We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Welcoming Reception but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Lagos Ikeja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Lagos Ikeja to your Saves list
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Toyin Street | Ikeja, Lagos 0000 , Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Saver
Ranked #42 of 115 Hotels in Lagos
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
6
7
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Ibis Lagos Ikeja is a fantastic budget option in an overly expensive city (Around USD$185/night OR $155 if you book online at the IBIS website). Rooms are very clean and well served with the very basic needs anyone would require in a hotel... A comfy bed, clean sheets, clean toilet, Hot/Cold water in the shower, a tiny TV and a fridge.

If you're looking for a 4-5 star experience then this is not for you. Like an Ibis anywhere in the world, its targeted at the budget traveller.

The downsides of the hotel however are

(1) The food prices - A burger is sold for N2600 ($15) which is already a high price in a budget establishment - I called room service one evening and was told i'll be required to pay an additional N1000 ($6) as room service charge... If I wanted to pay these prices, I would have stayed at the Intercontinental.

(2) Tiny rooms - I stayed in a standard room which is probably 20 sq metres and works perfectly for a single traveller, If you're travelling as a couple or with children, I'll advise that you get a bigger room.

(3) The hotel intentionally doesn't come with an Iron & a pressing board so that you are forced to use the in house laundry ---Unless, they review the prices for the services provided, thats a rip -off!

Besides these, Its an ok hotel compared to other budget establishments in Lagos.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solange B, General Manager at Ibis Lagos Ikeja, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Sir,

First, thank you for your positive appreciation of our hotel.

We have taken good note your downsides comments and we will try as much as possible to adjust in the future to serve our guests better.

Meanwhile, I would like to say it is unfortunate that you were not properly advise as, although we do not have ironing board and iron available in all the rooms, we do provide them on request for free. This shows where we need to improve in term of communication to our guest and we are thankfull you have highlighted it.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

For Nigerian standards, it is inexpensive.

I made my reservation over the phone and check in later the same day was smooth. Deposit paid, and my key card was handed over to me without any questions being asked.

Rooms are small but not too small. There s just enough space for one or two persons. Room and bathroom were clean, except for the small water leakage from the room above.

Beds are comfortable but f more than one person sleeps on them, they will bend n the middle and make it uncomfortable for sleep;

Central TV system needs an upgrade

Buffet breakfast was very good. On the photos, swimming pool looks big, but in reality it is very small, and is exposed to the outside, instead of being at the back side of the hotel.

In short, if you need a nice hotel to stay at, at the affordable rate, and at the good location, this s the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the back side, if you want it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solange B, General Manager at Ibis Lagos Ikeja, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear M. SASA,

We are happy to hear that you had a lovely time in our hotel.

Regarding our room size, is in line with Ibis hotel brand around the world.
We also take note of your comments regarding central TV which need to be upgraded.

We thank you for your positive feedback which will serve as an encouragement for us to continue to give our guest a very good service.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I am currently at ibis hotel ikeja and I am truly disappointed. First, we did not get the pool view that was pre booked and confirmed yesterday as a matter of fact we have a gate view.

We booked a single room but were charged for a double room. The receptionist said its cos we are 2 occupants. .. can u imagine?The receptionists were so rude.

Called for dinner, restaurant said theres a buffet on so we either do the buffet or starve as they can't serve room service during a buffet. Now that's the height.

Called for laundry, they said laundry service is unavailable till further notice.

Called for a manager, there's none on site.

I will never ever return here even if it were free or recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solange B, General Manager at Ibis Lagos Ikeja, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear M. Obiki,
We thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel.

We apologise for the fact that all your stated experience, after due investigation, were found to be total misunderstanding of the services offered in our hotel and this has served as a lesson for us to improve on our communication with our guests.

Firstly, your request for a pool view room would have been honoured if that fact was brought to the attention of the front office attendant who checked you in or you could have requested for a room move after you checked in, if the room given to you did not meet your expectation. We constantly strive to accommodate all reasonable requests of our guests and I am certain that it would not have been an issue in your particular circumstance as we have ample pool view rooms available when you were checked into our hotel.

Secondly, all our rooms are standard double rooms that attract the same rate but we only charge for single or double occupancy depending on the number of occupants in the room in order to cater for the breakfast charges that are included in our room rates. In your particular case, when this was explained to you opted that you would not be taking breakfast and you were therefore charged a single occupancy rate despite the fact that you were two persons in that room.

Regarding your request for dinner, we normally do operate on daily basis a la carte menu service either in the restaurant or in the guest rooms for our guests that are not willing to partake in our buffet. We are therefore uncertain of the basis of this misunderstanding and we do sincerely apologise for this mix up.

We are also uncertain of the source of the misunderstanding of the laundry service available in our hotel, at no time have we experienced any downtime in our laundry service since the hotel opened and again we apologise for this confusion.

We sincerely apologise that your request to see a Manager was not met as this was mainly due to misunderstanding on the part of the attendant that did not offer that a Supervisor (team leader) could have attended to you in the absence of a department Manager or the General Manager.

We would implore you to give us another chance to redeem the bad impression you have about our hotel and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back armed with better understanding of the services on offer for a much better experience.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Usually I use this hotel up by the opening. it is close my office in Lagos and to reach airport.
People in front desk are 80% kind, sometime I found somebody a bit tired..
Room are a bit small but generally clean, except sometime I ask housekeeping to improve cleaning for dust under the bed and on the shelves..
A/C in the room and in the facilities is fine, equally wi-fi everywhere. Laundry and maintenance are efficient.
TV channels for movies are few and to enjoy italian tv channel Rai Italia is a fight everyday...
Currently restaurant is improved and food "a la carte" is very tasty and well prepared. Service in the restaurant can be improved, often the guest is ignored and passes half hour before taking the order. 80% of waiters are kind and considerate.
Important point in favor of this hotel is a very nice gym; it is clean and full of new equipment Technogym. Coach there is careful.
Furthermore, a good thing is that you can find and approach General Manager and team leader anytime talking with them about any issues.
I'll continue to use this hotel hoping it improve a few things.
I can advise this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solange B, General Manager at Ibis Lagos Ikeja, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear M. Scipione,

We are happy to hear that you had a lovely time in our hotel.

We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. It is always a pleasure to welcoming you at each stay.

We take note of your comments regarding the long wait for order tacking as well as the attitude of the staff at the front.

We thank you for your positive feedback which will serve as an encouragement for us to continue to give our guest a very good service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
3.4 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#25 of 115 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
12.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
0.0 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 115 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lagos Ikeja
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Ikeja
Protea Hotel Ikeja
#24 of 115 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.7 mi away
GrandBee Suites
GrandBee Suites
#38 of 115 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Lagos Ikeja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lagos Ikeja

Address: 23 Toyin Street | Ikeja, Lagos 0000, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 115 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lagos Ikeja 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located 15 minutes away from the International Airport and in the vibrant area of Ikeja. All the rooms and Public areas are equiped with WIFI internet access. The buffet breakfast is served daily in our restaurant in which we also serve exquisite international and local cuisine delicacies. The snack menu will accomodate all sorts of customers round the clock. Our bar is also open round the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, ACCOR and Expedia so you can book your Ibis Lagos Ikeja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Lagos Ikeja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.