We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for Aguas Calientes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelas's Hostel

Save Saved
You added Adelas's Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adelas's Hostel
Ave. Prolg. Imperio de los Incas., Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“good for Aguas Calientes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a riverside room: a clean small room with a clean bathroom. There is a TV. Riverside rooms have quiet some noise from the river, but that did not stop us of having a good nights sleep. Due to the location of the village, most hotels are located next to one of the torrential rivers. Front rooms were located next to the rails (the train runs through the streets of A.C. at low speed), but trains don't run at night. The breakfast is good and big, and is served from 5h30 on. Staff was friendly, mainly speaking Spanish. If it would not be in A.C. I would call this low value because of the small rooms and the high price, but prices in A.C. are just higher then elsewhere.
The location of the hotel is good, close to the train station, bus station, and next to the river. But A.C. is so small that most hotels can claim this.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    81
    44
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
78
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I don't normally write reviews but feel compelled to this time after a great experience at this hotel. I just spent one night here in connection with a trip to MP. I found the room clean and spacious, and on the river side of the building which meant no noise from the trains. The owner and staff went out of their way to assist me during my stay - walking me down to the tourist office in the pouring rain to show me the way, and providing me with a packed lunch to take up to MP in ten minutes flat when I'd mentioned to them that I planned to leave for MP the next day too early for breakfast. You have to accept that for the price you are not going to get luxury, but I think Adelas represents value for money for a short stay, and personally I was made to feel at home by everyone I met who worked there which was welcome in what can appear at first glance to be quite a soulless tourist town.

Room Tip: Riverside is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Pros: The hostel is a short walk to the train station and the bus to Machu Picchu. My son loved the view of the river. Some people have said the noise is too much but we found it soothing.

Cons: The hostel had plumbing 'issues' the morning we were to go to MP--no shower, no toilet and no sink. We woke up at 5:30 am to this issue and it was not resolved by the time we left two hours later. Adela's runs a restaurant that sells bottled water, they could have offered us at least bottled water to wash our faces and brush our teeth. They did not. We tried to explain our frustration to the staff but they did not speak English. We attempted to reach out through our booking agency to complain and Adela's claimed that the ENTIRE town had the same experience as we had due to a landslide. We encountered numerous people this day and none of them had the same 'plumbing' issues that we had and all of them had stayed in Aguas Calientes.

There are tons of places to stay in Aguas Calientes in this price range, I recommend trying one them rather then risking the same issues we encountered. Nothing like making it all the way to Machu Picchu and having to go see it uncomfortable and dirty.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of water, ask for a river side room but make sure you close the windows when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Arrived early evening by train, hotel rep waiting. Short walk through market. Concerned at first by the closeness to the railroad track, but the sound of the river provided the right touch for distraction. Friendly welcome, easy check in, and escorted to 3rd floor room. Comfortable beds, clean/crisp linens, good shower. Nice common area with couch immediately outside room if more seating was preferred. Close to MP bus station - easy to buy tickets and to sleep til last minute and make it to the first buses of the morning. Breakfast was made to order eggs along with juices, tea, coffee and assorted breads. Safe, reliable family commitment. We were pleased. For a one night stay before hiking MP, this was a very good choice. Way better than other situations we saw in this limited option town. At $65 per night including breakfast - we would stay again if we had a do-over.

Room Tip: Riverside for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a good experience here. It seems like a real family owned and operated hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, and the shower had hot water. Make sure you close the windows when you arrive (they are generally kept open) or you will be sleeping in a cloud of mosquitoes. Breakfast is included and was a great way to start the Machu Picchu trek. They allowed us to leave our luggage while we were at Machu Picchu, which was greatly appreciated.

Also, the bottom floor of the hotel is a restaurant. Its prices beat anything I saw in the rest of town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Basic hotel but location is great as everybody going to Aguas Calientes is to visit Machu Picchu the next day (most probably). Request for a free pickup as walking through the crafts market upon arrival could be confusing but once you were shown the way, it is easy and convenient. It is only 1-2 minute walk to the bus station as one needs to take a bus up to Machu. Staff helpful though they do not speak much English but able to communicate. Breakfast basic yet sufficient. Room is clean but remember to close the window before dusk, otherwise, there could be quite some mosquitos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the creek if the noise of running water does not bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The staff was wonderful here. They actually packed breakfast for us to accommodate our early departure, so we could eat it on the road. They also provided us with boiling water from their kitchen so we could make tea etc. since one of us had a cold. They stored our 4 pieces of luggage promptly and safely when we rushed out the door at 5am to get in line for the Machu Picchu bus.

We had a river side room, which was clean, albeit we saw a few insects. The location is very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adelas's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelas's Hostel

Address: Ave. Prolg. Imperio de los Incas., Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Adelas's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelas's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.