We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient quiet location with helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Machu Picchu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Machu Picchu to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Hermanos Ayar 401, Aguas Calientes, Peru (Formerly Hatuchay Hotel - Machu Picchu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Convenient quiet location with helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 3 nights here and were met by Arson at the train station who carried our bags to the hotel. The reception staff of Geraldo and Maria were so very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them as were all the staff. The room overlooking the river was quiet, modern, clean and the bed and bedding one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The breakfast is very good at all the Tierra Viva hotels. We liked Aguas Calientas as we thought it was a lovely small town and we're glad we spent longer than most people do. Arson again helped us with our bags to the station . We thoroughly recommend this chain of hotels and are staying in all of them during our trip to Peru.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river on the road was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
59
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for a night but wish we had more time. We were received at the train station by two of the staff who had a list of guests for that day. They loaded our baggage and took us to the hotel which is a short walk from the station. The rooms are spacious . The staff was courteous and helpful. We washed some clothes and they let us use their dryer to dry them. Normally the breakfast is served at 6 am but we wanted to catch the first bus to Machu Picchu in the morning so started 15 minutes earlier.

Room Tip: Do not take front rooms as there is too much noise from the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Aguas Calientes was the cleanest city we had yet visited in Peru.
There was a bellman with a sign at the train station; he carts your luggage to the hotel.
We had a beautiful room over looking the river. I had a massage in the room (on the bed) for $30 to try and relax my back before the big hike next day. I don't know if it was the 'magic' of the Inka stones or both but I felt great after Huayna Picchu, just really tired since we did the Citadel first.

Room Tip: Over look the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were met at the train station and helped with our bags. I agree that it is a confusing walk to the hotel if it is your first time even though it is very close by. We loved the sound of the roaring river and recommend a room on the river side. We did not mind the look of the street although it wasn't raining. The room was clean, with good wifi and they provide a very good breakfast. We liked being a few blocks away from the hubbub, it was quieter but still convenient to walk to any of the restaurants. Our second day we left our bags up front as we were leaving in the late afternoon on the train. They brought our bags to the station and met us there at a scheduled time. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had read some previous reviews suggesting many hotels in the town didn't seem to care to much about customer satisfaction, as they looked at each guest as a Machu Picchu "once in lifetime" only visitor/ transaction. Not true here at Tierra Viva. The staff was great and very warm. The rooms seemed probably recently updated, very roomy and comfortable. I have a funny story and perhaps it is only due to the spiritual impact of being very close to Machu Picchu: I was in room 201. My son was in room 401. I was in the bathroom in my room when I heard voices in my head of where my son was talking to me. How could that be as he is 2 floors directly above me (remember there is a room in between). Well I wasn't hearing thinks and he was talking to me, as he said he could hear me. A little bizare. Probably a function of the design of the place, but frankly not a significant deal point as to avoid this hotel. I also strongly recommend walking to the wonderful hot springs in town, the evening after visiting Machu Picchu. Not just the springs are nice (and a great social gathering), but you will walk up charming little streets with lovely restaurants lining the sides. You will hear the sounds of trains no matter where you are in town. The hotel is right across from the river with some major powerful rapids. You don't want to fall in there.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the river side, and not the back (that is where the trains are).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm giving this 4 instead of 5 stars just because the street in front of the hotel was muddy and unpaved, looking very shabby and giving us a bad first impression.

The person they sent to meet us at the train station did not bring a cart, so he was dragging our bags through the aforementioned mud, and caused our bags to get some dirt on them.

Furthermore, they did not give us the room we asked for, giving us two beds instead of the King Bed we had paid in advance for. We didn´t complain at the time because we were tired from the cab and train rides and had to wake up at 5 am the next day.

Breakfast was more than sufficient for giving us fuel and energy for our Huayna Picchu hike.

The staff held our bags the next day while we went to MP (after checkout) before we returned to meet our train, which is a very good service indeed. This time, they used a cart to carry our bags to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

So, I'm giving this 4 instead of 5 stars just because the actual physical hotel was a little run down. It is great for AC, however. Our room was constantly sort of musty I think from moisture in the water from the roaring river and there were some condition issues in the bathroom.
That said, the staff are amazing and friendly. Someone was at the train station to pick us up when our train arrived and help us walk to the hotel.
We had requested an upper floor room with view of the river and were given a room on the 3rd floor. Too bad you have to stand over at the windows to see out (from the bed, etc you don't see out the windows). Some people may not like the roar of the river but we loved it!!! It was amazing to stand on the little balcony and take it in. We were visited regularly by tiny hummingbirds who were feeding on plants next door.
The hotel is a little apart from the hubub of AC - which was a huge plus for us. Breakfast was delicious each morning and it was lovely to sit in the window and see the mountains and river while eating.
The staff held our bags the next day while we went to MP (after checkout) before we returned to meet our train.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Machu Picchu

Address: Avenida Hermanos Ayar 401, Aguas Calientes, Peru (Formerly Hatuchay Hotel - Machu Picchu)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu hotel strategic location ensures our clients the best experience possible of the amazing Inca citadel. Our facilities are located in the quietest area of Aguas Calientes, facing the Urubamba River and surrounded by the Forest of Clouds. We have exclusively at your disposal, a bus stop from where our clients can directly take the bus to Machu Picchu or get to the archeological site after a 60 minute walk. Modern style, our Hotel has 43 spacious and comfortable rooms, a lounge with a fireplace, a breakfast room and a bar to relax and enjoy some drinks after a day of adventures. Our hotel has a panoramic lift that has been decorated with Andean inspired graffiti by the Peruvian artist Carolina Malaga. Near the entrance of the hotel is the dining room, where every morning a delicious Andean buffet is served, and the Reception Desk were you can comfortably do your check-in. Staying true to the peacefulness and tranquility of Machu Picchu our Hotel offers you a place to relax and rest. Therefore, our rooms are spacious and well illuminated; they all have air conditioning and a bathtub. In our Andean inspired decorated rooms you will be able to appreciate the famous "Quipus" from the artist Maricruz Arribas. Exhibited in our Gift Shop, you will find beautiful local craftwork made by the Andean communities that work for the Centre of Traditional Textile Art of Cusco, which is a prestigious organization with many years in the business. At Tierra Viva Cusco Machu Picchu Hotel you will enjoy the greatest cultural attraction in Peru with the comfort you are looking for and relax surrounded by the exuberant nature of the magical Forest of Clouds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tierra Viva Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatuchay Tower Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hatuchay Hotel Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Machu Picchu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.