We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Old School pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Step Inn

The Step Inn
No. 162b Sinari Daranijo Street, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria
Update restaurant details
Ranked #35 of 92 restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Old School pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Visited here whilst in Lagos recently on business and enjoyed some good old fashioned British grub after days of spicy food (Nigerians have everything spicy, my hotel served spicy chicken, corned beef, potatoes etc on the breakfast buffet) Lovely chicken pie and proper mash, gravy was from a packet but ok.
Unusual to see people smoking in a pub again and not sure I would go when it's busy because of that!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    3
    6
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“wonder how festus okotie manages here..black desperate man trying to hang out with "oyinbos"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

lol!...next time you see him there call his mum or call the cops!had fish and chips..nice brit kind of pub..if you travel alot to Europe fits the apt description of a pub..overall okay..lots of desperate women hanging around to hook up..waiteresses are quite courteous and wear skimpy skirts that i dont care about as service is so slow..i takes between 40mins - 50mins to serve a simple dish..30minutes if you are lucky...oh well,not too many choices for a British!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Step In: An Eye Opening, Outside the Box Experience in an Exuberant, Emerging City!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Step In is an opportunity to look outside our preconceived idea’s of how we think the world ought to be…Step In is a male Expat’s and Nigerian Women (Night Stalkers) destination…and the later it gets the wilder it becomes…

Of the three bars, of this caliber, I visited in Lagos with English Expat friends, I was the only Caucasian female in attendance. My Expat friends were correct…this is an aspect of life all of us must see. ..absolutely fascinating…Please understand…I am not judging…observing & learning was a full time, mesmerizing vocation during my six week stay in Lagos.

Lagos is a booming, exploding city yet for Nigerian women without resources I can probably not imagine how unrelentingly difficult it is to survive. Step In is a bar/restaurant which market’s to Expat Men. The food was fair, to actually good…the “show” which is expat men with gorgeous substantially younger Nigerian women was mind blowing!!

I was safe accompanied by two well-traveled English Expats who wanted me to see Step In...this is a sight everyone must see which makes Las Vegas look tame. it was a trip...Provocative dancing taken to a whole new level…at least in my experience…

The Nigerian women are beautiful. Their clothing is what we might call slutty yet still startlingly eye-catching ....colorful manicures, long toe nails...many wigs and weaves (which by the end of the week seriously smell since with such elaborate hair extensions washing their hair is not an option and Lagos is humid) Nigerian women have cropped short hair, so wigs and weaves are an effort to be as western as possible, hair accessories are profitable business’s...many of these women "bleach" themselves to look white which can lead to unattractive splotching...the make up is beautiful and wild, it was a sight I would not have missed...what is saddest is how unattractive the expat's males were!!!

I do sincerely understand desperate people do desperate things...& we all have to make a living. The reality is these older, overweight men at home are exactly that: older, overweight, unattractive and not in shape. when I say desperate I mean the women....the men have their pick...yet that does not necessarily make it easy or safe for them (an expat male must never leave a drink or beer unwatched: a roofy will be dropped in...these are incredibly resourceful women [when they get back to his place and he falls asleep she can clean out his flat])...often the first born female in a poor Nigerian family (not the male) is sold into plural marriage or sent to Lagos or Abuja (which are prosperous cities compared to the rest of Nigeria where the average Nigerian or family lives on $1 per day) to "make money" and send it home to her entire family in the village...these young girls can be less than 14 yrs. old. If a young woman or any woman sleeps with a white man (expat) she is still considered a virgin..."the white person is invisible."

Nigerian women are not valued in Nigerian society…affluence does not even guarantee respect and safety. They tend to be beyond aggressive yet considering their statuses…

The circumstances of these women are vial...they must find lodging, learn to dress, learn everything, where to eat, medical care without resources is nonexistent ...finding the expat boyfriend is essential to their survival and the welfare of their family, village. It's best for them if they can find an older, unmarried expat (yet being a married man is no deterrent)...the older, the single man the better because he will die sooner and if he does not set her up she will figure out how to set herself up. These women are incredible negotiators and they TALK...I was clear & concise from the get go in Step In with a woman, actually two women, I clearly stated no sex was wanted from me or the two male expats I was with, yet I was willing to pay them to talk with me (this was my idea and initiative: I saw an opportunity and I took it)...gosh, I sure learned ALOT!!!

