We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Excellent Idea by the Lagos State Govt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Park Lagos

Freedom Park Lagos
Old Prison Ground Broad Street, Lagos, Nigeria
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 attractions in Lagos
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Idea by the Lagos State Govt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Freedom Park is just around the corner, the park to me is not just a tourist attraction but also a cultural heritage. This is because the park was built in the old colonial prison where the heroes of our independence were locked up because of the struggle for independence. The perimeter fence of the park was the same fence for the prisons and the cells where Chief Obafemi Awolowo, Nnamdi Azikiwe and Tafawa Balewa were locked in still stands. The park has a pond where you can feed the fish in the pond, and night life here is beautiful, a life band or DJ is always around to blast music and my favorite part of the park are the museums, there are several museums in the park. There is a huge iron bridge which my friends and I nicknamed 'London Bridge;, its fun climbing it. When the park was built, there were several effigies which denote the yoruba deities and thatched huts. you could go in to the huts to feel the cool of the day. unfortunately, these parts of the park is gone and nothing is one to review them. The park also has an ampitheatre where life shows, movies, fashion parade and cultural shows can be held. in all, it is a wonderful concept and i am happy the park was built

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprising and Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went out to Freedom Park as part of a Lagos Field Society trip. We were so surprised that this place existed right under our noses!!! It is a wonderful green space smack dab in the middle of the city. An old prison, turned into a park. The statues spread out in the park are wonderful and the old prison rooms are interesting (so small!). If you can find someone to explain things to you then you will learn a lot. There is an area where they have an old well. They used to put the dead bodies in that well and put acid on them to help them to decompose. Also the stage is in the area where they used to do hangings. A lot of history here.
I like that they took something that has such sad history and turned it into something beautiful and educational.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent museum too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This park is well worth going to. I particularly recommend the museum - we nearly didn't find it as there is little indication that there's a museum when you enter. At face value it's a pretty park in the centre of chaos so well worth walking round. However if you go to the far side then there's a really interesting museum which describes the history of the prison which was originally on the site of Freedom Park. It's a moving experience so highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was quite a surprise to find a quiet haven in the middle of the Central Business District, but it is a wonderful place that hosts the occasional party and the odd play.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for Freedom Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

At long last-- a cool and casual place to hang-out, catch-up with friends where everyone feels welcome! Freedom Park fills a much needed niche in Lagos. It has an eclectic, revolving program of live music, film, and the performance arts and excellent food and drink! There are several activity "hubs" in the Park. You can sit in the outdoor area and order from one of the many eateries (including a vegan option! ...both food and drink are very reasonably priced by Lagos standards). There are two open air stages at either end of the Park, and two indoor galleries. Typically there is something happening in at least one of the venues on a weekend.There is a 200 Naira Park entrance fee and most events are free of charge. It tends to wind down by about 10:30 p.m. Thank goodness for Freedom Park!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Park Lagos also viewed

 
Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Freedom Park Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Park Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Freedom Park Lagos to your Saves list