We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Presidente

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Presidente
Save
You added Hostal Presidente to your Saves list
Av Imperio de los Incas 127, Aguas Calientes 00000, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Perfect hotel to rest after 4 days of trekking :) The bathrooms are clean, good bed and beautiful balcony where u can look at the street and hear the water from the flowing stream. Everything was great. Also used their laundry service and got all the trek clothes clean ..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    60
    85
    24
    19
See reviews for
33
72
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosholt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel was a great value. The staff was helpful and polite. Rooms were clean and the location was within walking distance to everything in the area. I had a room on the 2nd floor on the river and did not hear the train as other reviewers complained about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river as the view was great. Stayed in 217 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

When you get off the train in Aguas Calientes you have to take your small baggage down the steps at the train station. There are vendors right on the train tracks! Furthermore, you have to then walk beside the train tracks to Hostal Presidente. We arrived in the afternoon and we got a check in straight away. Observing the proximity of the train to the hostel I asked for a room not facing the train tracks. I was not aware how frequent these trains were, but I did not want to be woken up in the middle of the night several times by passing trains!

The rooms have no A/C or fridge. It was clean though and had a TV. There were no hair dryers in the room and I had to ask the front desk for one. This is common in standard hotel rooms in Peru. There were no night stands with lamps either. The bathroom was tiny and when you open the door it literally misses the wall by about 2 cms! Then you have to squeeze your way around the bathroom. I found I did have hot water for my shower the next morning.

Most of the hotels I have stayed in in Peru have these big wooden key fobs. Now these can be quite cumbersome when you need to put them in your pocket or purse. Flip side to this is you can’t really lose sight of them!

Breakfast is served from 4.45am – 8am. The hostel probably thinks people will leave vey early to go to Macchu Picchu. I noticed most of the hotels I stayed in Peru have very similar breakfasts: bread, fresh fruit, yogurt on some occasions, herbal teas and the ever so horrible Nescafe.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get a room facing the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

For anyone that wants to see Machu Pichu and really enjoy it, then an overnight stay in Aguas Calientes is a must. As it was, we only stayed one night and wished we stayed two. This was a great value in a super location - right on the Urabamba River. Aguas Calientes is a typical high tourist town, with almost all hotels in a good downtown location. This was perhaps the nicest hotel we stayed in during out week long trip to Peru. Good breakfast, very nice staff and a very nice room all add to a great value. Would stay here again in a minute. One caution - like all the hotels we stayed in during our trip to Peru, the toilet paper goes into the trash, not the toilet... just something to know.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

staff were very surly, we arrived at 8am but check in was not until 11am, we killed some time and went back for 10am asking if we could get into our room early...the staff were astounded to be asked! after some negotiation we got in around 10.30 to room 110, outside the patio doors leading the the balcony was the river....don't picture a babbling brook this was a roaring torrent that kept us awake all night!

think we may have been given the room as a prize for asking for the early check in!

that aside the hotel was ok, bed itself comfy enough, breakfast decent

just avoid room 110!

Room Tip: avoid room 110/river view rooms as very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Like many people, we spent just one night here in preparation for getting an early start at Machu Picchu the following morning, and Hostal President was well suited to our needs. It is on the main drag, only a couple of blocks from the train station and about a block to the M-P bus.

The hostal had an efficient bag-storage system for leaving our travel bag while touring M-P during the day, and they begin serving their ample breakfast at 4:45am, which gave us enough time to eat and walk about a block to catch the first bus to M-P at 5:30am. Actually there were a half dozen busses lined up at 5:30am, and we rode the second bus, which got us to the site at about dawn, about 6am.

The town of Aguas Calienties -- sometimes called Machu Picchu town -- occupies a narrow river valley below the Inca site. The hostel is situated between the RailPeru train tracks and the river, which was running fast, loud and wild during rainy season. We had a room on the river side, which I enjoyed but which kept evoking melodies in my wife's sleep. The room was attractive, but something was leaking water on the bathroom floor, a minor inconvenience.

We liked the town better than some other reviewers. While waiting for our train back to Cusco, we enjoyed a decent meal, visited with newlyweds on their honeymoon, and listened to live music. Not a bad way to spend a few hours.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The location is good as it is on the main street in Aguas Calientes. That's about the main thing to recommend it, though I think that there is little to recommend the other similarly priced places in this over priced touristy backpackers' town. Avoid the rooms facing the front of the hotel as this overlooks the train tracks. Fortunately we got our room switched to one facing an inner wall.

When we first checked in, we had a nasty surprise as there was no hot running water and we desperately needed to shower after a whole day of hiking. It was terribly unpleasant bathing in cold water. Later on, we asked the front desk what the problem was and they said that there had been a problem with the hot water, but it would be fixed soon in twenty minutes. True enough it was, but they could have told us this when we checked in! Not really a location that you want to stay in for more than 1 night at best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Presidente

Address: Av Imperio de los Incas 127, Aguas Calientes 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Hostal Presidente Aguas Calientes
Hostal Presidente Hotel Aguas Calientes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Presidente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.