We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Great Seafood in Lagos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Basket Victoria Island, Lagos

Ocean Basket Victoria Island, Lagos
Plot 1392 | Tiamiyu Savage Street, Lagos Los, Nigeria
08160591821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 95 restaurants in Lagos
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: A contemporary family oriented casual dining restaurant located in the heart of the social hub of Victoria Island. Undoubtedly the best seafood South of the Sahara! Served in a relaxed atmosphere with service uncommon in these parts.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in Lagos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had dinner with coworkers the other night and sat on the upper deck. There was no construction going on next door so we had a nice dinner outside. I had the kingklip with prawns and it was tasty. The service was top notch as well. We really enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    15
    35
    21
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Strange as it may seem there are few seafood restaurants in Lagos and this South African chain is a welcome addition. Their kingklip is very good as are most of their fish dishes.
My only complaint is that the outside seating is extremely noisy and the atmosphere inside is a bit hot

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not bad for frozen fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Took the family here for saturday lunch. Lovely staff and nice to sit outside although it was bit breezy when we were there and there is some noise from neighboring building works. Prawns with stir fry, calamari, both grilled and fried and king clip and Greek salad were all really tasty. Couple of suggestions would include clips to keep table cloths in place, vinegar as a condiment and not allowing bunch of girls to lock themselves in the toilet to check their makeup and chat. V pleasant experience even though my heart sinks to know that despite a great local selection of fresh fish being available, all theirs has been frozen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The advantage of going to a franchise such as Ocean Basket is that you already know what standard and quality to expect. Ocean Basket in Nigeria delivers. We had an enjoyable meal here. I'm a pudding person so it was good to find they had a decent dessert menu (I had the cheesecake). Hopefully, standards will be maintained.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“you could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Oceans basket was a really big letdown for me, kudos to the staff for trying to make guests feel comfortable. Thefood was really bland and did nothing for the taste buds. The fish was ok but the prawns were a no no. On the plus sideways clean and I liked the architecture.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagosOB, Owner at Ocean Basket Victoria Island, Lagos, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of Ocean Basket, Victoria Island.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable dining experience to all our guests and are truly saddened that this was not so during your last visit.

We apologize but hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our restaurant. We will ensure that we will meet and surpass your highest expectations.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket Victoria Island, Lagos also viewed

 
Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Ocean Basket Victoria Island, Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Basket Victoria Island, Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.