We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Fresh air” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Park Lagos

Freedom Park Lagos
Old Prison Ground Broad Street, Lagos, Nigeria
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Lagos
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Lagos
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh air”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A former prison that is now converted to a leisure centre in the busy business district. It a good place to seat out during the lunch break

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Idea by the Lagos State Govt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Freedom Park is just around the corner, the park to me is not just a tourist attraction but also a cultural heritage. This is because the park was built in the old colonial prison where the heroes of our independence were locked up because of the struggle for independence. The perimeter fence of the park was the same fence for the prisons and the cells where Chief Obafemi Awolowo, Nnamdi Azikiwe and Tafawa Balewa were locked in still stands. The park has a pond where you can feed the fish in the pond, and night life here is beautiful, a life band or DJ is always around to blast music and my favorite part of the park are the museums, there are several museums in the park. There is a huge iron bridge which my friends and I nicknamed 'London Bridge;, its fun climbing it. When the park was built, there were several effigies which denote the yoruba deities and thatched huts. you could go in to the huts to feel the cool of the day. unfortunately, these parts of the park is gone and nothing is one to review them. The park also has an ampitheatre where life shows, movies, fashion parade and cultural shows can be held. in all, it is a wonderful concept and i am happy the park was built

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Surprising and Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went out to Freedom Park as part of a Lagos Field Society trip. We were so surprised that this place existed right under our noses!!! It is a wonderful green space smack dab in the middle of the city. An old prison, turned into a park. The statues spread out in the park are wonderful and the old prison rooms are interesting (so small!). If you can find someone to explain things to you then you will learn a lot. There is an area where they have an old well. They used to put the dead bodies in that well and put acid on them to help them to decompose. Also the stage is in the area where they used to do hangings. A lot of history here.
I like that they took something that has such sad history and turned it into something beautiful and educational.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent museum too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This park is well worth going to. I particularly recommend the museum - we nearly didn't find it as there is little indication that there's a museum when you enter. At face value it's a pretty park in the centre of chaos so well worth walking round. However if you go to the far side then there's a really interesting museum which describes the history of the prison which was originally on the site of Freedom Park. It's a moving experience so highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was quite a surprise to find a quiet haven in the middle of the Central Business District, but it is a wonderful place that hosts the occasional party and the odd play.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Park Lagos also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Park Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Park Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.