We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel to your Saves list
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Perth
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great location and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A charming hotel set in lovely grounds, 2 mins walk from Machu Picchu station. The rail line actually passes through the hotel grounds and right past the cafe window! The rooms are actually little cottages dotted round a hill covered with jungle vegetation. Ours was poorly lit and difficult to find because of poor signage in the grounds. An evening snack ad breakfast were both very good, and the staff were helpful and friendly. This is a great option if staying overnight to get in 2 visits to the utterly magical MP.

Room Tip: Ask for a low number, nearer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and feedback that will allow us to improve our services and keep providing our guests with authentic natural experiences.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    275
    63
    34
    22
See reviews for
272
729
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First I have to tell you that this is the best hotel in Aguas Calientes (the town down from Machu Picchu) Location is great, although the town is very small. It is side by side to the train tracks but the noice is not a concern, If you are a little picky about noise get a room far from the tracks. The hotel is in the middle of a little jungle and is surrounded by plants, trees, birds and a little creek. It is just a few steps from the bust station that takes you up the mountain. Check in was very fast and personalized, all the people that work at the hotel are very nice and eager to help you as in all of Peru. Rooms are clean, big and have this flavor of being very far from all the big city ambience. You feel al ease, relaxed and disconnected from all! The bathroom is also very nice and have all the amenities that you would expect from a top of the line hotel. The food in the restaurant is very good and have a lot of Peruvian dishes. They have an Eco desk that gives different tours inside the hotel, I did not got the chance to take any of them but I did wanted to take the coffee one. I took my kids with me and they also love it! The rooms don't have a tv that is a nice change from everyday life. All around is a great hotel to stay if you visit Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: Get a High room as far away from the train tracks as possible if you are picky about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property; it is a pleasure to know that you keep great memories of your family experience at Inkaterra.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fortunately, we chose this hotel for one night in Aguas Calientes. It was a highlight of our trip. I will never forget the wonderful all inclusive food, our very nice and comfortable room, and the lovely property all within walking distance to town. If you are gong upscale, this is the place. The grounds are a wonderful oasis. If you are a birder (or not), you can join an escorted birdwatching adventure within the large nature reserve on the property. My only regret is that we had not spent 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments for our property and for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your visit to Peru.

We hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Its pretty hard to compete with a day hiking the inca Trail and ending up seeing Machu Picchu for the first time - but this astonishing hotel manages to ensure that a stunning day ended on a fantastic note.

Gorgeous landscaping; giant rooms which are extremely comfortable - and very good food. we all loved the breakfast quinoa pancakes - haver them with the grilled bananas. There are lots of excelent places too hang out (near the very cold pool- the top one is jacuzzi temperature); in the central area where you can hang out inside) and to go for walks.

they included a bird watching tour which I did at 6.30 a.m. we bearley got beyond the bird feeders whcih were smothered in brightly coloured tanagers - and managed to see a cock of the rock, the emblematic Peruvian bird. But I hadn't realised I could have organised a bespoke tour as an addition rto see quetzals. I think they did too much briefing when you just arrived and did not realy have time to take in -- a leaflet in the room might have helped.

But an unequivocal recommend.

Room Tip: if you are in what appears to be a more remote room you might find yourself with a group oif brid wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel has a total of 207 bird species; it is great you were able to join our bird watching excursion and see some of them and even the Cock of the Rocks!

We would also want to thank you for your feedback that will allow us to keep improving our services.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

To help you get the most out of your visit to Machu Picchu, hotel staff greet you as you get off the train in Aguas Calientes and collect yor luggage to be taken to the hotel. We had booked a Junior suite with a double bed on the recommendation of our travel advisor at Audley Travel, so that we could enjoy the log fire. The hotel had unfortunately booked us in to a room with twin beds which we didn't want, so when we got back to the hotel reception after our visit to the ruins we were delighted to be surprised by the staff that we had been upgraded to a suite with a double bed. We were shown to our suite at the far end of the hotel grounds, along winding paths and flights of steps.

Our delight at being upgraded was heightened when we opened the door to the Inkaterra Suite, it was huge. The bathroom was luxurious with a walk in shower, a separate room with a massive roll top bath, twin wash basins and more fluffy white towels than you could ever use. The comfortable king sized bed was covered with high quality bedding and took only a small portion of the room which included also had a large settee and a small table and chairs. But what made this suite so special was what we found outside in it's private gardens. The lovely double daybed was the first surprise, this was followed by the very private terrace with a table and chairs under an umbrella. But the best was still to come, a large hot tub built to look as it was formed naturally in the rocks, and beyond this a shower built in to the rock face.

It was so nice that we contemplated missing out on a return visit to Huayana Picchu in the morning.

The little touches that were apparent throughout the suite also helped to set it apart, from the high quality toiletries to the comfortable cotton robes. Truly a once in a lifetime experience.

As if the room wasn't enough, the food served in the restaurant was some of the best that we've ever eaten served in a very relaxing environment by pleasant, attentive staff. On your way down to breakfast make sure that you stop off at the pool area to watch the humming birds feeding.

Overall this was a magical experience, if you are going to spend a night at Aguas Calientes to visit the impressive Machu Picchu make the experience even more special by staying at the Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo. We were lucky enough to stay in a suite but the whole hotel exudes quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We are really glad that you keep great memories about your experience at Inkaterra and we appreciate your kind comments for our property. It would be a pleasure to welcome you in a next occasion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Only stayed one night in this oasis of calm hotel. The food was delicious, the service exemplary and the surroundings gorgeous. Would live to return next time I visit Peru. It is very close to the market in Aguascalientes and has easy access to the train station and buses to Macchu Picchu. A welcome pisco sour drink greets you when you arrive. Would have liked to have tried the many activities on offer. Next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your lovely comments and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

One of the loveliest hotels I have stayed in. If you like your luxury set in a lush natural hillside setting then this is the place. My room was beautifully furnished with private balcony, a lovely place to chill out and watch some of the spectacular birds that inhabit the extensive grounds. Set into the hillside with lovely views down the river towards the busy little town of Aguas Calientes this is an oasis of loveliness. The young resident naturalist gives very entertaining birding and orchid tours in the grounds of the hotel (the ones I went on, there are more), with a great sense of humour, enthusiasm and knowledge. For birdwatchers the blue-crowned motmot is one of the most beautiful that you may be lucky enough to see. The legendary Andean cock-of-the-rock resides here but sadly didn't see one although one was spotted the day before. The hummingbird feeding stations are not to be missed either if you are not used to seeing these delightful little beauties in action. After a strenuous hike around Machu Picchu it was heaven to reach this wonderful hotel. The restaurant is fabulous, with a good choice of wines. There is also a cosy bar, the bar tender makes a fine Pisco Sour! Nice gift shop too for those that like a little retail therapy. There is a lovely spa too but it was a toss-up between the spa or bird watching and afraid the birds won. I was not bothered by the whistles of the trains, it's not that often and they don't carry on late. If you're a train enthusiast you may even enjoy sitting on one of the lovely terraces overlooking the river watching them go by. As evident from photos on the hotel web site there are plenty of steps to and from the rooms which are set in small individual blocks around the lush grounds, which is what makes the natural setting so lovely. Staff were excellent, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel, how I would love to be back there now! 100% from me!

Francesca Wilkes, Abu Dhabi, UAE

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write this lovely review about our hotel.

Our property is a place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Inca civilization, feeling an authentic travel in an atmosphere of refinement, caring, and warm hospitality.

The property is an excellent place for birdwatchers with 207 species registered; we are delighted to know you saw some of them.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. Our suites are part of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.