We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terrazas del Inca B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Terrazas del Inca B&B to your Saves list
Terrazas del Inca B&B
Calle Wiracocha M-18-4, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 (USD)
Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Unfortunately, in Aguas Calientes, your choice is either expensive luxury or cheap roughing it. Terraz del Inca is the latter, and you do indeed get what you pay for in the low price--a barebones, but passable accommodation. Look for no frills as you are only provided a towel and a bar of soap. The entire room was damp (and items left in the room became damp), thus plenty of mildew. While there was thankfully hot water in the shower, it was full of mildew and there was no soap holder. The room was not very clean, but you can survive a night there. The TV only has three local Spanish channels, but the free wireless worked fine. I liked the white noise the river provided, it help me attempt to sleep in the uncomfortable, hard bed with very thin pillow. The inn will also let you leave luggage for free and use their common area when you come back from Machu Picchu. While the visit definitely wasn't comfortable, you don't go to Aguas Calientes to enjoy a hotel, thus it served its purpose for the one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    173
    70
    19
    24
See reviews for
89
193
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had heard pretty terrible things about the state of budget/mid-range accommodation in Aguas Calientes so we were more than completely surprised when Terrazas del Inca exceeded our expectations on every front. See my detailed review below:

Location: Very good; 5 minutes walk from train station, bus station and hot springs.
Public Areas: Average, nice, but not beautiful
Staff: Soledad met us with a sign at the train station, brought us to the hotel and explained everything we needed to know which was also on a printed sheet of paper. Well-dialed system, organized, professional. Only thing is that the guide she offered to Machu Picchu (60USD) seemed expensive. When there was only a matrimonial queen sized bed (I was travelling with my father), they immediately brought in another bed from another room and made it up. Very good service.
Room: #206 very nice, quiet (except river sound which we liked), view of river and pedestrian street, clean, nice down duvets and pillows, hot water shower with great pressure and great shower head for as long as you like (until midnight). Only downside, really need a place to hang towels in the bathroom and they could use a new shower curtain.
Noise: quiet (except river)
Breakfast: Perfect - fruit salad with puffed grains and yogurt, scrambled eggs, fresh squeezed orange juice, jam and bread, tea/coffee all before 5am when you want to catch the bus to be first in line at Machu Picchu!
Value: Excellent; perhaps best during our journey through Peru. Thank you Soledad for the most incredible service we experienced while in Peru!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrazasdelinca, Gerente at Terrazas del Inca B&B, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
We always have that attitude, to improve every day, thanks for your visit and what actually happens in Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast.
There are a positive atmosphere between us and you visitors to Machu Picchu, for our part we are happy to serve them and have fun, sincerely Carlos Mendoza (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We sadly only spent a night at Terazzas, but had a great time. Although the attraction is obviously the ruins, the town is brilliant for some RnR. The hot springs are just up the road and it is almost traffic free.
Thank you to Soledad who helped us all the way. We had a brilliant room (301 I think) looking out onto the river (tributary of the Urubamba). It is noisy - the rainy season in February - but the mist through the mountains and the sound of the water made you feel the mountain town atmosphere.
There was no problem with the hot water, the room was minimally furnished but spotless and breakfast delicious. We also has a great lunch there as whatever the staff we having smelled so good we decided to have some as well. Soledad met us at the station and a five minute walk you are there. It is away from the main street with all the bars and cafes, so a relief after a hard days exploring.
Also paid a small fee to keep the room until 4pm for our train back to Cusco - worth the extra outlay.

