We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine after a long day trekking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Varayoc

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Varayoc
Save
You added Hostal Varayoc to your Saves list
Imperio de los Incas s/n, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just fine after a long day trekking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

finished trekking Salkantay Trail. Spent night before Machu Picchu. Clean, comfortable, minimum but fine. They had breakfast ready at 445am before our hike to MP. Held our bags until we got back before train that night. had road side room, but town closes up by 9pm. Would use again, no worries

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    53
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
42
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The bathroom clearly hadn't been cleaned since the previous occupant departed. The beds and sheets appeared clean, but the room was otherwise a little dirty. The noise level from the nearby plaza concerned us at first, but the it grew quieter in time to go to sleep.

The complimentary breakfast was served on-time when we came down a little after 4:00 a.m. It consisted of bread, jam and some pretty good coffee. The early breakfast was important to us because we planned to hike up to Machu Picchu instead of taking the bus. This worked out quite well, and the hostel was conveniently located just off the road you have to take to get to the trail. They stored our bags safely and for free until we returned after lunchtime.

Wireless Internet was not available, but there is a large cyber cafe on the first floor.

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms with a view of the plaza. The plaza is noisy until about 9:00 p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hostel is on a main street in Aguas Calientes. The restaurant across the street has potential to be noisy, but we still slept fine. The room was basic but clean. The beds were comfortable, and the showers were hot. Breakfast was fine, your typical Peruvian hostel/hotel breakfast of toast, tea, rolls, etc. They serve breakfast starting very early in the morning, in case you want to catch the first bus to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Hostal Varayoc is located in the centre of town on the railway line and backs on to the main square. We stayed here for one night in May 2011, after reading Trip Advisor reviews of this and the hotel that was being offered by our trek company. We decided that Hostal Varayoc seemed like the better and safer option.

Cost was $40 US for the night. Room was very spartan. One double bed and 2 single beds. Separate bathroom. Everything was just basic and clean and the shower had adequate hot water. No lifts in the hotel, but a set of steep steps to navigate.

When we were staying there, our room overlooked the main square. On this day there was a very long mother's day celebration with really loud band music. This had already started in the afternoon and went way into the night. Everyone in the square looked like they were having a lot of fun and people were dancing together. At one stage we went down to join the throng. The music did keep us awake, but we were on holidays and had managed to finish our trek from Km 104 to Machu Picchu so we just decided to be happy and live with the noise, especially as everyone seemed to be so good natured and enjoying themselves.

Breakfast the next morning was pretty poor - I can't remember what it consisted of but I did bother to write that comment in my diary so don't expect anything much.

It was difficult to find any hotels that had great reviews in Aguas Calientes that were not going to cost the earth. Hostal Varayoc is okay for the price as it is just a place to lay the head for the night. It is in a good location for catching the bus or train or walking to the local restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Double room with shower $us 30.
Right in train line so a bit noisy as peru rail like to start at 4:30 but if you are getting up to get a number for the waynu picchu climb then it's perfect :-)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

I booked this hostal by e-mail based on its #1 rating here - which is why I feel the need to react.

The good news: friendliness and reception are indeed very good.

However at $30 for a single room (no discount negotiable by mail although it was end of the high season and the hostal turned out to be empty except for me!) there are better options even in Aguas Calientes.
Although this place is apparently new it already looks rundown: you now the feeling where at first glance it looks filthy although on closer look it is rather clean but just rundown? And the blood stains on the walls don't help.
Don't be fooled by the TV as an extra argument for the price either: it gives you all the little antenna attached to your TV can give you... which is one Peruvian channel in blurred black&white

  • Disliked — Value for money
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed at Hostal Varayoc for one night in June. I found it on some obscure website after all the more expensive places were booked. The owner, Lourdes was very quick to answer my emails and booked us a triple room with no problem. We arrived at the train station and were greeted by her young (maybe 12-13 yr old) son...he was really something as he helped us navigate the crowds, AND made sure we stopped at the ticket booth to purchase our MP tickets as soon as possible. He had that routine down well. Then he carried a very heavy bag upstairs 3 flights to our room. Impressive. Anyway, the Varayoc is clean and basic, not luxurious, but has everything you need for a short stay. There was a nice view of the town from our room. Lourdes was extremely kind and helpful. We were able to store our bags there safely all day while at MP before we went back to Cusco.

You can't beat the price, about $35 USD for 3 people and a continental breakfast! There's also an internet cafe there too.

  • Liked — location and cost
  • Disliked — right on the main square so a little noisy at night
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Varayoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Varayoc

Address: Imperio de los Incas s/n, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome. Inn Varayoc is a young company, located in the Machupicchu heart Town. Destined to offer good service and warm attention; so that thus your estadia is placentera and of total affability. Our rooms are comfortable and count on a beautiful panoramic Vista towards the seat of arms, and to mountains where Ciudadela hides beautiful Inca. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Varayoc Hotel Aguas Calientes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Varayoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.