We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Return visit. Pleased with choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   292B Ajose Adeogun Street | Victoria Island, Lagos 23401, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 73 hotels in Lagos
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Return visit. Pleased with choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the hotel. This time I had a standard room on the top floor. Because the rooms are large this was perfectly adequate. The internet and TV has been upgraded since my visit earlier in the year. The intern er t is now very good and stable. TV is very big with good channels. Both are immune to the frequent power cuts. The food is very good. The chef is Lebonese but the food is local buffer and Italian style bistro. Good quality. The menue could do with changing as it has been the same on all ky visits. The staff are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bat Yam, Israel
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice big rooms with huge TV that has CNN , pretty fast and stable internet, big bath ,hot water (not a given in nigeria) , walking distance to a couple of places to get food.
Breakfast is not bad ,though they tried to charge me for it even though it was prepaid,so watch out.
Gym is badly maintained and rudimentary but better than nothing :)

Overall the best value for money among the 5 hotels i've been in in Lagos

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor,because they have conventions on floor 1 so can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Highly recommended for extremely welcoming staff, great restaurant and nice informal meeting area around the pool terrace. Attractive rates compared to other hotels on 'the Island'. This hotel may look rather small from the outside, but actually boasts extremely nice rooms (real value for money) as well as vast conference facilities that can easily host thousands of guests!

Room Tip: Try the English breakfast in the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel on Victoria Island. Staff are great, food is good, breakfast slightly limited but the evening menu in both the bar and restaurant are excellent. Rooms are spacious and the wifi set up in The rooms is excellent, a local network allows you to connect multiple devices and only pay the one charge,where as a lot of the hotels I stay at in Africa charge per device. Bathroom was a little jaded however biggest draw back, as mentioned in a number or reviews, was the lack of hot water. Tepid yes, hot no.

Overall I would rather stay here than lets say Eko Suites so would recommend it if you are looking for good value for money

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had very long stay in Lagos on my business trip and I've opted this hotel at VI twice. I always remember the happy time when I was here. Very friendly staff, very talented chef, very delightful waiters and very much in budget compared to other hotels. I thank the manager for gifting me a bottle of red wine. Good experience for me!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for about 10 days recently while on a business trip to Lagos. Overall the stay was good--rooms were clean, good wi-fi, staff were great, and the location was perfect. The restaurant was average though. My only 2 issues were as follows: first, to print a document, I had to email the document to the hotel for them to print, no option to use a flash drive, which I chose not to do; and second, the hot water is at times non-existant...I've stayed at the Sheraton Four Points during my previous 3 visits, and, considering everything, I would stay at the VCP again. I recommend this place for business travelers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at a number of the best hotels in Lagos. While the VVictoria Crown Plaza may not be five star it is now my favorite. it is old style and not big. Rooms are a good size. They need decoration but are fine. Internet is fast. The restaurant is very good. It is Italian style with a Labanese chef. The staff are friendly and helpful. I look forward to my next trip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel

Address: 292B Ajose Adeogun Street | Victoria Island, Lagos 23401, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has 39 luxurious appointed classic standard rooms, 4 twin classic rooms, 3 Junior Suites, 3 Deluxe Suites, 3 Executive Suites and our Penthouse Floor. 2 Two-Bed Room Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Crown Plaza Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.