Room Tip: Get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in late February, 2012. First of all, about the water. Sometimes the hotel would shut off the water. Not sure why, really. But whenever we got to our room and the water was shut off, we told them about it and they quickly fixed the problem. And sometimes the sink in the bathroom of my in-laws' room would leak a little water (not a major leak.) I guess they couldn't really fix the leak, so they gave my in-laws an extra towel to mop up any water on the floor. (We were on the top floor by the way. My in-laws had the "triple" room there.)
The hotel lobby & commons are open to the air - which is nice probably when it's not the rainy season. In the rainy season (when I went) it made for a cold hotel sometimes. The lobby could really use a nice chimnea or fireplace to keep people warm during the cold days. Or, offer lobby blankets to folks waiting around in the lobby. There was free tea (all kinds of tea) anytime you wanted it though, so that can help you stay warm.
Other than those remarks, I have nothing but great things to say about this place.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the staff met us at the train station and assisted us in getting our luggage to the hotel. Anytime there was a problem or a need (which was not often) we told them about it and within minutes they had someone help out or fix problem.
They did our laundry for us (quite a lot of it) at a very reasonable price. They have a kitchen there and cooks that can fix you a meal whenever you need it.
Breakfast was good and even included (one) egg cooked anyway you want it. (Sounds bad that you just get only 1 egg, but in some hotels/hostels you don't get any eggs, so we were happy!)
They arranged a private guide for us for Machu Picchu. He was really good and we enjoyed our visit to MP, I just wish the hotel had clarified before-hand just WHO we pay (we were confused as to whether we paid the hotel for this or paid the guide. Apparently, you pay the hotel.) Be sure to ask/clarify if they arrange a tour for you.
The rooms were clean and bright, but you can also darken the light for sleeping if you want. The river nearby is kind of loud, but I don't know of a single place in Aguas Calientes that you can't get away from either the river or the train noise. No complaints from us. Use earplugs if it keeps you up.
All in all- for the price and location and service we received - this place was worth it and I would recommend any friend to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Terrazas del Inca in March 2012 and did not enjoy my stay. We had 3 occasions where the water did not work (which is really incovienent after a full day of hiking). On two of these occasions, I asked the front desk about the water issue and was told we would have water in 3 hours! The second occasion I asked, I seemed upset and the manager told me she would turn the water on in 2 minutes (after telling me it was going to be 3 hours). If a paying client wants to shower, there should not be a "3 hour" reponse if the water can immediately be turned on. I would pay more so I would not have to beg for a shower.

Cons:
- Bathroom didn't have toliet paper
- Bathroom smelled like sewage
- Our toilet didn't flush most of the time.
- The bedding did not fit the bed and we ended up sleeping partially on an exposed mattress (ekk!)
- Our windows to the outside didnt fully shut, so we had to buy a heater from the front desk in order to keep our room warm.(10 soles a night... but still had to pay to be warm).
- Uncomfortable beds


Pros:
- The sound of the river was nice
- Hot shower water (when it was working)

Please do yourself a favor and pay a little more to be comfortable. We were not upset because it was so cheap and we were on a Machu Picchu high... but I would never stay at this hotel again and would strongly suggest other accomodations. Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

What a relief to end up at this place after spending four days on the trail. It’s about a 10-minute walk from the bus stop and five minutes from the train station, off a relatively quiet section of Av. Hermanos Ayar. Chez Maggy, the pizzeria chain, is right around the corner. The staff is friendly and the rates ($33 for a matrimonial room) are very reasonable. Breakfast was unexpectedly substantial, with coffee, coca tea, bread and fruit parfaits. We bought two passable sandwiches from the cafeteria for the road. Our towels were folded into swans on our beds. There are only three channels on the television, but we were asleep for so much of our stay that we barely noticed. Lots of hooks on which to hang wet clothes. The hot water was a bit spotty – after one of us showered, the water turned lukewarm. There was a slight scent of urine in the bathroom (perhaps because of the town’s poorly managed sewage system?)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

We check around town and Terrazas Del Inca is a good value for the 38USD a night we paid, our room was clean as whistle,on the top floor & had a plush comforter on a queen size bed, t.v and a 4:30 breakfest to eat for my girlfriend & I when we got up to catch the first bus up the mountain. I'd say its a pretty cool family owned spot with great service.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrazas del Inca B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrazas del Inca B&B

Address: Calle Wiracocha M-18-4, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inca Civilization developed the most important culture in South America. Terrazas Del Inca B&B Hostel is located in this area . We are centrally located in the town of Machu Picchu also known as Aguas Calientes. Machu Pichu, the archeological Inca site, is a 25 minute bus drive from Aguas Calientes.The views from the terraces are fantastic and from their rooms can enjoy serene, melodic sound of the river Aquas Calientes.Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast is located 2 blocks from the bus station that takes you to the ruins of Machu Picchu. The bus ride is 25 minutes zig-zag journey to the mountaintop.You will want to have as much time as possible to enjoy the ruins. We recommend that you take the train from Ollantaytambo to Aguas Calientes. It is a 2 hour train ride. You´ll spend a comfortable night at our Hostel, wake up early, eat a wonderful complete breakfast, and head up to the ruins by bus while it´s still early. You can catch the sunrise over this beautiful lost city of the Incas (depending on the season) and enjoy the day at this magnificent place. We are happy to assist you with any questions you may have at our front desk. Call for reservations in advance. Our guests are important and we treat you with utmost care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and HostelWorld so you can book your Terrazas del Inca B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrazas Del Inca Hotel Aguas Calientes
Terrazas Del Inca Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrazas del Inca B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.