We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, its fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu to your Saves list
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 808 Machupicchu Pueblo Urubamba, Aguas Calientes 00000, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“No complaints, its fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed one night after finishing my trek. I was probably in the hotel for a total of 8 hours. Wifi in the room as advertised didn't work but works reasonably in reception. Breakfast buffet was of decent quality. Room was a little dated but clean and I slept well (although I was exhausted and would have slept well anywhere). Located right at the top of the main strip and looks out onto a nice square and a short walk to most things easily (up and down the hills of aguas calientes). They did however come and collect my girlfriend from the train station in a wheelchair as she had hurt her knee....which was a nice touch. Bag storage also available at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    119
    75
    25
    15
See reviews for
62
166
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montalba, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel nearest the hot spring pools is a short hike up the hill from the road, but that helps keep it quiet and serene. Hotel staff will meet your train and transport baggage to the hotel. There are shops and restaurants beginning just across the courtyard and the river runs so near you can hear it through open windows. It is an easy walk from the train station, main market and the buses to Machu Picchu. Like the other Taypikala Hotels, the décor is a mix of modern and antique artwork that is stunning. The staff is friendly and very helpful and the food in the restaurant fresh and tasty. While there, don't miss the walk along the river to Mandor Falls.

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 201, etc. are corner rooms overlooking the river. All rooms are clean and convenient. Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

It's a bit of a hike to get to, but well worth it. Wonderful food and a great view. Most of the hotels in town have little to no view. This one does. It's also right next to the hot springs.
If you're planning a trip to Machu Picchu this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent a few nights at this hotel on a recent adventure to Machu Pichu. Very modern bathroom. Refrigerator in each room, great to be able to make ice. We had a corner room so had large windows on 2 sides. Great view of the mountains and a very nice little courtyard in front. It is located a few blocks up the hill but very worthwhile. Food was good and service was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It would be the very good service that we found to be the highlight of our stay at the hotel. Friendly and very accommodating staff that were always giving a little extra along the way which is just great. We had a standard double room which was roomy enough and with all the basics. The buffet breakfast begins at 05.00 hrs which is great if you plan to be on the first buses up to the ruins. The hotel is probably in need a facelift as certain parts are looking a little shabby, peeling paint, damp spots etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night during a trip with Gate 1. I honestly have mixed feelings about this hotel. The location was beautiful. You could see mountains all around, and it seemed to be in a secluded area. When we first walked into our room, we thought it looked great. The room was big, and there were two nice beds.

But walking into the bathroom was not as nice. It really needed some updating, and there seemed to be mold on the ceiling. I know that the hotel is in a humid area, but there seemed to be quite a bit of mold. That night it was actually really noisy. There were some bars near the hotel, and we could hear everything that was going on. It wouldn't really matter except we were told this hotel was supposed to be secluded and away from everything. The rooms also don't have a/c (not a problem for us), so we opened a window. After a while we noticed LOTS of bugs on the ceiling right above our bed. I can normally handle a few bugs, but this was way too many. My boyfriend had to used a rolled up magazine to smash them.

We had dinner at the hotel, and it was pretty good. The hotel wasn't horrible, I just had mixed feelings about it. I do think the rooms (and especially the bathrooms) need some updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely room away from noise. Wonderful food and awesome staff. I took a group here and we all loved the experience. I thought it was one of the nicer places we saw and still close to restaurants,shopping and bus to Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu

Address: Av. Pachacutec 808 Machupicchu Pueblo Urubamba, Aguas Calientes 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.