly when paying $150/night -- is that there was no hot water. After 4 days on the Inca Trail, I just wanted a warm shower. All I got was ice water. I tried when I arrived, later that night and again the next morning. No matter what I did, I couldn't get anything other than ice cold water. It was a major disappointment.

The wifi didn't work in the room. It worked only in the reception area.

Room Tip: #5 has two beds: a single bed on the first floor and a double bed in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

PROS: The rooms are really nice and the rooms were clean. Staff was very helpful and polite. Beds were comfortable. The hotel is removed from the downtown areas of the city.
CONS: You have to climb like 50 stairs to get to the hotel. Not a big deal unless you are exhausted from hiking all day.
We only stayed in Aguas Calientes for one night.

Room Tip: Some rooms have poor views while other have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Rupi Wasi for 2 nights as we visited Machu Picchu. It was a very fun hotel! I felt like I was sleeping in a enclosed, warm, comfortable tree house! The views were amazing!! The staff was very helpful and even sent the receptionist to pick us up when our train arrived. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed in the suite, which was small, but nice and certainly comfortable. The staff was lovely and actually helped book all my Machu Picchu needs (bus, ticket). The room came with a dinner at The Tree House, which was fabulous. A breakfast was included as well. They even packed me a lunch for my day at MP (eat outside the park, please). It was really good.

Room Tip: The suites are your most comfortable choice, albeit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Arriving late with no reservation we got a suite with no problem. The very friendly staff showed us the very nice and clean room. Unfortunately it was dark already, so we could only guess the spectacular view. Getting up at 4 am with such a comfy bed was really hard!

With not even 5 minutes of walking to the bus station, the hotel was at the same time out of the world. No sound from the busy and loud Av. Pachacutec was audible from our room.

Highly recommended!

Henning

P. S. Order the lunch box with a tasty sandwich and self made cereal bars for your hike to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loved the guides and staff! The accommodations are very basic but clean and attractive, and the activities offered were fun and definitely up close and personal to the animals and plants of the jungle. This isn't a flashy, zip line sort of place, but feels genuine and helps support the local economy. The food was excellent! This isn't a place for those who are not comfortable with the possibility of animals sharing your room at times, as the rooms are open to the jungle,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge

Address: Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupa Wasi’s unique location provides for spectacular views of the mountains of Machu Picchu. Rooms boasting balconies allow our guests to take full advantage of these surroundings. This design marvel fits together magically with the green surrounding of Aguas Calientes to create a peaceful environment, an invitation to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rupa Wasi Eco Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hotel Rupa Wasi Eco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge to your Saves list