We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, lovely decor, warm staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelas's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Adelas's Hostel to your Saves list
Adelas's Hostel
Ave. Prolg. Imperio de los Incas., Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“great view, lovely decor, warm staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely river view room

there was great towel art on the bed complementing a brightly colored decor.

friendly staff was at station to welcome us, checkin girl was fluent in English.

packed a great breakfast the previous night as we took the 5.30am bus to MP

we came back early from MP, sat in their lounge and were able to trade in our train tickets for the earlier vistadome.

a great experience.... no complaints at all

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    102
    60
    14
    2
See reviews for
34
104
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was spotless with a great view. The breakfast was good and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. It is a 2 minute walk from the train station and the main vendor market. Great budget hostel if you are spending a night or two!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An economy - budget priced Hostel ($75 for 3 people in a room with 3 beds) Definitely a great experience! While the hotel / hostel is basic and simple it is also eloquent and very inviting with a décor of vivid bright desert colors! Our room with three beds was clean, spacious and contained plenty of warm blankets adjoining a nice tiled private bathroom with plenty of hot water! Large glass windows that open on the creek side and with our windows open we enjoyed a private nature concerto!
The two maids (a bit limited in English) were very helpful and accommodating and prepared a nice (included early breakfast) with plenty of tea and coffee, eggs and toast served in the small restaurant combo dining room area next to the front desk. Breakfast was a bit lengthy or drawn out with our group of six and several others and was probably the only less then perfect part of our one night stay. Enjoyed meeting Adela and her husband late at the desk before turning in for the night. (Nice Folks!!)
Location : Adela's is about 50 yards from the Bus station and 75 yards from the train station, with the train passing several times a day immediately in front of the Hostel. For a few minutes it is very loud and exciting!
Our luggage was also securely stored here after checking out for our day into Machu Picchu and our eve. return trip to Cusco . I will MOST definitely return directly to Adela's, should I ever return Aqua Calientes!!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room on the back side facing the creek, if at all possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Aguas Calientes is a town based 100% on tourism so the prices are highly inflated. Our room here was $55 USD a night which was a great find for the town.

This place was great. The beds were super comfy and we had a room facing the river which was very soothing to fall asleep to.

The hospitality was also great. We got back from Machu Picchu and it had been raining all day and we were given a room to change our clothes in after we had checked out. They also held our luggage all day while we were visiting Machu Picchu.

The only negative was that the showers were ice cold! My husband showered at 6 pm and it was cold and I showered the next morning at 6 am and it was hot for about 2 minutes and then back to freezing cold. Other than this it was a perfect stay and I would definitely recommend to those on a budget.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Not expecting a lot from hotels in Aguascalientes we were pretty satisfied with our stay and the hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful, the triple room surprisingly big and comfortable although not beautiful, but beds were better than in a lot of more expensive hotels on that trip. Very clean, breakfast and installations ok. Plus we had a room facing the river with a nice view for ugly Aguascalientes.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Basic but comfortable. Ask for a river view room and drift off to the sound of the river. It also blocks out the sound of the town. Building quality is not great round here so most hotels suffer a bit with noise and the train line runs right through the town so there's no escaping when that arrives.
The staff at Adelas make the difference though, really charming and helpful. They even do a pack lunch breakfast if you're getting up before the standard breakfast hours.
The whole town is overpriced but in comparison to other places this is a good budget simple but clean and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one on with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt Lake City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I spent one night at Adelas and found it be a good location and great value. As some of the other posts mentions, the track side of the hostel does lend itself to more train noise, but I did not mind. We were traveling with some friends who had a river side and they could hear the trains come through at night too. To be fair, I only recall two "trains" rolling through the tracks during the night, I think they were actually service type cars vs actual trains. The breakfast in the morning was good and their price for bottled water was not inflated. Great location to the bus stop for Machu Picchu and train station for returning to Cusco.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelas's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelas's Hostel

Address: Ave. Prolg. Imperio de los Incas., Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Adelas's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelas's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.