We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu to your Saves list
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Tupac Inca Yupanqui 103, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bed room for 1 night during our visit to Machu Pichu - the hostel staff came and picked us up from the train station. They were quite friendly and gave us all the info needed for our trip the next day.
Good WIFI connection - again a big deal in Peru.
Overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    49
    55
    25
    23
See reviews for
12
58
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

- Location: 10 min walk from the train station. 5-10 min walk to the bus to Machu Picchu. Aguas Calientes is really small, so you can say it's in the city centre
- Staff: communicative English
- Cleanliness: fine. Nice rooms,
- Breakfast: Cereals, juice, scrambled eggs - you can take as much as you like. And they start serving it before the dawn so if you want to see the sunrise at Machu Picchu you won't leave hungry. Breakfast is served on the 4th or 5th floor.
- Comfort: Wifi was weak in the room, so we mostly used the computer in the common room. Hot water in the shower. No elevator.
- Value for money: ok

Room Tip: No elevator. On the other hand - common room with breakfast and computer is on the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was absolutely horrible. We got in late and had to leave early in the morning for Machu Pichu, so we had to tolerate the room. The room was damp, musty and smelled like urine. To say the least, we weren't able to get a good nights sleep. I would definetly NOT recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Aguas Calientes is very damp and cold between June and September. If possible, spend some extra money on more comfortable accommodation.

Pirwa Hostel had no seals on the doors or windows, making every room cold and draughty, including the common areas.

The staff were very loud and their every word echoed throughout the floors.

There was no hot water in the shower, and the bathroom window opened up into the common room.

The walls were moldy and the paint peeling. The rooms and bedding smelled musty. The lighting was so dim, it was hard to tell how clean the room was.

I didn't bother to go down for breakfast, so I cannot comment on this part of the experience.

However, once one got over the dampness of the sheets, the beds were comfortable. This was the only thing that was good.

I have stayed in many a-hostel in my time, but this place made me reconsider why I even want to continue hostelling in future.

As I mentioned in the first paragraph, if you can, spend a little extra and stay in a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in this hostel only 1 night .The hostel it was quiet and the bed comfortable. They start to serve breakfast at 04:00 AM because a lot tourists want to visit the site of Machu Picchu very early in the morning. I eat at 05:00 and the food was good ( Juan Carlos prepared the breakfast ).I am not remember the names easily but in this case it stick to my mind because he also give me a lots of tips regarding my return to Lima. He seems to know very well Lima .
The next time when I will come to Peru I will reserve only in Pirwa's Hostel because you can benefit of one free night when you will return to Lima to thake your plane to fly back home.

Room Tip: You can leave for free your things during you visit the SIte and when you return they let you to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very average hostels, but it doesn't matter if your just sleeping here for a couple hours like we were. The staff is helpful and there are large storage lockers to keep your stuff while you visit machu pichu. If you're spending a longer time in Aguas Calientes you should check out SuperTramp. This hostel is located right by downtown near the restaurants and right by a convience store.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good hostel with excellent location. Near restaurants and the bus stop to machu pichu. The room is a little bit small and there is no enough lockers. The staff is simpatic and help a lot with information.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Address: Tupac Inca Yupanqui 103, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.