We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santuario Hotel Machupiccu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santuario Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Santuario Hotel to your Saves list
Santuario Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hermanos Ayar s/n. | Wiracocha, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Santuario Hotel Machupiccu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This Hotell was near the end of the village and therefor easy to catch the bus up to Machupiccu.. It had wiFi but only one of the computers in the lobby worked at a time. The rooms were fine and clean. The continental breakfast was wonderful and included your choice of eggs. There was no elevator, so if you were on the top floor it meant lots of stairs(preparing you for MP. Good storage.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    50
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
27
60
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

No, this isn't a luxury hotel, but they do their best to make you comfortable. First, they put us in a room in back, but when we asked happily changed us to a room with a balcony at no extra charge. I loved being able to sit on the balcony and look at the river. To me, the noise of the river is part of the experience and charm of Aguas Caliente. I liked the location very much. Easy to walk up the road to the entrance to Machu Picchu. You don't need much room for luggage if you've come for a short visit to Machu Picchu; we left the rest in Cusco. Towels folded as swans on the bed were a nice touch.

The bartender was a trip, we really enjoyed chatting with him while he prepared 2 spectacular (but expensive) drinks. It's two for one happy hour, so it was fine.

The town is small so no problem walking anywhere from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We came during the slower season in January 2013, and had a great experience here. It was very clean and quiet (except for the roaring white water outside). We had an easy check in and check out, our room was very clean and comfortable. The shower was extremely intermittent, super cold, then super hot. Our room faced the street, so at first I was worried we wouldn't be able to sleep with the sound of the roaring river. But if you shut the door, it just sounds like white noise so I slept fantastic. I was also exhausted. I thought they had a great breakfast in the morning, and the lobby was nice and well appointed. If you're looking for luxury in Aguas Calientes, this isn't a luxury hotel, but if you want a nice place comfortable and convenient place to stay, this place works just fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here after the 4 day Inca trail with the family (2 children 11 and 8)- was assigned a 4th floor room-no elevators so had to tough it out climbing up.

The room was comfortable and quiet, the river Urubamba flowing outside the hotel in its full fury was serene and comforting. However the shower was poor and we were looking forward to it after 4days w/out shower in the trail. Toilet backed up and the receptionist backing up as a maintenance person came with a basic plunger to fix the issue- did not fix it!

We did have a good night rest, so have mixed feeling abt this hotel given we paid over $170 for the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel was very nice. Was not located in the centre of the town, but very close to walk there. The room we had was nice, with a little balcony where you can see the the river and the mountain you have to climb up to Machu Pichu. So you can mentally prepair yourself. The staff was nice and for a place full of tourists it was perfect not to be too central. But be sure you get up early, because all the busses up to Machu Pichu pass the hotel and you hear them. Still - we would recommend the hotel and go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Aguas Calientes is the dumping off spot for the train to Machu Picchu and the jumping off spot for folks who are visiting Machu Picchu, as such all of the rooms in this town (I imagine) are going to be "well used."

The folks at Santuario are nice, that is the best thing about the hotel. They offer a decent breakfast and they offer it early so you can get out and get to Machu Picchu first thing. The Santuario is close to the train station, all the restaurants and, most importantly, the bus station (for the bus up to Machu Picchu). They drop your luggage off for you at the train station when you depart-- that's a nice benefit. Its a small town though, so I imagine that all of the hotels can boast the same good qualities.

What makes this place average-- a roach on the bed, a very small room (just enough space to walk around your bed and squeeze into the bathroom), rooms with one small window and absolutely no view of the awesome river out front, and only one computer for guests to use.

Still, if you are only there for a night and aren't too persnickety of a traveler, this place will work just fine. It would be nice to get a room with a view...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It is, overall, a nice hotel.Best thing is that the river is next to it, and to sleep with that sound is priceless!
Breakfast is good, too, and starts at 5 a.m.
Service... Good. Works just fine. Not as nice as in Cusco, but good enough, so no complaints there.
It is not in the town, and getting from the hotel to the train station, uphill, is a pain (and noone offers to take your bags). Also, no elevator, and getting up 3 flights of stairs with luggage is not easy. But these are minor issues, as long as you are aware of them. If we return, we would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river -view. Makes all the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santuario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santuario Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar s/n. | Wiracocha, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santuario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santuario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santuario Hotel Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santuario Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.