We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Good Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Restaurant

Viceroy Restaurant
33 Akin Adesola Street | Victoria Island, Lagos 0000, Nigeria
+234-708-861-9536
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 168 Restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good Indian reastaurant and also has all types of cuisine, food tastes good , they have to improve on portions as my experience with my boss was that they gave 10 pieces of French fries along with steak we had ordered, when we asked if this was the portion size of french fries they said yes without blinking an eyelid. Then they brough some more and charged for it!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CSRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice decor, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had tried to eat here on a weekend before, but it was full to bursting point. On a week night, much quieter, only 3 or 4 tables in. We had chicken tandoori and sheek kebab starters, chicken was a bit srawny, but tasted fine. The kebab had a nice spicey kick to it.

The mains, we had fish coconut curry, and the house special chicken curry, slightly spicy with fenugreek and spinach, a change from the normal curries and it was good. Rice was ok, but wish they didn't use frozen veg in the pilau rice. Good nan.

Total with several drinks, N19,000 for two. In line with other Lagos restaurants.

Overall, it would be quite a decent location to take clients or friends alike, though personally I thought the food just comes up short of the quality of the Sherlaton - but it is a more rounded package. So Viceroy for clients, Sherlaton for a night out with the boys.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdstewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“Successful Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Best Indian Restaurant in Lagos. Food consistently good and well worth the trip.Great Ambience and staff with a great attitude.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sudip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently great food, pleasant ambience and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this gem of a restaurant a number of times over the past 6 months and each time we have found the food delectably authentic whether it was samosa chaat or hara bhara kabab, the hot just right tandoori rotis, or fish tikka just to recount a few of the dishes. Viceroy is a little pricier than competition in the genre in VI - a meal for two could set you back by about USD 50, but is always well worth a visit. For some reason the restaurant is empty in the daytime, but is full of an international crowd in the evenings. Just one word of caution the card swipe machines may give up on you, so be ure to carry a cheque book as a backup!!

Helpful?
Thank pondheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had no idea this restaurant was here till very recently .

It truly is a beautiful restaurant and the food is DELICIOUS.

the staff are attentive and the ambience is chilled. Worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reniestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viceroy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Viceroy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing