We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Nice hotel just in a bad place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Lagos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Lagos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Lagos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Mobolaji Bank Anthony Way | P.O. Box 21189 Airport Road, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Lagos
NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel just in a bad place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ok so obviously I went to this hotel only for business reasons as I would go to a million other places for vacation before here. But the hotel was actually very nice and I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel stay. Rooms were well furnished, food was edible, beer was cold and the pool was well maintained. Staff was helpful when needed as well. So there was a sketchy moment during the stay where I woke up and the connecting door to the room next to us was open. Nothing was taken from my room but the erie feeling of someone possibly being in your room can freak you out. Also we warned not to use any credit cards even in the hotel due to the theft and use of the numbers is so rampant. The airport is a disaster as is traffic to. There is also a Department of State warning not to travel to Nigeria, so be safe and have fun.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this country unless you have to. Try to get a room that is not connected to the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear TheGreatOne11,

Thank you for posting this review about your stay. It is nice to know you find our hotel relaxing for a vacation amidst the bustling of the city.

However, We find it strange to know your connecting door was open without your knowledge. I'll like to further speak with you to investigate and avoid occurence, please send me an email to guestservice.00445@sheraton.com.

Looking forward to connecting with you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    59
    68
    35
    34
See reviews for
3
4
25
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Located very close to Airport . This saves a lot of time specially during rush hours . If you have to use Lagos as a transit point for domestic travel or if you have work towards Ikeja or outside Lagos - this is best place . You avoid traffic - go slow . They need to change carpets on 5th floor . I was told floors up to 4th have been renovated . So next time you check in- ask for a room on lower floors . Lobby is crowded and they need to de-congest it . Breakfast was just about ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Uday27,

Thanks for your great feedback. This level of information is important to us and our guests as it is known you stay with us often. We are gradually renovating with each floor starting soon. This is also an opportunity for you to register for our loyalty program(SPG) which helps you redeem points on every dollar you spend and makes your stay more worthwhile.

We look forward to receiving you and have a pleasant day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

While this hotel is more expensive than the Protea across the street, it has more restaurants to choose from. It is close to the airport, in fact many flight crews stay here. The out door restaurant and bar by the pool is very nice. This hotel used to have AC problems but those seem to be fixed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Malachy F,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are happy to hear you find our hotel irrestible amidst others. We do hope to make your next stay more mind-blowing.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff make the hotel as the hotel itself is tired and in need of updating. I stayed for two weeks whilst working in Lagos. My room was dominated by the size of the TV. I would have had to sit in the corridor to watch it. ( Strange observation but it shows a lack of thinking) .

Food was good with a range of places to eat. The Italian restaurant was very good and I enjoyed the music on Friday evenings.

The main point was that at all times I felt safe with staff being available at all times to help with travel arrangements etc.

Just needs updating it will be very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Richard B,

It is rather regrettable you find our TV a bit uncomfortable during your stay as our team would have made yoor stay more relaxing. However, it is good to know you enjoyed the live music, food varieties and quality, most of all you felt safe(security).

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I hated this hotel. It was extremely expensive and not up to worldwide standards. I am surprised that Sheraton allows this property to keep the Sheraton name.

This is advertised as a five-star hotel. It is not even close. When we checked in, we were told the bathrooms had just been remodeled. I found out that remodeling consisted of bolting a piece of fiberboard over the bathroom sink's exposed pipes.

The gym was less than adequate, and the buffet meal was sorely lacking.

The staff seemed friendly and were always smiling, but other than that, this hotel was really disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Jonathan B,

Thank You for taking time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel.

Checking into a room with bathroom tiles can leave a negative lasting impression that overshadows the rest of any trip. Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Staff to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel staff were friendly, however check in took excessively long, and check out was ridiculously painstakingly long.

The hotel room had two twin sized beds- a bit unusual, but OK. The room was clean and tidy. The electricity was somewhat unreliable. The pool area was nice, neat, and appeared safe.

The hotel lobby was very warm, humid, and musty.

The staff at the bar will rip you off- best to pay when you order and do so in Nigerian currency.

Definitely NOT a place to vacation, and tolerable for a business overnight. Between the excessive room charge and added fees, the hotel should have included much more gratuitous services. I guess that's the price to pay for safety though.

Room Tip: watch out for extra charges. Skip the bar. Bring food- the resturaunt is expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear MD,

Thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to receiving you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton Lagos
Staff are excellent- I think it's in their nature to be polite as they so veryolite!
The pool is also excellent and so is the food
I know they are doing major renovation work but it didn't I pact me at all
I'd strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLH, Manager at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear MD,

Thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to receiving you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Lagos Hotel

Address: 30 Mobolaji Bank Anthony Way | P.O. Box 21189 Airport Road, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Lagos Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Lagos hotel is in the perfect location. It is in close vicinity to the international airport and the commercial capital of Nigeria. Sheraton Lagos has 325 guest rooms and 7 suites, all of which are furnished with the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, providing superior comfort to both our business and leisure travelers. The hotel offers a variety of cuisines in three different restaurants where guests enjoy a range of Indian delicacies, Italian dishes and the local buffet with International dishes. The Sheraton Fitness programmed by Core Performance is available all day together with the outdoor pool and the tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Lagos Nigeria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Lagos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.