We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in Aguas Calienties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel

Save Saved
You added Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel
Calle Q'ori Wakanki No 209 | Alameda del Artesano N° 219, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
UK
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Good value for money in Aguas Calienties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I can but echo what others have said - this hotel is right by the train station. But there again Aguas Calientes is just a tourist town strung out along the railway track. It is up to you to decide if the noise is a problem

For us the warmth and helpfulness of the staff, plus the quality of the bedroom were the high point. We only stayed one night - the cost of the day ticket to Machu Picchu is so prohibitively high that most tourists are only in the town one night. You get up early, get up to MC at dawn, spend several hours there, then back down to AC and the train back to Cusco.

So if you want somewhere central, with nice staff and a comfortable room, offering by local standards value for money (and are not put off by the train issue) then you have to stay here.

I would recommend the hotel and if I ever returned would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    30
    17
    15
See reviews for
18
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Friendy staff, good continental breakfast, average rooms, good location. A decent stay for one night in Aguas Calientes. A bit hard to sleep, as it was New Year's Eve and the town's children were running wild with deafening firecrackers, but that's hardly the fault of the hotel. The morning view from one of our windows was spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We were on our honeymoon and my husband was not happy with the hotel so we went looking around and we were EXTREMELY lucky and HAPPY to find this hotel. We told them we were on our honeymoon and when we returned to the room they had flowers and a bottle a wine - we had been in Peru in various place Lima, Arequipe, Cusco - they all knew we were in our honeymoon we received good customer service but this place went out of there way. Plus it was a day after we had been hiking all day so it was a nice coming back to a clean room, helpful staff, and a wine to relax after a hard day. The manager was great in suggesting restaurants and just being hospitable.

As far as noise - yes a little bit as you are next to the train station but the reality if you are going to Machu Picchu - most people wake up early to get to enough the views and the hikes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

This place is located right on the train station. Trains in Lima have a habit if showing up at 4AM and keep their diesel engines running which are not really very quiet. The rooms are noisy - you can also hear noise of casual chatters in the hallway. Staff is very cordial though and try their best to help.
There is a rooster next door who likes to wake everyone up at 4AM and then every half hour. This guy shouts so loud that one day will burst his throat!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The hotel is located on the other side of the train station to Cuzco. You will need to walk past the market to get to the hotel. The staff at the hotel is very nice and accomodating. It is centrally located (even for such a small town) as you are close to the train station, south of the sauna baths and north of the bus station to go up Machu Picchu. From the outside, the hotel does not look very nice, but once you get to your room you will like this place. It has free internet (two computers) so you can communicate with your relatives to notify them of your arrival, etc. The breakfast, as in most hotel in Cusco, is very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Hotel was nice enough. No complaints about the room, bedding or bathroom. Location is directly across from train station so not exactly quiet!! Between bells ringing with each train departure (which starts at 5 am) and conversations on the street below, I did not get a very good rest. I would pass on this hotel as there are many others to choose from in the town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is a pretty typical place to stay in Aguas Calientes. The town is very small and the closest to Machu Picchu, so the hostels are a bit overpriced. The rooms are nice and the hostel is quiet. The location is good, although every hostel is in a good location in this small town!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel

Address: Calle Q'ori Wakanki No 209 | Alameda del Artesano N° 219, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.