We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Art Theatre

National Art Theatre
iganmu, Apapa Road, Lagos, Nigeria
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 12 Attractions in Lagos
Attraction Details
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is one of the landmarks in Lagos State, a very prominent structure in the heart of the city. Well maintained but is neglected by people. also has cultural museum near by.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“National Theatre built like a General's Hat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The National Theatre is one of Africa's greatest Landmarks rumored to be built like a General Ibrahim Babaginda's Hat. It is supposed to host plays, musical shows and cultural events, unfortunately, it is a relic, it has been neglected and the MUSON Centre now play's the roles the National Theatre ought to play. To me, it is more like an artifact, and I hope it isrejuvinated.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Neglected Masterpiece”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of Africa's best cultural and entertainment masterpieces. The space and the idea behind the construction is amazing. But equally amazing is the level of neglect this edifice has been subjected to. Stinking corruption and mindless selfishness of those under whose care the facility is left is confounding. It just takes one purposeful leader with integrity to restore the glory of Africa that is the National Arts Theatre.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbabane, Swaziland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Master piece nice place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a place for entertainment. It is well design to accommodate different forms of entertainment. Many school groups, cultural troops, dance groups etc come here for entertainment and presentation for international visitors ensure you have a guide and stick to your tour schedule and group so that you do not get missing.
Many years ago(1978) as a student of Queens college Yaba Lagos, we came for a musical concert here and I lost my group. It took three concerned vigilant older men to redirect me to my group. Thanks to my school uniform too

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Art Theatre also viewed

 

Been to National Art Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Art Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.