We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santuario Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Santuario Hotel to your Saves list
Santuario Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hermanos Ayar s/n. | Wiracocha, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent for a one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

The hotels in Aguas Calientes are not that great unless you are willing to shell out obscene amount of dough for the few 5 star hotels that exist in the area. For us, Santuario Hotel was a good enough option for one night stay. The room was comfortable, but was not the cleanest room. You have to fiddle around with the water temperature constantly when taking a shower. We were only here for the night so we could catch of the early buses to Machu Picchu (before the hordes of tourists arrive) - for that reason alone, staying here for the one night was definitely worth it. Did not try their breakfast.. so I cannot comment on that. The 9am checkout time is ridiculous but it did not affect us as we checked out around 5:30am before heading up to Machu Picchu for the day. The hotel had no problems holding our luggage while we were away. When we returned, we grabbed our luggage and took the train back to Poroy (Cusco).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    50
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
27
60
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed here for one night and these are the comments:
1) Check out time is 9 am, which I felt is way too early! Considering we checked in around 4pm, after negotiation they extended to 10am.
2) Water temp is hard to control, my kid ended up with cool showers. Really bad.
3) Location is at far end of town (even though it is a small town).

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit,michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Well, I wasn't expecting much having read the reviews of hotels in AC and not wanting to spend over $400 a night for the time we would be there, from our arrival at 6:00 p.m. and departure at 4:00 a.m. We were placed on the third floor in the back directly overlooking tin roofs of maybe a warehouse, even though the person who booked for us had confirmed a front room. The bathroom was clean and water pressure fine, at least when we were there. The room as basic as you can get. Looks like maybe an old Days Inn from the '70's. It is down a somewhat steep hill from the main center in AC. So you are going up and down the hill every time you want to go to a store, restaurant or train. Huatachy Tower near this hotel and looked so much better.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, IA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We reserved a room 6 months in advance requesting a room with a river view. We said we didn't care if the room had 2 singles or a double bed; the view was more important to us. This request was again made by our agent the day before our arrival. Our agent also requested that we would be met at the train station. We were not met, and we were given an interior room with a window into the hall. They were unwilling to move us.
The room was clean furnished with very basic furnishings.

It was very loud in the morning. People began slamming doors and talking loudly in the hall starting at 5:00am. There is nothing in the halls to absorb sound.

The breakfast was a typical "American" breakfast found in Peru. It was better than some.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Santuario Hotel as part of an Overseas Adventure Travel OAT trip to Machu Picchu. The hotel restaurant/bar did not have a single piece of food, not even peanuts, for its well stocked bar. No elevator. The single beds were reasonable. Breakfast was okay, at least there was cereal and bread. One night was enough here. Obviously its location is its draw, not its basic creature comforts.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Ratings are relative to what is available, and there isn't a lot available in Agua Calientes. This place is nicely situated across the street from the Urubamba River, offering nice views. The rooms are clean and the utilites work. The staff is friendly and helpful and you can store your luggage free (a small tip is I'm sure appreciated), which is necessary since check out time is 9 a.m. (not unusual in this part of the world). Another reviewer commented about breakfast being too late to catch the first bus...breakfast starts at 5 a.m. and we had no problem eating breakfast and still catching a bus in time to meet the quota to cllimb Wayna Picchu, the peak that provides the dramatic backstop to the ruins at Machu Picchu. Of course, we were there in the shoulder season. We caught the 5:40 bus and easily made the quota. My complaint is that there is no milk for the cereal at breakfast; yogurt is offered, a truly disgusting thing to put on cereal at 5 am.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

We had a lovely stay at this property in June of 2008. After much research and questioning of folks who had visited the area we decided that staying in AC was the best plan for us. The Santuario was our choice and we have no regrets. I spent most of an afternoon wandering around this empoverished town looking at the other hotels and feel we chose well when comparing locations.

Located on the edge of town (actually on the road to MP) there is a bit of a climb to get into the commercial restaurant, shopping, etc. district, but it's certainly not insurmountable. It was at most a 15 minute walk downhill from the new train station. Maybe a 10 minute walk (also downhill) from the MP bus station. Both judged at a strolling pace!

The room was perfectly nice and very clean. Two twin beds meant we didn't have to fight over covers for two nights. Loved having a balcony overlooking the river as a place to hang out. Wasn't so crazy about third floor and no elevator. The breakfast was also adequate, but not anything to write home about. I enjoyed the fresh eggs cooked to order, but found their coffee to be a different story. So we just helped ourselves to the coca tea and moved along.

The porters were most helpful meeting us at the train station and carrying our luggage to the hotel and all the way up to the 3rd floor. On departure they were equally helpful in getting us back up to the train and making sure we were at the correct station as well.

Opinions are like "you-knows" - everybody has one. I've already suggested this property to several friends along the way. It's AC gang. Where all freight moves by human muscle power. Where people live in houses with plastic roofs and missing outer walls. There are no 5 Star hotels in these parts, yet. If you want to spend a lot of money and be right at the gates of MP for the sunrise, then fork it out and stay up there. But if you want to spend some time in a lovely town filled with optomistic people and sleep in a relatively nice place, this is one to visit.

  • Liked — Comfort level with the property.
  • Disliked — Uphill to all other locations.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santuario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santuario Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar s/n. | Wiracocha, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santuario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santuario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santuario Hotel Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santuario Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.