We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel to your Saves list
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here overnight on our two day tour of Machu Piccu. Lush resort located off the beaten path gave us some peace and quiet. Right next to train tracks but very quiet. Rooms were just OK. small room, no tv, radio etc. but comfortable. check in was very easy and staff was cordial. we had dinner in hotel also, with very good food but we had to wait longer than expected for service. breakfast was enjoyable but we had a very early start so full breakfast was not prepared.

Room Tip: you may want to upgrade to a more luxurious room of cost is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    306
    73
    35
    25
See reviews for
296
788
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a wonderful hotel and staff. I dont think you could get much better. Ask them for lower cabins if you have a problem climbing the stairs. What a wonderful experience, took a group and did not have one complaint. Beautiful Hotel worth the money.

Room Tip: Lower level if you dont want to climb otherwise the best in Peru.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a great property in a park like setting. The rooms are lovely (although the walls are oddly bare), and I loved the wood burning fireplace. The grounds are magnificent, with lots of local flora. The restaurants and lounge and stylish and serve great food and drinks. Excellent option in Aguas Calientes.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my favorite hotel on our trip. The staff was very accommodating, the food was excellent and the rooms were comfortable. The lobby the have is an extra building were it is very comfortable to hang out and enjoy coffee, drink, and desserts. I would recommend this hotel to everyone going to Machu Picchu.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Amazing hotel. My favorite hotel of the trip. It is perfectly situated in the "cloud" forest, making you feel like you are still part of the environment. It is one of the most beautiful settings I've ever experienced. I didn't want to leave the hotel grounds. The staff is incredibly helpful and pays attention to all the details, including lighting candles, the fireplaces, and making sure your luggage is taken care of. The restaurant is also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Inkaterra Machu Picchu Resort is lovely, set in rain forest with its own organic coffee and tea plantation, plus numerous orchids, hummingbirds flying free and an organic vegetable garden. The main restaurant is different - you have to walk across the railway line to get to it. We had dinner in this restaurant one night and it was excellent. The resort is in walking distance of the railway station and that is quite handy. Walking to room is all uphill which is quite an effort after a day of climbing the tracks up to Macchu Picchu. Our room was fairly simple. The bed was very comfortable - an essential. The bathroom was clean. Breakfasts were good and the staff are very helpful and friendly. You can do complimentary tours of the orchids. The bird life is beautiful. We couldn't fault anything from the location to the amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Wow! What a surprise! Aguas Calientes seems to have just one thing going for it: the bus to Machu Picchu. And then you find this fabulous, luxury hotel right near the train station, and the town suddenly has two good things. The Inkaterra is beautiful, set in its own little jungle, perched above the raging river. The room -- complete with fireplace all set up to burn -- is spacious and modern. The rain forest shower is an attraction all by itself. We weren't very hungry at dinner time, so we went to the bar and ordered a few appetizers. They served us so much food we couldn't finish it. Not only would I stay here again, I would recommend it to any young couple looking for a far-out honeymoon spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. Our suites are part of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.