We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Amazing Changes!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Experience 3=2
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
Abuja, Nigeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Changes!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I am a Business man and my business shuttles me between Abuja and Lagos very regularly. I had stayed at the Moorhouse, then referred to as the Sofitel a number of times during my lagos visits and then the rooms were in need of renovations.

It was therefore amazing to see the obvious changes in the hotel last week. The new gym is fabulous, spacious and the equipment very up to date. You can have aerobics as well. The Food in the restaurant remains the best in Lagos, great variety and tasteful!. The Bed!!! is fantastic and you need to experience it to know that sound sleep is achieveable in the city of Lagos. Definitely I am back at home with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
3
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I visited this hotel (still within Sofitel franchise) 2 years back and was not so positivie about it: it was aging, rooms were not up to the sofitel standard,etc. It is now part og the "M collection" of Accor hotels (same group as Sofitel) and suprisingly standards went up big time: renovated rooms at big (more than in competing Southenr Sun), well furnished and with nice bathrooms. More importantly they are very quiet (which is a big plus in Lagos, believe me !): the hotel is nested in some green areas and the pool side is really lovely. there are no big roads next to the hotel hence no traffic, and the Air conditioner power blocs are not inside as in southern sun, so you won t be disturbed. Last, the food is very good with some French touch (like freshly baked bread and croisant in monring which are reallz tasty and not dry, fresh Avocado salads with shrimps and chicken,..). Net, if you look for a quiet place to relax after the hectic day in Lagos, it's perfect. If you prefer the busy atmosphere of large hotel with packed bar and restaurants, Southern sun is a better bet but I feel less good there. Regarding Value for money, hey this is Lagos - everywhere is overpriced for what you get but Sofitel is amongst the "acceptable" rates. There is more an more compeition (4 points by sheraton has good echoes) so hopefully prices will go down.. let's see...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was really surprised by the Moorhouse. In a good way.
The Gym is well furnished.
the designed in my room was really nice, I felt like at home.
thats the reason why i took all my meals in my room.
Expect the last night, I took the diner at the restaurant. The food was excellent.
in few words I ll say it was a nice experience staying in Moorhouse former Sofitel.
I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

Excellent and cosy luxury hôtel in Lagos ikoyi, the new fitness center and swimming pool are perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The Moorhouse is best avoided. Sky-high 5* rates for a 1-2 star quality hotel. My first room had broken A/C and the second had brown water running through the shower and sink. Rooms are drab and the amenities (gym, pool) aren't working.

I'm not a soft traveler - but this is the pits. Especially when they are charging $300+ a night for a room.

To their credit, the staff are trying reasonably hard. But Sofitel as a group brand should be ashamed of themselves here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMoorhouse, General Manager at The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for this feedback on your last stay in our hotel; we appreciate your honest views and information shared and we want to sincerely apologize for all the discomfort you experienced during this stay with us.

The Brown water was due to a cabling accident in our water supply that day and this was fixed within a few hours. Clean water was restored to all the rooms thereafter. Our Gym and swimming pool has been undergoing some reconstruction and upgrade respectively and we are happy to inform you that the swimming pool has since been open (2 days ago precisely) and our fully refurbished and state of the art Gym has been opened for use this past weekend.

The Moorhouse hotel offers a variety of rooms in various categories and we are presently carrying out a lot of upgrade in the room type you stayed in. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel to show you all the different activities going on to improve our guest stays.

I remain at your disposal should you desire to communicate with me and thank you for this opportunity to share.

My e-mail address is h2770-gm@accor.com

Thank you.

Eric Houot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Ikoyi residential district, just 5 minutes from the new business district. It offers 90 rooms and suites, a cigar bar, MBar, MBar Garden, four meeting rooms plus a board room, swimming pool and fitness facilities. Perfect for business, romance or tourism, 10 minutes from Victoria Island, the commercial center of Nigeria, and 45 minutes from the airport. Discover this exclusive international boutique hotel and its high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos Hotel Lagos
Sofitel Moorhouse Ikoyi
Sofitel Lagos
Sofitel Hotel Lagos
Lagos Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.