We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“GOOD PLACE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Experience 3=2
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
3
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

While located in a secure neighbourhood everything else expected from a hotel of this accor category was just absent.

The most annoying observation was absence of water pressure at night and in the morning colured, presumably rusty, tap water. While that in itself is not dangerous it is a clear indication of malfunction of the water treatment unit with the foreseeable health implications .

Next morning this observation was reported to the front desk. First they denied any maintenance activity but shortly thereafter confirmed work. However, the front desk insisted that the water treatment unit was running perfectly.

As I have some professional knowledge in this field I responded that this is technically impossible as the water system downstream has to be clean from contaminations of any kind.

Later that day in the evening the operations manager contacted me and I repeated the analysis. She asked whether I have other observations to share with her. She confirmed to be serious about this.

So we went to my room and I walked her around.

First impression at opening the door is an odour of rotten material which she observed, too. Obvious source was the aircon duct. A quick wipe with the finger tip showed a greasy, smelly dirt at the air grille. Anyone may make his own assumptions on maintenance and contamination level of the HVAC-system.

Next I showed the layers of dirt and mold in the shower cabin and took a sample with the room access card. Cleaning would just have been a matter of effort.

Other small examples like the wc brush holder with massive dirt on the presumed original chrome surface just underlined the previous findings.

The operations manager took note of these findings, no dispute on the factual matters. In my opinion such observations indicate deficiencies in the housekeeping in general, that cannot be a matter of a single room maid.

I had the optimistic assumption that next days room cleaning would change the situation. Unfortunately it was just cleaning as usual leaving the contamination/dirt untouched.

With this experience in mind it is a fair assumption that the level of hygiene is not much different in other sections of the hotel.

That may explain why I had again diarrhoe after staying in this hotel.

Just for the sake of clarity, I am travelling in Africa on business matters quite frequently, but this in one of the places I will try to avoid in future.

Room Tip: Sorry, no idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Speedster1721:

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos.

My sincerest apology for all technical and operational problems you had experience during your stay.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you have mentioned in order to prevent future occurrence.

I will remain at your disposal, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The laundry services are very efficient and the WiFi is much improved from previous years. Staff are generally friendly and courteous. Breakfast aside, the food is poor and the menu is unchanged since 2011. Evening meal prices are eye wateringly expensive. There can't be many places in the world where a tasteless lamb curry will cost you 30 pounds. If they got the food sorted out I would definitely recommend the Moorhouse.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Rob S:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Moorhouse Ikoyi in Lagos, your feddback is very important to us.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay while with us, The Moorhouse is a quite property in the area of Ikoyi, where you find peace after a busy day in the busy Lagos. We also take this opportunity to inform you that we are in the process of reviewing our menu.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we will be expecting you during your next trip.

Sincerely,

Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The other reviews have it pretty much right. Room and bed are comfortable and clean, bathroom modern, front desk friendly and helpful, breakfast quite good. Unfortunately, other aspects are quite poor. The shower water was too hot - but maintenance was able to fix this quickly. Following the fix, the water from the tap was brown. Dinner and bar food was not very good - an ingredients issue that is easy to fix. Service other than front desk friendly but inattentive. In a city where you are stuck in your hotel because traffic makes moving around difficult, these base comforts are essential. If they just fixed these basics, then this could become a good option for (under-hotel'ed) Lagos.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Micha-roch:

We appreciate you took the time to share with us about your stay at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos.

I am sorry that you experienced so many maintenance issues; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We will take appropriate measures to avoid this type of situations in the near future.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in your next trip.

Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Use the Southern Sun or Moorhouse for Lagos business trips and it serves its purpose pretty well. The location is good for me on Ikoyi Island and the amenities are all there - I would prefer a better gym but other than that it provides what I need when away for a week or two. The staff are friendly and I used the room service fairly often, food isn't bad at all and was fair value for an expensive city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mr. PeteF621:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos.

I am glad that our hotel fits well in your trip purposes to Lagos, as you mentioned we are located in Ikoyi a central area in town..

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Moorhouse on 4 separate occasions with varying experiences. The bar/ lounge area is still a lovely, cosy space with reasonable service. However the once charming, contemporary, albeit small rooms are looking dated and showing wear and tear and bathrooms are in need of some sprucing up. I also suspect some personnel changes have occurred in the kitchen as the previously good standard of food and service has slipped somewhat. On one occasion I waited over 20 mins for some vanilla ice cream because it was "frozen and needed to thaw" only to be served strawberry - because there was no vanilla. I'm not sure why it took over 20mins to let me know this. The breakfast and lunch buffet selection is also increasingly limited and uninspired with a couple of mains and dessert choices limited to fruit and cheese. A la carte would be better except for the 20 minute plus wait. Moorhouse is still a cosy, intimate business hotel with a great location in Ikoyi, well situated for both business and pleasure, but competition in Lagos has intensified and for the same price Southern Sun, Federal Palace, Wheatbaker all offer a better overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Jane E

First let me thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

As you mentioned we are a cozy hotel in the middle of this big city.
All your comments are well noted and the measures are starting to being place in order to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed here several times as a business traveller and during my first trip the food was ok, now I have to say that it is awful... The breakfast is wonderful with fresh fruit and toast meats and cereals but the evenings is not good - I had chicken that tasted of something else??? And an uncooked burger pasta is ok but a girl can't live on pasta alone... The staff are tremendously polite and welcoming and the rooms are standard and clean - probably will try somewhere else next time though I'm afraid as of course like most my movement is restricted so I can't just pop out and get food elsewhere - good food is important in a business hotel

Room Tip: If you like watching the world go by ask for a room looking out on the road - I love watching everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mrs Lisahelenakelly

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos. Unfortunately this experience did not meet your expectations.

I am taking note about your suggestion and I am glad that you really enjoy our Breakfast and the ambience of the hotel. Let me assure you that we will take the appropriate measures to address the concerns about the food.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Ikoyi residential district, just 5 minutes from the new business district. It offers 90 rooms and suites, a cigar bar, MBar, MBar Garden, four meeting rooms plus a board room, swimming pool and fitness facilities. Perfect for business, romance or tourism, 10 minutes from Victoria Island, the commercial center of Nigeria, and 45 minutes from the airport. Discover this exclusive international boutique hotel and its high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos Hotel Lagos
Sofitel Moorhouse Ikoyi
Sofitel Lagos
Sofitel Hotel Lagos
Lagos Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.