We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, clean, and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge
Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unique, clean, and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was unique and the room while small was clean and comfortable. The food in their restaurant was delicious! The alpaca wrapped in bacon with chimichurri on top was the best dish we had while in Peru.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    141
    60
    39
    30
See reviews for
69
187
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is extremely overpriced for what it offers. The only two good things are the beds and the staff, which is friendly. Apart from that, showers are completely irregular - yes, there is hot water, but you can't regulate, so it's either scalding or freezing. If you stay in one of the standard rooms, you'll hear every step on the top apartments and everything in the next room. They offered me a free pisco because there was a confusion with my room, but what's the use if the restaurant is too full and there are no tables? Breakfast is a few pieces of cold wholewheat bread, some butter, jelly, coffee and juice. I only got eggs because I asked, otherwise she wouldn't have offered me. Internet is terribly slow and on top, I needed to print my e-ticket and the lady at the reception said they were out of ink. To me, it's too poor for the price you pay. You can find pretty much the same for half the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Incredible view, unique location, really neat atmosphere, comfy bed,

Decent breakfast that you have to schedule

Hot water unreliable despite talking to the manager
No shampoo

Quite expensive, expected better customer service for the price

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My stay at Rupa Wasi was excellent. The staff was attentive and kind. The food at the restraunt was excellent, the beds comfortable, and the showers hot! I would definately stay there again and recommend it for anyone traveling to see Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Everything about Rupa Wasi is inviting and hospitable, particularly the staff headed by manager Alcides. My room had a private balcony with a great view of the mountains and gorgeous foliage. The Tree House restaurant is great as well. I recommend the package that includes transportation, entrance and a guide to Machu Picchu and three meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The room was OK, nothing great, bathroom needed a curtain on Window. We had a standard room. The service on the other hand was great, the package deal was well worth the extra money after spending 8 hours trying to purchase train tickets. The restaurant dinners were great. The hardest part was hiking up the steep stairs. Thankfully the staff took the luggage up the stairs and took it to the train station in the afternoon when we left.

Room Tip: If you want the views and the great rooms, book the suite. Or save the money and book the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

When we stayed at this Lodge (May 2012) there was considerable construction activity at the hotel restaurant building which caused noise during the day but the nights were peaceful. The room (suite with balcony) was decent size and had comfortable beds. Unfortunately there was a lot of damp (probably not surprising in the tropics) and heating was initially not supplied but this was later rectified free of charge. The shower's hot water ran out at first and new gas had to be installed. After that the water temperature fluctuated between scalding hot and cold (be careful with children!). The restaurant dinner was good and the breakfast OK. Staff were helpful and offered to take our luggage to the station (15 minute walk including long very steep stairway). Disappointingly the luggage arrived 15 minutes late prompting us to be in a near-panic by the time - trains are usually booked out weeks in advance and missing one is disastrous.
If we did the trip again we would probably explore Machu Pichu on a day-trip from Ollantay rather than overnight in Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge

Address: Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupa Wasi’s unique location provides for spectacular views of the mountains of Machu Picchu. Rooms boasting balconies allow our guests to take full advantage of these surroundings. This design marvel fits together magically with the green surrounding of Aguas Calientes to create a peaceful environment, an invitation to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rupa Wasi Eco Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hotel Rupa Wasi Eco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rupa Wasi Eco Lodge to your Saves list