We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Chili

Yellow Chili
27 Oju Olobun Close Off Bishop Oluwole St., Lagos, Nigeria
8099623614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Lagos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Clean, tasty Africal meals and a few continental dishes but i'd suggest, go there for the African food. I love their Seafood-Okro, delish!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    51
    17
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nigerian dishes at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Most "high end" restaurants in Lagos are just expensive without any value. This is not the case with Yellow Chili; they blew me away with the quality of food they serve. In my stay in Lagos between July and August this year (+ my family's stay till mid Sept) we always had our local Nigeria meals here and always we were delighted with the quality of the food.
The Okra soup for me was the best although my wife (who is a super cook herself) will argue otherwise and chose the Egusi soup. Whichever you chose as long as you want to eat real good Nigerian meal in Lagos make your way to Yellow Chili, you wont regret it!

Note - If you will be buying takeaways always make sure you go through your pack before you leave else you stand a big risk of having your food being short served.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good to taste real african food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I would have never imagine I would visit this place. I had never been into a local food restaurant, and oh my, it was so nice!
The atmosphere : First impression is a very clean place, typical African, with a nice wooden tables and chairs, simple cutleries, placemats. I had okra seafood plate, and it was so delicious, pig prawns, fresh and really fresh okro. I had barely finished my plate, as the portion size is really big. I could not eat anything for the rest of the day, so full I was. I highly recommend it to all expat if you feel like tasting good Nigerian food in a real African atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Tasty - Best African Food in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The two Yellow Chili restuarants in Lagos (one in VI the other in Ikeja) serve very tasty West African food at good prices. For the business traveler with the remotest bit of adventure in them the restuarants are a great intro to the region's cusine, and a refreshing alternative to the familiar and hugely overpriced fare on offer at the international hotels. Best to go with a local as many dishes need some explaining! The menu is also a little hard to follow as many meals have a number of options. Personal favourites: Seafood okro - a little spicy - huge Tiger prawns with okra, served with some starch (yam or semovita etc); goat meat curry - not spicy - served with rice; spicy chicken wings - a starter; jollof rice fiesta - spicy local rice with seafood. Meal for two circa N10-12,000 (USD 60-70) including drinks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Real Lagos style traditional food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We went there with friends and the food was amazing especially the okra srew with seafood! Yummy and Yummier when eating with hands! Yes!
we saw a rat next to us while eatong but i dont care! it was good! hey this is Africa hey it happen!
A must try! love that it is a cool relax place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Chili also viewed

Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Yellow Chili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Chili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.