We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Some missing A-Club points and other weaknesses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Lagos
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
3
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Not much couleur locale in the Moorhouse (formerly Sofitel) apart from some African darkwoods in the rooms and some Nigerian food options in the restaurant - but entirely comfortable and pleasant to stay in for the international traveller. The pool is indeed nice even if it rains. Very much up to all Western standards.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Client,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our clients.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My company tends to use this hotel for travelling employees as it is supposedly one of the best in Lagos though I have nothing to compare it with. The rooms were a very high standard considering and the hotel was clean, safe and comfortable. Breakfast service perhaps a bit tardy but check out the gym - not bad, pool not exactly Olympic standard but all right. At the time I believe Moorhouse was one of Lagos' premier hotels - these days many more hotels are competing at this level so I think the Moorhouse is struggling to maintain custom - it is expensive like most foreign experiences are in Nigeria (over £200 per night) but you will not be disappointed if you stay here - though I could not imagine why anyone would stay in this part of Lagos unless it was business related - you absolutely must have a driver - do not think for one minute as a westerner you can drive in this city and don't go outside your hotel alone after dark unless in "experienced" company. I rather liked the bar where you could order up food and enjoy the local beer and the usual western stuff - club sandwich a must. Free wifi throughout but each time you logged on you needed a new password from reception. Very helpful and friendly staff - I've been a bit mean on the average rating but you will be fine if you stay here - be sensible in Nigeria and you will be fine - most of the trouble is in the North of the country but get a proper security briefing before you travel and talk to the hotel staff too - I found the Nigerians lovely people - they want you to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Client,

We really appreciate all your comments regarding your stay at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our clients.

I will share your comments with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Regarding breakfast I will take the appropriate measures to address the situation in order to better serve in the near future.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos, I can see you use almost all of our services, now we have a SPA massage that is a new option for our clients after a long day to enjoy a relax moment.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed at Moorhouse for 5 days on a business trip. This was my first trip to Lagos and even Africa, so not very familiar with culture there. I would say people are friendly, especially in this hotel, staff helped with all information I needed, service was good and quality of food is good.

Positives:
1. Good security, which is a must in Lagos.
2. Comfortable room, nice king size bed, spacious and decently equipped bathroom, all other basic amenities like swimming pool, gym and restaurant fully functional and well maintained.
3. Good food and decent menu. They have lunch and dinner buffet with good spread of Nigerian cuisine, rice varieties, chicken, fish, beef, etc and options for vegetarians too. Well spread buffet breakfast.
4. Located in Ikoyi which is not too far from main business locations in city.
5. Clean and well sanitized.
6. Helpful staff.

Negatives:
1. Room rates too expensive for the kind of accommodation provided. I have stayed at half these prices in different parts of world with 5 times better and luxurious accommodation. May be this has to do with cost of operating a hotel in Lagos (extra security, electricity mostly using power backup)
2. Food is expensive if you intend to eat here. Buffet cost me $40. Other items in menu looked highly priced.
3. Some people mentioned this is quite and peaceful location. I found it too boring with nothing around to walk up to. Even taxi provided by hotel was too expensive. They charge $40 to go 2 km and come back. Local taxis and public transport may not be safe and reliable.
4. TV entertainment was very limited and boring. Just few channels (BBC and CNN most recognized, some french, couple of sports and local channels). No HBO, Star, or other international channels.
5. Reception and lounge was not interesting either.

Overall: Decent but not worth the money charged.

Room Tip: My room was facing a street, so nothing interesting. I guess rooms facing the pool may make you feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed at the Moorehouse for five days and have nothing but praise for the hotel. The breakfast is excellent and was included in the rate. I also ate dinner one night at the hotel and while the price was relatively high (as all things in Lagos) the quality was outstanding. The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. I genuinely can not recall walking past an employee without receiving a friendly hello etc. and a smile. One often hears that service in Lagos can be atrocious however at The Moorhouse it compares favorably to any hotel where I have stayed. The room was clean and the bed wonderful with clean and soft sheets. I look foward to staying at The Moorhouse again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that over looks the pool as they tend to be more quiet than ones that front the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, General Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Client,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our clients.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay wih us, and hope next trip you can also enjoy other services like the gym and the SPA massage that just open this month.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
1 Bankole Oki Road
Ikoyi - Lagos
Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

a good hotel, with efficient and courteous staff, good food and safe location. only flaw was the swimming pool was not clean. restaurant had a good tasty food with better than average service, though as in all of Nigeria, vegan food is a non existent. Though the chef is helpful enough to not let you starve :P. All in all, a good choice, although a bit on the higher side of expense.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos, your feeback is very important to us.

Please be rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address the situation you found during your stay. I am glad you enjoy our restaurant and food as you mentioned.

We appreciate you, sharing your concerns, hope your next stay with us, will be much pleasant.

Sincerely,


Eric Houot
General Manager
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Ikoyi residential district, just 5 minutes from the new business district. It offers 90 rooms and suites, a cigar bar, MBar, MBar Garden, four meeting rooms plus a board room, swimming pool and fitness facilities. Perfect for business, romance or tourism, 10 minutes from Victoria Island, the commercial center of Nigeria, and 45 minutes from the airport. Discover this exclusive international boutique hotel and its high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos Hotel Lagos
Sofitel Moorhouse Ikoyi
Sofitel Lagos
Sofitel Hotel Lagos
Lagos Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.