We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inti Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Inti Inn
Aguas Calientes 211170, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our experience in this hotel actually was not that bad. The only complaint is about pick-up. Although our travel agent had arranged a pick-up from the train station, after arrival no one was waiting for us. As it was midday and I had the hotel address, we managed to find it on our own. Upon arrival we had to wait some 20 minutes for our room to be cleaned. The room itself was very nice, bathroom had all the toiletries needed, as well as 2 complimentary bottles of water. The breakfast was not the best ve've had, but was OK. When going to Maccu Picchu, left our backpacks in the storage. Overall the hotel is really good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    12
    12
    15
See reviews for
11
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed there only for one night while going to matchu pitcchu.
The hotel is really clean and the staff is helpful.
The room is really big and has a Mini-bar the bed is really comfortable.
Aguas caliente is really small but this hotel is not good for older people because is about 4 block up on the hill.

Bacal

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel has big rooms, but the value proposal is not nice!. Lobby is a mess and hotel´s personnel, even though they try to be kind, is not well trained. The place is barely clean and should be cheaper!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My travel agent booked this hotel for me. It is noticeably a newer hotel, and I don't expect much from a small town like this. However, the people who worked there really do not have any ideas at all! First of all, I was supposed to be picked up by the staff at the train station. I saw no one when I got out of the train late at night. Luckily, some other spanish speaking tourists were able to help me to locate my hotel. I got there and I was led to the room on third floor. OK. The room is clean, but the curtains are not big enough to cover the windows, so people can look inside if they want to. Then, there was no toiletry in the bathroom, except soap. So, I had to spent 2 soles to buy some shampoo to wash my hair. I was silly enough to bring my laptop, thinking that I will be spending most of my time online, reading about Machu Picchu. Guess what? The internet server was broken and they don't know when it would be fixed. Then, there is no safety storage for expensive items like this. So, I was very concerned. I didn't plan to bring my laptop to visit MP, so, I need to leave it with them. But, by then, I am not sure if I could trust them.

I asked for a morning call at 3:00 am so I can get in line for the Wayna Picchu hike. There was no morning call. Luckily, I set my alarm on my iPhone. The hotel manager was basically sleeping behind the counter.

Last but not least, this place is very noisy due to the construction materials. Everything is echo'ed through the atrium. Luckily, the front desk turned off all the TVs by 11:00 am for those who needs to wake up early.

All in all, for $55, I can definitely find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This hotel is by no means terrible but I think because it was booked through a tour company and the town of Aguas Calientes is so charming that my expectations were higher. The room is bare bones with a small tv and mini refrigerator. The bathrooms are nicer than the rooms and I never had a problem getting hot water. The decor is very dated and there is no storage space or closet which wasn't a big deal since I was in Aquas Calientes with minimal personals for just one night. My room had a window that faced the atrium but the drapes didn’t offer 100% privacy. My room was situated on the side that was nearest to the river which wasn't a problem yet for the noisy bird that must belong to the local residents next door I didn't get much sleep. This is likely a family run hotel. When I went down for breakfast there were two young children asleep on the lobby sofas. The breakfast buffet leaves a lot to be desired. I think juice, bananas, bread and bologna style meat and cheese is all that is offered. The staff didn't speak English but seemed pleasant. I would only recommend this hotel for trail hikers as it is decent for a quick rest stop and hot shower.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montevideo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

After a very long day of exercise, hours of walking, climbing, stepping, we only wanted to take a bath, we had reserved a room with jacuzzi, and it was worth it!. We only went with backpacks and didn't bring the migration papers with us. The hotel decided to charge us for this U$S 10. After we laid down we needed some water and food! we couldn't find the minibar, there was no bottled water either. We went to the diner and they told us that they only had breakfast service, nothing else. So We had to go out in order to satisfy our needs.
This is a brand new hotel, the bed and bathroom are in perfect conditions. there was a flat TV also. but that was it. Nothing else. There was no safety box in the room, so we decided to ask the lady at the front desk, there is no safety box at all at the hotel!
The bathroom has shampoo, soap and body cream. there was no hair drier as I had to ask for one at the front desk.
the river is veryyy noisy and the hotel is located very near from it, for me it was beautiful, for my husband a little bit hard to get some sleep.
On the last day we wanted to make late check out, as we saw very few people at the hotel, we thought there would be no problem. Again they wanted to charge us for this, and we paid another U$S 10. When we wanted to pay with a 20 dollar bill they couldnt give us change, they ended up giving us half in soles and half in dollar bills I think it is not the money but the service the issue. They didn't do anything to satisfy the client.
Anyway I would recommend this hotel to people that knows these facts and know what to expect from it. hope this review helps! good luck!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

This is a brand new hotel in fact they are still working on the third floor. The construction is typical for the area....concrete, and sound from both the outside and inside is magnified making for a very noisy stay. After the first night we asked to be moved up a floor because of the noise......it only helped slightly. We came back from Machu Picchu that afternoon and they said they had to show us something in our room. We entered the room and it was a mess and then they said we had torn the bedspread and must pay for it. We absolutely did not leave it like that and figure that the staff had to have torn the spread and then they thought they could blame it on us and get us to pay up for it. I'm a 60 year old woman.....I don't behave like that! They finally confessed that they were "poor and it would come out of their pocket" so I guess they figured it was alright to blame someone else. When we came down the next morning the clerk was asleep in a sleeping bag behind the counter and breakfast was a bleak banana, juice, coffee, stale rolls, and some kind of pressed meat. Aguas Calientes is a pit but you can do better than this place!

  • Liked — rooms were large and adequately clean
  • Disliked — Don't trust the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Inti Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inti Inn

Address: Aguas Calientes 211170, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
Also Known As:
Royal Inti Hotel Aguas Calientes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Inti Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Inti Inn to your Saves list