The women have to pay to get into the bar if they cannot latch onto the arm of an expat walking in....1000N approximately $7 US plus they have to buy a drink...then it is up to the women to cozy up to an expat (Don't make eye contact with them or the police when driving around at night)...WOW, my empathy for the women was immense…

Simultaneously, these men cannot be judged…the women are flattering, we all desire “attention,” (even the illusion), an enlightened Expat Englishwoman said it best, “it’s understandable a mistake a man might make in a moment of loneliness.” The women are exotic and beautiful…if a man is single or married…these are their choices…the entire “scene” is mind expanding for an onlooker. The plight of these women is devastating and might be any of us…their stories are startlingly frightening yet eerily similar. The scams are endless and designed to tug at our heartstrings…

The Nigerian people are beautiful...gorgeous smiles and eye's...Christianity is a huge part of their culture...ironically the less fortunate Nigerians are incredibly trusting although of course the scams are everywhere: everyone needs a generator, or hepatitis (that one appeared the day I arrived and is not unusual; often expats are also told Nigerians are in the hospital for malaria which does happen yet not in the frequency it is used as a scam for more money) (I've been vaccinated for hepatitis) their grandma needs surgery, their grandma died, wait no you misunderstood, it’s their father who died and must have a proper funeral, the children are escorted home because school bills cannot be paid (this one from the driver the day I arrived which required all the Nigerian money I had)...the wildest one I have heard about is a driver told an expat his wife had a third baby, so the expat gave money, then the baby died, so the expat gave more money, then the expat invited the family and two children to his house for the weekend to enjoy the pool and recover. The expat was told the wife did ironing to make money so the expat had an extra iron and gave it to them. The next night the driver was sleeping in the car...turns out the driver was sleeping in the car to guard the ironing board and DVD player he was stealing along with all the imported meat in the freezer. THERE NEVER WAS A BABY WHO WAS BORN OR DIED.

A classic is a Nigerian will come and tell us they had a dream: their twin babies in Ghana they dreamed have died. (the schools really are bad in Nigeria so rich and poor save to send their children for better educations). This is the build up to ask for money to bring the babies home out of fear they are in danger. There may not even be 4-year-old baby twins in Ghana going to school. Look closely at the photo’s you are shown…the photo’s are old…no photo’s as infants…these scams occur thro the whole spectrum of society from the Ladies of the Night to Domestic Staff and as you encounter more prosperous and educated Nigerians the scams become even more insidious. Remember the less fortunate of Nigerian society which is 99.9% of the population have NOTHING! Also, scams occur everywhere in the world and are not exclusive to Nigeria.

The service is slow in Step In yet this is not a franchise restaurant in the states. The pizza wasn’t bad… beef liver in a rich sauce quite good…truly jumbo shrimp …do watch your tab which is placed in a plastic glass on the table and records each round…it’s our job to keep track we are paying for the precise number of drinks billed.

Bottom Line: Expat Women visiting Nigeria who want to develop a deeper understanding of the expat life must see Step In. It’s not the food, or the English Pub interior or sports on TV (which I actually did not notice) it’s the “Show” which must be seen…Varied types of loneliness, desperation & welfare exist in our diverse world. Suspending judgment & empathy is what transforms my world!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice food friendly price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice small european frequented pub serving meals too. Food prices very friendly with an average meal ranging between 15$ to 40$

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If an old 70's English pub with cheap and cheerfull pub grub a cold beer and the option to smoke while in the company of like minded ex-pats is what you want then this is the place for you. Food service is not the quickest and the place does attract young women looking for a meal ticket as has been said a "not interested" or "no" will move them on. Overall good place to watch the sport and get a bite to eat plus meet other Brits but if a non smoker be prepared when busy, as often is the case, the only place to stand is near the air con units.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Step Inn also viewed

Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to The Step Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Step Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.