We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel to your Saves list
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days. The place is so beautiful and the staff is great. Although pricy, I would not have stayed anywhere else in town.
The room was spacious and very clean. If you do not like your room they will happily change it.
We really enjoyed the nature walk which included bird watching, the tea plantation and the orchids. The guide was knowledgeable and funny.
We also booked a trip to Wayna Picchu and Machu Picchu through the hotel. Highly recommend doing this. It eliminates having to figure out how/where to get tickets and the guide will point out things throughout the day which you would normally not notice. They also bring a snack and fruit and give you lunch up at the ruins (in Sanctuary lodge).
In the price of your stay, breakfast, lunch and dinner is included. All day fresh tea and afternoon cookies and a welcome pisco sour!
I would stay here again. And only here. Aguas Caliente is very dirty and smelly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    275
    63
    34
    22
See reviews for
272
729
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

I was at this hotel last week, hotel was selected by the travel company I used, Yampu Latin American Tours, the selection excellent.

The hotel is very comforting after a day up at Machu Picchu, the grounds are beautiful, the staff and service excellent. It is a 5 minute walk from the train station market, easy to get to and back.

The hotel is pricey, but well worth the expense, I wish we would have stayed one extra night.

The grounds are built on the side of a hill so you have to navigate up and down steps no matter what room are you in, but after visiting Machu Picchu, the hotel is a breeze.

A few in our group got SPA treatments and said they were great.

I recommend hotel 150 % -

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Staff is always corteous, please try the Villas, they look incredible! Eco-activities are a must, look for Carmen Soto and join her on birdwatching. Breakfast was over the top. Inkaterra has great design and architecture, besides practicing sustainable tourism, it is nice to support a good cause when traveling.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed at the Inkaterra Machu Picchu for two nights during our 3 week trip to Peru. Before going we had decided to upgrade our room to a junior suite to make the most of our experience. We were therefore slightly disappointed on arrival to be taken to a very small, dark room with an old fashioned bathroom and a balcony overlooking a storage area. Immediately concerned we complained to reception that we believed we had been put in the wrong room type. They checked and told us that we were in the right room but there were many different styles of rooms of that type and they would check if there were any others available.

Having performed this check we were moved to another room with a much more modern bathroom but with the room itself being a lot smaller. We were initially loathe to say anything again after the earlier conversation but after checking on the internet we just couldn't understand how the room type we were in matched to the description. On complaining again we were passed to the general manager who was absolutely excellent, even if he did reconfirm that both rooms we were in had been of the type we had booked. We were eventually moved for the third time to a much bigger room which we believed gave more appropriate value for the amount we were spending.

With all that resolved I would say that the hotel otherwise is great. The setting is fantastic, lots to see even around the property. Food is excellent. Staff are very helpful and friendly and go out of their way to help you organise trips. Be mindful that the hotel is really only geared as a place to stay while you visit Machu Picchu and the surrounds, there are facilities such as a pool but it is outdoors and filled with mountain water - so when we went was both freezing and brown!

We had an overall good stay while we were there, however, were left feeling slightly disappointed that the rooms do not appear to bear much relation to their descriptions.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, eCommerce Manager at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is invaluable to help us ensure the quality of our services. Regarding room configurations, please know that all rooms that belong to the same category are identical in size, amenities and services. They may only differ in terms of location which is according to the natural contour of the hotel grounds. In the end, we are glad that you were moved to a room that was to your complete satisfaction, however, we wish to point out that just like in any other hotel, all rooms are basically subject to availability.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Every one has the same to say, wonderful stay after Machu Picchu ruins.

Food some of best we had in Peru, wine reasonable, but spirits very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

This place is amazing! While it's technically located in Aguas Calientes, it's kind of on the edge, right by the train station, and has a ton of land so is super quiet and full of beautiful trees, flowers, etc. The cabins are super cute, and although we did have an issue with our hot water, they fixed it rather quickly. There was a fireplace in our room, but no TV, which would probably be nice if you were with a partner, but less so when you're traveling with a friend. The free ammenities included in the lodge include all their nature walks - orchid walk, bird walk, etc. We saw so many beautiful flowes, amazing hummingbirds, etc. The staff was super friendly, always saying "Buenos Dias" if they passed you on the path. I also took advantage of the Spa to get an Andean Stone Massage, which was really good. It was definitely not cheap though, with prices on par with the States. The dining room was very nice; breakfast was a full buffet, and dinner was an amazing three course meal. This was definitely a fabulous place to stay after a hot day hiking Machu Picchu and I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Is it expensive? Yes. However, I can't think about a better place to be in Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu).
The place is gigantic, completely carbon free, staff is amazingly helpful and the guides are experts from Peruvian universities - you really get a lecture about orchids and wildlife! Even though you are there to visit Machu Picchu, stay one extra day (at least) to explore the hotel - many things to see: flowers, birds, landscape...
I recommend booking the excursions to Machu Picchu prior to your arrival directly with the hotel - they take care of everything and all you have to do is enjoy the beauties of that unforgettable place.
Should you want to go the extra mile and surprise your best half, the hotel offers several options - I have chosen an Inca ceremony to renew our vows, it is a beautiful and meaningful ceremony!
Rooms are big, with tasteful local decoration with great amenities - please note that there are no TVs in the hotel! This is a paradise to rest and forget about the rest of the world. If you really need this, wireless is available and there is a TV at the hotel's cafe, outside of the main complex.
Last but not least, don't forget to have a massage session at the Spa - you will need this after one day in Machu Picchu!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. Our suites are part of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.