We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to land - the best staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrazas del Inca B&B

Save Saved
You added Terrazas del Inca B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terrazas del Inca B&B
Calle Wiracocha M-18-4, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Berkeley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to land - the best staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at Las Terrazas and had a great time. Starting with being met at the train by Bruno, which made a long day of travel much easier, things continued in a very positive way. We did have a chance to sleep in two different rooms, and if you don't like the sound of a river (which I do) then ask for one off the river. It is a great location.
Solidad, Yeri and Bruno were all very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast at 4:30am? or 8am? Fruit, granola, eggs, bread and coffee - a great way to start the day! And sandwiches made to order if you are heading up to Machu Picchu or elsewhere (they can make recommendations).

Room Tip: Like the sound of a river in a valley? Choose the river side. Quieter rooms are on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    143
    65
    19
    22
See reviews for
73
163
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for one night only.

They did not have any hot water, and even after they "changed" the gas tanks, it was still cold.

The breakfast was very limited, and they charged us for the 2nd egg.

In the afternoon, when we bought a snack at the "La Cafeteria" they would not let us have, or even buy, any of the chips that they had on hand.

The staff was very nice but they seemed to be controlled by someone that was not around...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After much research, trying to find a place to stay in Aguas Calientes, my fiance and I decided on spending our 4 nights at Terrazas del Inca due to the reviews and the price.

We were met at the train station by a nice, friendly man, who walked us and another couple to the hotel. It seemed like a long walk, only because we didn't know where we were going, it was uphill and because we were tired.

When we arrived, the other couple sat in front of the reception desk and we sat on the couches. We figured that we would be taken care of after them. Then something strange happened, the receptionist (I think her name was Sherry or Cherry), came over to us with the paperwork and a map - attending to us prior to this couple. We were quickly walked up to our room on the top floor by Sherry/Cherry to a dark room in the back with a very small window.

I had previously been in email contact with Carlos Mendoza, the manager, specifically requesting a room with a view of the river, lots of windows and natural light - he had assured me that it would not be a problem. When I informed Sherry/Cherry of this, she told me that she had no other rooms and that perhaps I could move tomorrow. I insisted that this was not acceptable as I did not want to spend my time packing and moving rooms. She appeared frazzled and did not know how to respond.

I followed her downstairs to see how to resolve this. On our way down, she ran into a co-worker and explained the situation...he quickly showed us room #101, which at least had lots of windows, even though it was at street level - but I thought they had said they had no more rooms??? I had read a review about another guest who had stayed in a similar room, expressing concerns about their window being left open after being cleaned and their personal effects being exposed to somebody possibly climbing through the window.

We accepted the room because it was the lesser of 2 evils, even if it wasn't perfect.

It was small but very clean and well-maintained. Towels were meticulously formed into some fancy display on the bed nightly.

The next day, we met Bruno, who was great and fun...very affable and explained our situation and how strangely Sherry/Cherry had treated us...he explained that a guest had gotten back from Machu Picchu sick so he had to stay an extra night, causing the "oversold" situation...he said that the other couple who we had checked in with ended up getting "walked"...I don't know...I found the story to be a bit suspect since checkout is at 9 or 10am...anyway, he said he would check into switching rooms.

I must have reminded him 2-3 times and even thought that he might have relayed the story to Carlos so that Carlos could address it with us...didn't happen.

We stayed in our room, though we came close to leaving early due to the intolerable mold smell in our room - it was ridiculously offensive - we deduced that it had to be in the bedding because the walls were cement, the drapes didn't smell, so where else? The toilet had a leak that would only make itself know sometime between midnight and 6am - we informed the hotel but to no avail.

Aguas Calientes is such a shanty town so what else can you expect without having to shell out the same price at some fancy place for barely one night for what you spend for 4 nights here.

Overall, the staff is helpful and friendly...Sherry/Cherry was definitely "the" boss of the front desk area - I came to realize that she knew her stuff, after I got over my disdain for her...she made us dinner reservations at the Tree House, 2 nights in a row and cheerfully stored our luggage on departure day. Bruno thoughtfully handed us umbrellas to use when it was raining...the hotel is basic but very very clean...the mold smell was just overwhelmingly awful, causing a restless sleep...the dampness is also overwhelming...wi-fi in the room and lobby was quite slow...the breakfast is okay, nothing to write home about but what do you expect for free? I recommend solely due to the value and Bruno!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Terrazas del Inca for three nights. Aguas Calientes accommodation can be very expensive so we searched for a hotel in this price range and found this. It's not the Hilton but what you get is excellent value for money. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is good. What made our stay here very enjoyable were the staff. They are very friendly and helpful, and took great care of us.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A 5 star hotel it is not, but it is basic and clean, and in a great location. The staff, especially Solita (I hope I have your name right) and Bruno absolutely made our stay! Everyone bent over backwards to get ice for us, take our bags to and from the train station, help us find good restaurants, give us umbrellas so we wouldn't get wet, etc. It is so wonderful to see hotel employees enjoying their jobs and smiling all day, and that definitely helped us have a wonderful experience. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcastleAus
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to visiting Macchu Picchu. The location was fine and the free wifi was excellent. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The included breakfast was tiny but it was free so we can't complain too much. There was no heating and the room was very cold. If I went back I'd probably try somewhere else but it was fine for one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Aguas Calientes is an ugly tourist trap that should be avoided to the extent possible. In this context, this hotel is a really nice oasis where rooms are really nice and service is charming and attentive. The rooms are clean and elegant. Service went to pick us up at the train station and brought our suitcases up to the hotel.
However, we were dissapointed with the recommendations that we got from the staff at the hotel. We were recommended a restaurant for back packers where we were supposed to get a free drink if we referred to the hotel, and this was a disaster, because the restaurant was nothing special and they denied this deal after having accepted it initially when we sat down at the table. Also, the hotel staff recommended a guide (Ronald) who did not come himself and sent another guide that gave us a dissapointing tour full of historical biases.
In summary, a mixed opinion because the place was very nice but the recommendations that we got for restaurants and tour guide turned to be dissapointing.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms that are close to the main lobby, since you will be bothered by the noise. Better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terrazas del Inca B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrazas del Inca B&B

Address: Calle Wiracocha M-18-4, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inca Civilization developed the most important culture in South America. Terrazas Del Inca B&B Hostel is located in this area . We are centrally located in the town of Machu Picchu also known as Aguas Calientes. Machu Pichu, the archeological Inca site, is a 25 minute bus drive from Aguas Calientes.The views from the terraces are fantastic and from their rooms can enjoy serene, melodic sound of the river Aquas Calientes.Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast is located 2 blocks from the bus station that takes you to the ruins of Machu Picchu. The bus ride is 25 minutes zig-zag journey to the mountaintop.You will want to have as much time as possible to enjoy the ruins. We recommend that you take the train from Ollantaytambo to Aguas Calientes. It is a 2 hour train ride. You´ll spend a comfortable night at our Hostel, wake up early, eat a wonderful complete breakfast, and head up to the ruins by bus while it´s still early. You can catch the sunrise over this beautiful lost city of the Incas (depending on the season) and enjoy the day at this magnificent place. We are happy to assist you with any questions you may have at our front desk. Call for reservations in advance. Our guests are important and we treat you with utmost care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, T4B and Despegar.com so you can book your Terrazas del Inca B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrazas Del Inca Hotel Aguas Calientes
Terrazas Del Inca Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrazas del Inca B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.