We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatun Inti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hatun Inti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hatun Inti Hotel
Av. Imperio de los Incas s/n, Centro, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Whitefish, Montana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were much larger and nicer than the JW Marriott in Cusco.
The big jacuzzi jet tub was a 10 after hiking all day. The staff was great and very accommodating to our family. We had to check out a day early due to our daughter not feeling well and scheduling changes. They staff was great about making the cancellation. All hotels are expensive in Aguas caliente but this one is worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    28
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A well appointed large room, with spa bath. Located on the river. The staff were pleasant and welcoming. However, rooms on the river side are not recommended during the rainy season. The roar of the river at that time exceeds 95db. Conversation in the room was impossible. The tv did not function so we were unable to experience the available sound. The breakfast was minimal, just coffee and muffin type.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I absolutely recommend this hotel.

PROS:
- Gigantic rooms
- Jacuzzi
- View on the almighty Vilcanota river
- Aforementioned river affords cozy white noise to sleep
- Brilliant service (these people washed our clothes and found a dentist for us!)
- Great location smack next to everything yet not in the way of the noise

CONS:
- None that I can think of

GO! By all means!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We ended up staying at Hatun Inti Hotel after a reservation mix up at another property. Our stay was such a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious with lots of character. The bathroom had both a jacuzzi tub and shower. In addition, we received excellent service and the location was ideally situated near the bus and train station. I highly recommend staying at this hotel in Aguas Calientes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

In Aguas Calientes (hot water or springs) but some refer to this as Machu Picchu City. We had the room on the 4th floor (rm412) it was overlooking the river Urubamba. It’s a beautiful view of the river with a tiny balcony about 2 feet wide, just enough to stand on it. The room was huge with more than enough room for two. The bathroom was also huge, with a large whirl pool tub and a huge walk in shower. Yes, you can put toilet paper in the toilet here. Whirl pool tub was great for sore leg muscles after 2 days of walking up and down Machu Picchu. They even provide Epson/mineral salt to put in the tub water very relaxing. The TV has a variety of cable channels many English speaking. They started serving breakfast at 5am till 9:30am. This is so you catch a bus up to Machu Picchu to watch the sunrise. Don’t miss this it’s beautiful. Breakfast is basic scrambled eggs, “hot dog” like sausage, lunch meats, breads, coffee, juice, fruits, and it’s included in the room rate. The hotel also own ToTo’s House restaurant and dinner (for2) was included in the room rate. ToTo’s is ½ a block away. The bus station up to Machu Picchu is across the street. I found the bus ride up to Machu Picchu scary with hair rising, guardrail less switch back turns. People start lining up a 5am to catch buses to the top but they don’t leave till 5:30 so by the time you get there it’s a long line but goes quick. Hatun Inti is on the main street a local train runs in front of the hotel and there are restaurants, hotel and massage parlors along this street. The train station back “towards” Cusco is a two minute walk through the straw market/bazaar. The town is small so everything is a 5-10 minute walk. On a side note the train to Machu Picchu from Ollantaybo is about 1.5 hour and a beautiful ride. You can’t take a suit case so you have to re-pack clothes and etc., in a small bag for a couple of nights. Leave the extra stuff at your hotel back in Cusco for your return the ride from Cusco to Ollantaybo where you take the train to Machu Picchu city is 2 hours. It’s a rough Car ride and at night on the return to Cusco we almost had 2 accidents with 2 cows in the road. There are no bathroom breaks on this car ride either. So, take the earlier train out of Machu Picchu back to Ollantaybo and then to Cusco. Lastly, I love this hotel and I found the sounds of flowing river at night conducive for sleeping. This hotel is ten minute walk away from the hot springs and about six minutes walk to the cathedral located in the center of a square. The city is medium/small sized enough to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I treated my husband with booking this hotel for his birthday before we ventured up to Machu Picchu. A hotel staff member was waiting for us at the train station and walked us the 200 metres to the hotel carrying our bag.

We were both delighted with the room and facilities it offered. We were given a room at the back of the hotel with a small balcony over the river and the view was fantastic. The room was spacious with a sitting area, large bathroom and good quality fittings. The bed was comfortable and you can hear the river below so if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs but we did not need them. The hotel and rooms do not look very old, maybe 12 months?

The large spa/jacuzzi and shower were heaven and the place exceptionally clean. The service was excellent with the duty manager helping us to find an English channel on the TV and they also made and lit the open fire in our room, very romantic with lots of candles supplied.

We booked a deal through Booking.com which gave us the Double Room, breakfast and dinner for US$290.00 for the one night we stayed. Dinner was 3 courses, with choices, at a large restaurant just a few doors down and the meals were good.

Breakfast is available very early in the morning for those wanting to get up to Machu Picchu early. There was a good choice of fresh fruit, breads, cheese, meat etc.

The hotel is situated within the main shopping area and just a short walk, 200 metres to the Machu Picchu bus. They stored our case for us and when we returned we had a little while to wait for our train and they offered us further hospitality by allowing us to wait in their dining area and to have complimentary tea or coffee, now that is what you call service which is not seen much these days.

With dinner included we thought this was good value and would definitely stay here again.

Thank you Hatun Inti for the fantastic hotel and service you provided us on 27 April 2013.

Pamela & Stephen
Australia

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony at the back of the hotel over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Herts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before visiting Machu Pichu. The hotel is a two minute walk away from the train station and is very clean and tidy. It looks to have been built very recently and the rooms are big. Ours, on the top floor, had a balcony with a view of the raging river (which is quite dramatic and at night sounds like noisy air con, so you may need earplugs if you sleep light!)
Breakfast was great and as we even had a double jacuzzi in our room there's not much I can say to fault this place! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hatun Inti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatun Inti Hotel

Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas s/n, Centro, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hatun Inti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatun Inti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.