We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a magic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel to your Saves list
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a magic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during our honeymoon. Of course, we went to Aguas Calientes as a base for our trip to Machu Pichu. And everything was perfect.

The hotel's staff took our luggage when we arrived to the train station from the Urubamba Valley. Then we did our unforgetable Machu Pichu Tour. When we returned in the evening, tired after an early morning and a long walk of the ruins, we arrived to this quiet, magical lodge. With an open air jacuzzi, where we managed to relax, with individual bungalows with fireplace, with incredible service and incredible food (we had dinner there and the Peruvian specialities were awesome).

At night, we fell asleep hearing the tropical rain falling on the hotel's huge garden (more of a forest).

The next morning we again woke up early to go back to Machu Pichu. After a great breakfast, the staff again took our bags and delivered them to the train station.

Perfect service, very good food and great facilities, in one of the most magical places in the World.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    305
    73
    35
    25
See reviews for
296
785
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here one night as part of the Machu Picchu tour package. Wasn't long enough to try all the activities right on the property. We picked tea leaves with Percy and had an excellent time. Having breakfast in the restaurant balcony next to the river is unforgettable. The dinner service was a bit slow but the food was great. The rooms (casitas) are spacious, and no TV. If you come all this way and still need that appliance, I don't know what to tell ya.

Room Tip: our room was on the ground floor which gave us easy access to the patio chairs. easy to take a nap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel is a place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Inca civilization, feeling an authentic travel in an atmosphere of refinement, caring, and warm hospitality.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and that you keep great memories of your visit to the cloud forest of Peru.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Agues Calentes is not a great town as it is there for one reason only - the hordes of tourists visiting Machu Picchu like myself. The Inkaterra is a good property on the edge of the town, and is very lush with tropical plants. Very pretty and rustic with separate casitas for the rooms. Teeming with flowers and birds, plants and moss, the Inkaterra is heavily into ecology and Eco tours of the property. The room I stayed in had a fireplace, and the evening's fire warmed up the room wonderfully as it was raining.

Unfortunately, it was raining while I was taken by the bellman on the long, wet walk to my room and was not offered an umbrella. So my luggage and I arrived to my room wet. This is one of the reasons for 4 stars, the second was that it took a good 2-3 minutes of running the tap to get hot water, and the third is that there are many uneven stone steps that are not clearly marked, and I twisted my ankle on one. Ouch.

There are many great things here, the staff are wonderful, welcoming, and helpful. Great afternoon tea that is grown on the property, best Pisco Sour EVER, and a great dinner.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a great boutique hotel in the rain forest. As soon as you get off the train the hotel is on your right. 5 blocks is were you catch the bus the machu picchu. It will be a mistake to miss this gem!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Inkaterra Machu Picchu 2 weeks ago for 1 night. We decided to make this hotel stay our big splurge during our trip. We are so grateful that we chose this hotel. We kept going back and forth between Inkaterra and The Sanctuary. As part of our train package to Machu Picchu, we had a buffet lunch at The Sanctuary. So, we were able to experience that hotel a little bit. It was so crowded with tourists not sating at the hotel (including us) that we were glad we chose not to stay there. The Inkaterra is about a 5-7 minute walk to the buses that take you up to MP. The bus ride is about 20 minutes to MP, so even if you wanted to go to MP first thing in the morning and beat the crowds, you still can.

When we arrived at the town, we were greeted by Indira, a rep for Inkaterra. She had the porter take our carry-on luggage to the hotel as she walked back with us to the hotel. As soon as we arrived there, Indira took us to a quaint little section of the lobby where our check-in forms were at a table with 3 glasses of iced-tea. At that point, she told us that they had upgraded us from a junior suite to a junior deluxe suite. We were very pleasantly surprised.

Since we had tickets to visit MP that day and we had arrived much earlier than the check-in time, Indira said that our luggage would be delivered to our "casita" while we toured MP. When we got back to the hotel after MP, we went to redeem our welcome pisco sours and a lemonade. They also had delicious cookies and brownies.

Martin, with guest relations, took us to our casita. We are taken back at our beautiful and rustic little house. We had a wood-burning fireplace which Martin graciously lit for us. Our 12 year old daughter LOVED the fact that she had to walk up the stone staircase to her very own loft with bed and sitting area:) The bathroom was very spacious and had a towel warmer as well.

Once we got settled in, my husband decided to take a soak in their hot tub. They had nice robes and slippers as well.

The dining room was so beautiful. And the food was second to none!! The waitress was very polite as was the rest of the wait staff. Breakfast was just as delicious. We were able to see the dining room during the day and it was even more beautiful!

The hotel is very clean, well kept, and perfectly situated in our opinion. The property was jungle like with exotic birds and flowers throughout. The whole place had a faint citronella scent which was very pleasant. We had chosen to just stay 1 night in MP and 2 nights in Cusco. Cusco was very nice, but we wish we would have stayed 2 nights in MP. We found MP more entertaining than Cusco. I would also say that if you want to do your souvenir shopping, definitely do it in MP and not Cusco. We thought there would be more in Cusco and it would be cheaper. That was NOT the case. It was much cheaper in MP and there were hundreds of vendors.

I would definitely recommend the Inkaterra to anyway visiting MP. We will be going back to MP and staying at the Inkaterra at least 2 nights. We want to thank Indira, Martin, the dining room with staff, the sweet lade at the gist shop who asked me if "mam" was a polite word in English:) and everyone else at the hotel who made our stay there exceptional. Thanks for giving us the BEST memories! We hope to see you again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This wonderfully atmospheric former tea plantation site was the perfect hotel after our visit to Machu Picchu. The rustic but attractive adobe guestrooms vary considerably in accoutrements - some with balconies, fireplaces, lofts, and patios with hot tubs. Ours had a balcony with a view of tile roofs and the mountainside - with a glass of wine and binoculars, we were in bird heaven. We traveled with a small group and found the food and service at the restaurant very good; the view incomparable. The cozy lounge is perfect for recapping Machu Picchu adventures. Friends who made it to the Sun Gate reported the spa and massage worthwhile. I recommend checking out the gift shop for some quality Andean and Inkaterra produced keepsakes. (I wish I had brought back more of their hand lotion.) I regret that we had only one night here, because the hotel offers a variety of nature walks and excursions. If you are interested in them, be sure to check at the front desk for times. We managed to catch one in the morning with an enthusiastic naturalist who guided us among orchids, herbal and medicinal plants, exotic birds, and explained the nuances of tea production. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend my 50th birthday at Machu Picchu and had my celebration dinner at this wonderful hotel. their care and attention to detail right down to the beautiful surprise bithday cake was lovely. the venue and grounds are gorgeous as is the food and our room was gorgeous. my only regret is that we didnt stay longer.thank you for the creation of such wonderful memories.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We appreciate your kind comments that encourage us to keep working on providing our guests with authentic natural experiences.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. Our suites are part of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.