We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Machu Picchu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Machu Picchu to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Puente Ruinas Mz 4, Aguas Calientes, Peru (Formerly Hatuchay Hotel - Machu Picchu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Lima Region, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff were well trained. Location of the hotel is beautiful, our view to the Urubamba were spectacular. Rooms were very comfortable with a hint of Peruvian style decoration, really pretty. Beds were great. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of local fruits and fresh made juice. The highlight of our stay that Manager Eduardo Beladini, who managed really well a small issue with our paper work. He was a real professional and we were very pleased with our stay in Aguas.

Room Tip: If you love the sound of water, and spectacular forest view, this is a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This year we decided to stay at Tierra Viva’s new hotel in Aguas Calientes ( only a 15 minute bus ride to Machu Picchu). Since we had great experience at Tierra Viva in Lima and in Cuzco, we knew we would not be disappointed. Like their other hotels, their newest hotel is immaculate, beautiful, and has so much character. The location was perfect and the hotel staff was so friendly and knew everything about the town and where to go. It’s great to stay Aguas Calientes when you are going to Machu Picchu, but it’s also a great town to visit and wonder around. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Tierra Viva hotels have made our trip to Peru and Machu Picchu an absolute joy. The hotel is clean, comfortable and safe. The service is amazing and the location is great for traveling to Machu Picchu. Coming from America, Tierra Viva hotels have helped me in getting acquainted with the area and provided great recommendations for my travels and site seeing. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and trendy. The free breakfast is delicious and is perfect before a long day of hiking at Machu Picchu. I will come stay at Tierra VIva every time I visit Peru.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night before our day at Machu Picchu. We took overnight backpacks on the train from Ollantaytambo and really didn't want to lug them all over the mountain, so we emailed the hotel ahead of time to see if we could leave our luggage with them for the day and received a prompt email back from them saying that it was no problem. We arranged for someone to pick us up at the train station and set off for Aguas Calientes.

A nice man met us at the train station and took us and our bags to the hotel (5 minute walk) and we stopped to buy our bus tickets on the way. The check in was easy and the staff was super nice. The room was pleasant, clean and quiet.

As we were checking out the next day at 5am and checking our bags with them, one of the receptionists said that she was the one who emailed us and apologized for her English. We told her that her English was very good, which it was! They even offered to bring our luggage straight to the train station so we wouldn't have to pick it up at the hotel again, which was a huge help.

Everyone there was so nice and accommodating, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the station at Aguas Acaliente to be met by a member of staff, who carried our bags and guided us to the hotel which was just 5 minutes walk away. The staff were very friendly and attentive. It is a new hotel and our room had a lovely view over the river. It was immaculately clean. Breakfast had an assortment of fruit, hot and cold dishes. After checking out, they kept our bags and brought them to the station so we could spend the day in Aguas Caliente unencumbered. Very friendly hotel. Ideal stopover for Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Machu Picchu, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Elvanim,

Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay at Tierra Viva Machu Picchu.

Comments like yours are very motivating and encourage us to continue our mission to help our guests to enjoy the destination they visit.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Excellent service in time of crisis! The staff spoke very good English and were extremely helpful in recommending great restaurants for dinner.
Bathroom was a bit tired but good location and view to the mountains. Breakfast was a good start to the day.
Luggage collected at train station allowing us to go straight up to Machu Picchu.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Machu Picchu, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear JohnHutcheson,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Machu Picchu.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Machu Picchu, Cusco, Arequipa, Lima or Puno!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Machu Picchu

Address: Carretera Puente Ruinas Mz 4, Aguas Calientes, Peru (Formerly Hatuchay Hotel - Machu Picchu)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu hotel strategic location ensures our clients the best experience possible of the amazing Inca citadel. Our facilities are located in the quietest area of Aguas Calientes, facing the Urubamba River and surrounded by the Forest of Clouds. We have exclusively at your disposal, a bus stop from where our clients can directly take the bus to Machu Picchu or get to the archeological site after a 60 minute walk. Modern style, our Hotel has 43 spacious and comfortable rooms, a lounge with a fireplace, a breakfast room and a bar to relax and enjoy some drinks after a day of adventures. Our hotel has a panoramic lift that has been decorated with Andean inspired graffiti by the Peruvian artist Carolina Malaga. Near the entrance of the hotel is the dining room, where every morning a delicious Andean buffet is served, and the Reception Desk were you can comfortably do your check-in. Staying true to the peacefulness and tranquility of Machu Picchu our Hotel offers you a place to relax and rest. Therefore, our rooms are spacious and well illuminated; they all have air conditioning and a bathtub. In our Andean inspired decorated rooms you will be able to appreciate the famous "Quipus" from the artist Maricruz Arribas. Exhibited in our Gift Shop, you will find beautiful local craftwork made by the Andean communities that work for the Centre of Traditional Textile Art of Cusco, which is a prestigious organization with many years in the business. At Tierra Viva Cusco Machu Picchu Hotel you will enjoy the greatest cultural attraction in Peru with the comfort you are looking for and relax surrounded by the exuberant nature of the magical Forest of Clouds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tierra Viva Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatuchay Tower Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hatuchay Hotel Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Machu Picchu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.