We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“compact business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 120 Hotels in Lagos
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“compact business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent wifi, courtous staff, tidy rooms nice little pool with green surroundings

Me being a vegetarian, not many options for food.

Small irritants like leaking roof in corridor and lobby button in lift broken (how do you reach lobby?)

First night room too noisy..but changes quickly as soon as pointed out

Room Tip: Do not choose parking facing rooms on lower floors. It is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InstinctiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Instinctive Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos, your feedback is very important for us.

I am glad you enjoyed our hotel in general.
Regarding your comments, we can organize on a daily basis requirements for vegetarian options besides the ones we already have in our menu.
Let me rest assured you that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems of leakeges you have mentioned in order to prevent future occurrence.

I hope you give us the opportunity to better serve in your next trip here in Lagos.

Thank you again for sharing your experience

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Get upgraded for Accor Platinum member, the hotel give an extra bed FOC since they dont have twin bed arrangement for executive room.
Staff were very nice and attentive.
The bfast is nice, but the option should have been more. We stayed for 4 nights, and the bfast is the same all the time.
The properties can used some luxury upgraded, but in Lagos is good enough.
The water pressure in shower is very low, but if you use the shower in the bathtub, its ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Alexandre N,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos, we is alway nice to receive feedback from our clients.

I am glad our staff was very heplfull and that you enjoyed your stay while with us. Thank you for your suggestions and comments.

We hope your next visit at the hotel will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielsko-Biała, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I arrived late to the hotel and stayed for a week. The hotel is big and has an open swimming pool in the backyard, besides a bar and a restaurant. While quite expensive, worth it (especially in Western Africa).

The breakfasts were among the best I've ever had in a hotel, altough the dinner was nothing very fancy, but by all means decent for a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Maciek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear 83Maciek,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and our food, specially breakfast.

Thank you for sharing your experience, It is always nice to receive feedback from our clients.
and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

While located in a secure neighbourhood everything else expected from a hotel of this accor category was just absent.

The most annoying observation was absence of water pressure at night and in the morning colured, presumably rusty, tap water. While that in itself is not dangerous it is a clear indication of malfunction of the water treatment unit with the foreseeable health implications .

Next morning this observation was reported to the front desk. First they denied any maintenance activity but shortly thereafter confirmed work. However, the front desk insisted that the water treatment unit was running perfectly.

As I have some professional knowledge in this field I responded that this is technically impossible as the water system downstream has to be clean from contaminations of any kind.

Later that day in the evening the operations manager contacted me and I repeated the analysis. She asked whether I have other observations to share with her. She confirmed to be serious about this.

So we went to my room and I walked her around.

First impression at opening the door is an odour of rotten material which she observed, too. Obvious source was the aircon duct. A quick wipe with the finger tip showed a greasy, smelly dirt at the air grille. Anyone may make his own assumptions on maintenance and contamination level of the HVAC-system.

Next I showed the layers of dirt and mold in the shower cabin and took a sample with the room access card. Cleaning would just have been a matter of effort.

Other small examples like the wc brush holder with massive dirt on the presumed original chrome surface just underlined the previous findings.

The operations manager took note of these findings, no dispute on the factual matters. In my opinion such observations indicate deficiencies in the housekeeping in general, that cannot be a matter of a single room maid.

I had the optimistic assumption that next days room cleaning would change the situation. Unfortunately it was just cleaning as usual leaving the contamination/dirt untouched.

With this experience in mind it is a fair assumption that the level of hygiene is not much different in other sections of the hotel.

That may explain why I had again diarrhoe after staying in this hotel.

Just for the sake of clarity, I am travelling in Africa on business matters quite frequently, but this in one of the places I will try to avoid in future.

Room Tip: Sorry, no idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedster1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Speedster1721:

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos.

My sincerest apology for all technical and operational problems you had experience during your stay.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you have mentioned in order to prevent future occurrence.

I will remain at your disposal, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The laundry services are very efficient and the WiFi is much improved from previous years. Staff are generally friendly and courteous. Breakfast aside, the food is poor and the menu is unchanged since 2011. Evening meal prices are eye wateringly expensive. There can't be many places in the world where a tasteless lamb curry will cost you 30 pounds. If they got the food sorted out I would definitely recommend the Moorhouse.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Rob S:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Moorhouse Ikoyi in Lagos, your feddback is very important to us.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay while with us, The Moorhouse is a quite property in the area of Ikoyi, where you find peace after a busy day in the busy Lagos. We also take this opportunity to inform you that we are in the process of reviewing our menu.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we will be expecting you during your next trip.

Sincerely,

Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The other reviews have it pretty much right. Room and bed are comfortable and clean, bathroom modern, front desk friendly and helpful, breakfast quite good. Unfortunately, other aspects are quite poor. The shower water was too hot - but maintenance was able to fix this quickly. Following the fix, the water from the tap was brown. Dinner and bar food was not very good - an ingredients issue that is easy to fix. Service other than front desk friendly but inattentive. In a city where you are stuck in your hotel because traffic makes moving around difficult, these base comforts are essential. If they just fixed these basics, then this could become a good option for (under-hotel'ed) Lagos.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micha_roch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Micha-roch:

We appreciate you took the time to share with us about your stay at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos.

I am sorry that you experienced so many maintenance issues; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We will take appropriate measures to avoid this type of situations in the near future.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in your next trip.

Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
0.0 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 120 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#5 of 120 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
2.2 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#23 of 120 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George
The George
#2 of 120 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lagos
#20 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Ikoyi residential district, just 5 minutes from the new business district. It offers 90 rooms and suites, a cigar bar, MBar, MBar Garden, four meeting rooms plus a board room, swimming pool and fitness facilities. Perfect for business, romance or tourism, 10 minutes from Victoria Island, the commercial center of Nigeria, and 45 minutes from the airport. Discover this exclusive international boutique hotel and its high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Venere, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos Hotel Lagos
Sofitel Moorhouse Ikoyi
Sofitel Lagos
Sofitel Hotel Lagos
Lagos Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing