We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Good hotel to stay in near to the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elion House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elion House Hotel to your Saves list
Elion House Hotel
Plot 7/8 Agbeke Rotinwa Street | Dolphin Extension, Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Lagos
South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel to stay in near to the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located from the city centre in a quiet neighbourhood. The rooms are well-furnished and provides all the things that a business traveller would need. The amenities like swimming pool and gym are basic though and can be improved. The staff was polite and helpful. The food was average though and needs a lot of improvement.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the near-end facing the front side of the reception. The noise from the generator a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stay at Elion House during the month of November 2012. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, Internet Wi-Fi in all rooms and fast connections. Food excellent and seems that the hotel keeps very high level of Hygiene.

Nice swimming pool and well equipped fitness center. Staff well trained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was my first trip to Nigeria to teach a class, and if there was one thing that greatly contributed to making it an enjoyable first experience in this country, it was this hotel. The only thing keeping it from earning an excellent rating is the very frequent power outages. The room was excellent, the service was great (though the rather abrupt style of communication of the Nigerians can be somewhat disconcerting), the 24 hour (!) room service was prompt and so was the laundry, and the food a bit pricey but excellent quality and quite a few choices from around the world. The bar is quiet. I spent all four days teaching in a meeting room at the hotel (a very large suite converted to a meeting room for the ocassion) and the conference services were also very good. The internet works but the codes provided to login expire in a completely unpredictable fashion, The place is completely secure with multiple layers of surveillance.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are easier to get to. Just make sure you ask the front desk to instruct t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Elion house is a calm place to spend the night. It is really far removed form the hustle and bustle of Lagos though these places are all accessible.
Very polite staff, The toiletries need be upgraded though.
Meal is ok, But i wouldnt say fantastic.
Elion House is more to me like a good Bed and Breakfast hotel than a standard 4star hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I'm at the Elion House as I type this review. I'm here for another week and I'm staying on the second floor in the seperate block.

Overall, this is a very pleasant hotel. It'd certainly be granted 3-stars if it were a UK hotel. I find it difficult to accept that the hotel presents itself as 5-star.

Meal choices in the restaurant are limited, and I haven't established any kind of variation. It's pretty much stew, rice and soup. You can get other dishes from room service if 1) you're prepared to wait for at least 30 mins and 2) you like your dinner to be lukewarm.

Bedrooms and business facilities are great. I feel very safe here. Staff are very attentive. Impressed that they referred to me by name from the day I arrived.

The adventurer in me could resist the temptation to go and explore. I discovered that my existence in the hotel's compound was cossetted and didn't represent the Nigerian experience.

I'm scheduled to come back in the New Year, and I'm perfectly happy to be staying here again. (My client's footing the bill, so value for money doesn't really feature on my radar!)

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have very small windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

It's impossible to find or say anything negative about this hotel. I arrived 5 days ago and will be here another couple of days - wish I could stay longer.
The staff from the GM, and all his staff are the most professional I have encountered on my travels troughout Africa and the world. Nothing was hard to arrange, the service was excellent nowhere i have felt more at home.
It was nice to see that the high customer service in this hotel has been maintained and that the staff members are as friendly and helpful as ever; from doorman to reception to security and restaurant staff: always a friendly word, a smile and attentive service.

You're greeted at check-in by professional and courteous staff who can't do enough to make check-in as pain free as possible. They ensure that your check-in is fast, welcoming and even offers a complimentary refreshing juice.
Rooms are large enough, modern and clean, beds are so comfortable, good size flat screen, floor was well equipped with excellent wifi, and checked every day by the executive housekeeper who is always smiling to ensure that everything was in order.

Breakfast buffet is impressive I must say. There is a good spread of all you could possibly eat for breakfast, no matter what diet you're on. Again, the staff here made sure you were served on time, courteous and polite. I actually looked forward to breakfast during my stay!

I had the best massage ever, the therapist Inkeche is so professional and removes you all the stress of the day.

If you are here for business, the business lounge is very handy for printing documents,scanning and someone is always there to help getting the documents printed quickly and correctly.

This hotel is an easy place to feel comfortable in, a so secure place and a great place to talk business and a very relaxing place to close out the day in.

I would recommend this hotel to any person visiting Lagos, please go and see how a professional hotel is managed and enjoy your stay.
Well done Elion House!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The biggest concern for me travelling to Lagos was security and I felt secure in this hotel.

The room was nice: very large and had everything I needed. The shower was a little unpredictable - cold one day, scolding another and one day it didn't work at all.

The food was varied in quality - the breakfast was quite poor but the food in the bar was pretty good.

There were some issues with paying in advance of my stay but everything got ironed out when I arrived and they were apologetic about the issues.

I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying and working in Lagos.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elion House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elion House Hotel

Address: Plot 7/8 Agbeke Rotinwa Street | Dolphin Extension, Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Elion House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elion House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.