We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Lekki Market - A must while in Lagos.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lekki Market

Lekki Market
Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 attractions in Lagos
Type: Flea/ Street Markets
Attraction Details
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lekki Market - A must while in Lagos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Though we have been in Lagos for nearly two years, never had the opportunity to visit Lekki Market, which is in Victoria Islands, a posh Lagos neighborhood. It is indeed what we had heard about..a place for all types of pearls, garnet etc., and you can see many foreigners flocking in for shopping. This apart, one can get good wooden artifacts which are worth carrying back home as souvenirs. The market by itself is not posh and is situated in decrepit buildings, which houses tiny but well stocked shops. Bargaining is a must, but fortunately shopkeepers do not pester us. That leaves you to get into a shop that interests you. What is strange (and to some extent repulsing) is you can see full leopard skin, python skin, stuffed crocodiles of all sizes and ladies' vanity bags made of rare animal skins. There are a few shops exclusively for ivory items!! These are the things one can never imagine to see so openly put up for exhibition or sale in many countries. Still, Lekki Market is certainly worth a visit when one visits Lagos.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    21
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent souvenirs once you find it"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We bought fabulous things here. All our take home presents came from this excellent market. It was really difficult to find and we tried several turnings before our driver found the right one. The road is truly awful and if our daughter hadn't been there before we would never have recognised it.
When we first got out of the car it seemed unlikely that there would be anything to buy but having passed the kitchen stalls we came to the ivory stalls and eventually the leather goods stalls. We bought very nice handbags, wallets, belts and purses at good prices. I'm not sure whether we paid too much but everyone was very nice and we didn't feel too pressured at any time. We did pay someone to carry our bags but this didn't seem too much of an imposition.
Not sure I'd ever find it again, but if I could bear the road I'd happily return for presents.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great market but sad for the elephants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

great market tucked away at Lekki.
Walk through the first stalls and down to the back to find the deals. They say prices are more on the weekends but to be honest they are high every day of the week. Just be prepared to use your bargaining skils. Never pay more than half of what they ask for.
among this market you will see all sorts of animal hides which should be on a animal and not ready for a wall. Ivory was in abundance being sold to the Asian mass which flock there on weekend to buy. This is real and not plastic as some people have said.very sad to see and wish it would stop
some good chinese food products to be bought here also.
Enjoy and get yourself a great deal
Simon

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Shoppers paradise for African stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a tyipcal market lined with small shopes more than 300 selling all types of local stuff.
Approach road to the market is very bad,better to take a SUV.Carry your own water bottle .
Once you are in,you will lose track of time .Market offers wide variety of pearls,paintings,cloths,arttcles made from animal skin,ivory,wood.
Be prepared to be a tough bargainer.One can even exchange money at reasonably good rates if you run out of local currency.
Overall a nice place to spend 2-3 hrs even with the basic infrastructure the market offers.
Weekend is ideal time to visit to get a good deal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“LEKKI (BEACH) MARKET! Finally FOUND IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We tried to locate this place in 2010 but not successful! This year however - I did finally find it! It's a great place to get authentic african arts & crafts, from masks to paintings, wood carvings and so on and forth! I could easily spend 3 hours without even noticing it! It's a good place to practice your bargaining skills too :-)! Got a few masks, a painting and some bangles!

I was told that to help people find it they must give the right name and direction! It's known as the Lekki (Beach) Market. The address is Oba-Elegushi International Market at the Jakande State! It's right after the first round-about at the Lekki-Epe Express Way!

Definitely worth a visit!

Here are couple of art dealers you can contact:

Ibrahim Art Gallery: +2348025065659/+2347033095930
Philip Art Gallery: +2348027182050

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lekki Market also viewed

 

Been to Lekki Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lekki Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lekki Market to your Saves list