We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Day in He!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu to your Saves list
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cold Day in He!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We have just returned from 11 days in Peru and had a great time despite the two nights we spent at La Cabana Hostel in Aguas Calientes.

Upon check-in, the rooms are small (No closets, just 3 hooks) and quaint, but the bathrooms do stink of mold and some of the rooms don't have windows (which is a huge problem in this mosquito haven). We were met with ice cold water from the shower for over an hour. When we went down to the customer service desk to have it looked into, we found the desk unattended with copies of our Passports along with another guests Passport copy open and exposed for anyone to see/steal. When the employees returned to the desk we explained the problem with the passport information then had them work the hot water problem. The employees stated that the water was getting warmer when it wasn't. After a couple of hours we overheard them speaking in Spanish that the cause of the cold water stemmed from the hot water heater not being turned on. They just weren't honest and up-front about the problem which would have diffused the situation.

Our second day, we returned from Manchu Pichu to discover the copies of our Passports again laying out on the highest point of the customer service desk.

The following morning (third day) one of the members of our party wasn't feeling well when the rest of us went down for breakfast. While we were eating, the ill member heard noises in his room while he was in the bathroom. Thinking it was his wife, he opened the door to discover it was an employee going through his camera bag.

Overall I would say this is probably the worst place any one in our party has ever stayed. I don't make this statement lightly considering three out of the four of us have truly traveled around the world on 5 or 6 occasions.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — You name it!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    182
    133
    45
    16
See reviews for
111
229
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

We stayed at La Cabana for two nights while we were visiting Machu Picchu. The small and quaint-looking inn was a disappointing place to stay.

When entering the property you can't help but think it actually looks quite pleasant. The lobby is nice looking and the rooms are not that bad. They are clean and do just what you need while you are visiting Aguas Calientes: give you a place to sleep.

The bathrooms, on the other hand, stink. We had to have 3 different rooms while on property and all 3 had very bad smelling bathrooms. Even closing the bathroom doors didn't get the smell out of the room.

I've saved the best for last - we got back from visiting Machu Picchu to find one of the maintenance workers taking a shower in our room! His clothes were all over our floor and he was in the shower. I ran down to the front desk but they said he was "fixing the shower." With his clothes off? Don't think so.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful but oblivious to what was going on upstairs. The breakfast buffet wasn't bad either-simple fruits, some sausage, eggs, bread, and juices.

I'd stay elsewhere when I come back. I didn't give it a terrible rating because there were a few things that were okay. If we hadn't found someone showering in our room it would have probably been fine for a couple of days.

While Aguas Calientes is a necessary evil to visit Machu Picchu, there must be other places you can stay that will be cleaner and safer for the money.

  • Liked — Breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Staff in room without permission, forgot to call us for wake up call
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

This hotel was basic compared to the others I had stayed at in Peru.
Not sure how it would compare to others in the area as there is not much choice in Aguas Calientes.
The rooms are basic and noisy as noise travels well from the corridors, other rooms etc.
The staff are friendly and helpful.

The breakfast is very basic but ok.

  • Liked — Convienient location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima-Peru
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

My husband and I got at La Cabaña by chance. We had done a reservation at El Santuario Hostel but when we got there we didn't have our room. So they managed to find us a room in another hostel. We were very angry but luckily we got to La Cabaña, a small but very comfortable and clean hostel. The rooms are small but nice and warm. You always have hot water or "you don't pay the bill" as the owner said to us. The personnel is very friendly and they even made us a little surprise since the night we spent there we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chogga1974
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night and found that was more than enough. The hotel was noisy but not from other travellers - staff had the TV on full volome in the lobby until the early night with the sound echoing around the stair wells to the rooms. Three unrequested alarm calls between the hours of 4am and 6am.

The beds are at least 6 inches (30cm) shorter than standard ones meant it was even harder to sleep. The free internet was not free - very slow dial up which was charged for.

On the plus side it had hot water and a reasonable breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

Although this Hostel is located near the top of the hill in Aguas Calientas, we were greeted at the train station and the porters carried our luggage {as well as a pile of others!~ These guys work hard!}
Upon arrival, the staff at reception desk was pleasant and friendly. There was a nice seating area in the lobby with TV and 2 computers/internet that was very reasonably priced!
The rooms were clean and cute, They were rustic, but in a reallly good way. Our room faced the narrow street and yes, it was a bit noisy.
Breakfast was realllly wonderful with a large selection of fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, toast and jam...and varied the next morning.

  • Liked — Charming accommadations, great staff, wonderful breakfast
  • Disliked — Noisy because of the narrow streets
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
161 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

This hotel had multiple difficulties.

1. You have to pay in advance in Cusco, and good luck finding the office!! It's a tiny room, on the 2nd floor of a place down a sidestreet, with limited opening hours.

2. It is a very long walk, uphill, from the train station and bus terminal. It is one of the furthest. If anyone in your group is having problems with the altitutde, this will pretty well do them in!

3. On arrival, they tried substituting with inferior quality rooms with less beds than what we had reserved in Cusco. It took much arguing to get what we had paid for.

On the other hand, there are restaurants immediately across the street, but that's pretty well par for the course here. The rooms we finally did get were nicely furnished, with decent bathrooms--looking over the main street. It is quiet because there is no vehicle traffic in town.

Let's face it, Aguas Callientes is there solely to fleece the tourists, so don't expect much for your dollar.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Address: Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel worried about provide excellent hotel service for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Machupicchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.